We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Decision to Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn of the Beachcomber
Ranked #5 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Tampa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bad Decision to Stay Here”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great views of the ocean, convenient to Jerry's Jet Boats and Spinners Restaurant. That's all the good I can say about this place. Reminded us of a 1950's hotel right off Daytona Beach. Ancient door locks, the toilet was so dirty, I had to clean it myself (Did not want to disturb the desk-They didn't appear to care we were there when we checked in), the pool looked dreadful, and the breakfast (if you could call it that-a waffle maker and some pastries and a little orange juice) was not exactly a bargain. The reviews we read before booking were ok and helped us decide on this location. However, pay heed to the recent ones, they reflect the current state of this facility.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere when in Gold Beach. Spinners Restaurant was excellent. Jerry's Jet Boats is a mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank daveandm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    79
    31
    45
    49
See reviews for
71
126
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

this place is a joke.from the beginning I went in to check in & there were 4 different parties in the office & 1 clerk.people were being helped in no particular order.a friendly female came in & asked if I had been helped I said not yet and she said she would love to but her job was cleaning rooms.we went to the room and the beds were so high one almost needed a stool to get in bed.Laid on the bed spread and noticed several very ugly stains.(see photo)we arrived Fri.afternoon and left sun.am.we took a walk on the beach for 50 min.at about 8: 15 am on Sun am and check out was 11:am.upon arriving back to our room.when we opened the door it felt very hot in the room.I looked at the thermostat and it was at 75 degrees I had a xm portable radio set on the heater as we were listening out on the deck.it got so hot there was a smell of plastic.we had never used the heater as it was fairly warm at that time.the room cleaners were in the room next door.I called in and spoke to a young male,asked why they turned our heater on and was told the were not in the room and it must have been the office lady who did it.they said she was coming to talk with us.after 45 min.we called the office and a very rude lady told us we did it accidentally and wasn't their fault.the only time we touched the thermostat was when we walked in the room.it was a miracle the room did not catch fire and if anyone had seen this place people upstairs would not have a chance.I told all the people around us to watch out for them coming in room before they had left.the only positive was all the people we met were very dog friendly.notice how high thermostat is on wall and wonder how anyone could accidentally turn it up by accident.(see photo) I would tell anyone that in my opinion it is the worst motel in Oregon.the continental breakfast was not that bad a 5 on a scale of 10 compared with others we have been to.the only thing this place has going for it is the beach.lucky for everyone they have nothing to do with that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 117TomT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney T, Front Office Manager at Inn of the Beachcomber, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Man, I am so sorry that you had such a terrible experience with us... I'm not even sure where to start..
As far as the shortage of staff you happened to come during a time we were had just gotten rid of quite a few employees (trying to repair other damage), so if it seems like your only front desk girl was running around like a chicken with her head cut off, she probably was just a smidge overwhelmed.
The beds being too high is a complaint I have heard from a couple of our other guest as well... I have also heard that they are too low, we have trying to come up with a happy medium for all.
Now this thermostat nonsense seems to be a big misunderstanding... what tends to happen is that when our guest think they are actually shutting OFF the thermostat on the wall, they have in fact cranked it ALL the way on... It can be pretty confusing for people that do no use it everyday... our housekeepers on the other hand, do have to engage with the thermostats to turn them off most days while cleaning rooms. Our housekeepers do not arrive on shift until about 10 in the morning and as far as our front desk girl.... she had an appointment that morning and did not arrive on the premise until about 10 am as while, the only person even awake or alive during that time was our breakfast girl, who does not have access to make keys to get into hotel rooms. I will tell you though since this incident we have made much more clearer labeling on our thermostats to ensure another mistake like this DOES NOT happen.
I am very sorry our morning staff did not handle this situation better, mistakes do happen but that is no reason to be rude or disrespectful to a guest. If you would like to discuss this situation further with me, please feel free to email me at info@innofthebeachcomber.com.
I would love to settle this situation with at least a little more positive note. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gold Beach hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I will never stay here again. The clowns running this place just don't care and its obvious by the cigarette butts all over the ground, mold everywhere, dirty floors, messy beds, unswept patios, "broken pool", not to mention the whole ash tray FULL of cigarettes that was still sitting on the patio from the guest prior. This place is disgusting and it smells. We met the owners child who appears to be running this place, and when we encountered an issue he did not try to find a solution, rather he acted like it was not his problem and was completely rude. Ignorant people. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beachlife2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This place was horrible, my family and I stayed at the house for a couple of days and I can honestly say this was the worst place I have ever stayed at. For a house that was supposed to fit seven people there were a grand total of five plates and six tiny coffee mugs with no silverware what so ever, they only gave us three towels and when I went to go get a couple more the lady at the front desk was incredibly rude and only begrudgingly gave me the towels we needed, and the house itself was a complete piece of crap, the garage had half empty soda cans all over the place and the ceiling of the kitchen had mold streaks running all the way across the ceiling. On top of that the second day we didn't even get to eat breakfast because they opened it up an hour after they were supposed to. Overall this was a terrible place to stay with lethargic employees.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marvyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I booked a spa room, and as the desk clerk pointed out there was a spa in the room. A few of the jet even worked. When we got there at 5pm the room wasn't clean that took another hour. The sink didn't drain, and don't get me started on the banging noise every time we or someone else turned on the water or flushed the toilet. It banged for about 5 min and people flush alot at night, so no sleep.The breakfast was horrible. Instead of having sausage in the gravy there was bread,the morning desk clerk was rude when I complained.
I thought I had it bad until I talked to the friends who we were traveling with. They had a window with no glass in it. That's right no glass and it wasn't a small window. They paid for beach access which turned out to be a room a little closer to a path nowhere near the beach. A bathroom fan that didn't work. And a connecting door that didn't lock. (boy was that a shock). Oh and the pool was closed because it was "broken"
I was offered 10% off on my next stay. Not only is that the standard AAA rating not anything special. I won't be back, there are to many options to ever stay here again.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else! The motel 6 looks nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beadwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney T, Front Office Manager at Inn of the Beachcomber, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Our spa rooms have jacuzzi tubs out on the balcony, not in the room... I am so very sorry if you were informed wrong. As far as the jets not working, it is hard for us to know if they are out if we are not informed. If you had mentioned to the office this issue we would have been more then happy to have our maintenance man replace it for you.
We offer sausage gravy with biscuits, fresh belgian waffles, fruit cups, yogurt, muffins, pastries, and hard boiled eggs for breakfast, along with juices and hot coffee. If you were not informed of what our morning amenities were they I am very sorry that your experience with our staff was not up to par.... as far as the morning staff being rude, that is completely unacceptable. We have been making some changes with our staff lately so hopefully this issue will never happen again.
And our ten percent off coupon is good with the AAA discount (which now is only about $5 dollars now days.) Once again, if this was not explained to you then that is our fault and I am very sorry for the misunderstanding.
We would love to make things right with you though and offer you a room with a better discount if you would be willing to give us a change to make it up to you... if you would like to take us up on this offer please feel free to write me an email at info@innofthebeachcomber.com.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

M husband and our best friends rented their "Da bungalow" which was supposed to be a beachouse with beach acsess. for over 200.00 a night. When arriving we were at the office the girl at the front office didnt know anything.We asked where it was at she said down the way the only house down there.Which it was one of four homes.poorly ran from the start. Very out dated, Very run down and in desperate need of maintenance. The dishes were dirty that were in the cupboard, ice cream in freezer left by previous guests. 1 ply toilet paper. no ventalation in the home only two windows opened.It smelled stale and old. so it was about two football fields away to walk to the beach. Barely even a beach front view.it looked like they were in the middle of buliding a deck out on the back, but there is no way to even acsess it. The garage was full of stuff i assume they are storing for motel??? Oh and by the way they never informed us the the house located next to was being remodeled. So our alarm clock was the banging of workers, next door because there was no alarm clock, or phone for that matter!! we tried to complain when we first arrived,the coffee pot was disgusting it was dirty and smelled of urine. YUK! they sent some young kid down to replace a new one that wasnt really any better. Never could speak to any managment. It looks as though its being run by children, or people that just dont care.I will not return to this property, nor would i advise anyone else,by the way i work for a prestigous hotel and run a housekeeping department. this would never never be acceptable by any means... so disapointed. The trip was fun but accomidations were crap would rather sleep in my car.

Room Tip: Just dont stay that s my advise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dusty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney T, Front Office Manager at Inn of the Beachcomber, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am so sorry your stay with us was not up to par, we strive to have guests leave happy and well rested.... However, we have just recently purchased the house next to the hotel and are trying to improve it day, by day. The deck without the door, NOW has a brand new door leading out to it... including chairs to relax and enjoy the beach view on.
If you ever wish to speak to management please ask our office staff... We always have someone on staff who would be more then willing to address any issue you are having with your stay. During the summer the owner, or his son, is always on the property somewhere and would love to hear your suggestions on what they could do to improve the place.
If you would like to discuss this matter further please feel free to message us at info@innofthebeachcomber.com.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tacky, tacky best describes this place. The rooms were generally clean but pretty threadbare and the carped was actually slippery! The bed was comfy enough but had "outrigger" feet that invited broken toes in the middle on the night. The WIFI didn't work and phone cell service was marginal. I tried to get an extension cord for a medical device and was told, "oh, we looked for one a week or so ago and didn't find one". The little hottie behind the counter (hot pants and all) looked like she would be far more at home on one of the myriad surfboard that adorned the lobby than behind the desk. She was pleasant enough when she got around to attending to you but was certainly in no hurry to do so. Next time, if nothing else is available, I think i'll sleep in the car, especially considering the price they charge for a sub-standard property.

Room Tip: Try the Gold Beach Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Beach
0.2 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
24.9 mi away
Brookings Inn
Brookings Inn
#7 of 8 in Brookings
3.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Beachcomber

Property: Inn of the Beachcomber
Address: 29266 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7719
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn of the Beachcomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Beachcomber Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing