We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look for Alternatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn of the Beachcomber
Ranked #5 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tacky, tacky best describes this place. The rooms were generally clean but pretty threadbare and the carped was actually slippery! The bed was comfy enough but had "outrigger" feet that invited broken toes in the middle on the night. The WIFI didn't work and phone cell service was marginal. I tried to get an extension cord for a medical device and was told, "oh, we looked for one a week or so ago and didn't find one". The little hottie behind the counter (hot pants and all) looked like she would be far more at home on one of the myriad surfboard that adorned the lobby than behind the desk. She was pleasant enough when she got around to attending to you but was certainly in no hurry to do so. Next time, if nothing else is available, I think i'll sleep in the car, especially considering the price they charge for a sub-standard property.

Room Tip: Try the Gold Beach Inn
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Beachcomber
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 277 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

I don't know how anyone can give this place a positive review. We stayed one night driving down the coast and yes, the website looks very inviting but the reality is quite the opposite. The entire place is rundown and badly in need of a lot of maintenance. The screen door leading to the office is badly ripped. The pool deck paint shows significant peeling. The window in our room was minus the screen making it unusable. The caulking in the shower looks like it was done by a second grader.We killed an unidentifiable insect crawling on the bed. Upon leaving I was more than a little surprised to see the parking lot nearly full(??).We would never stay here again at any price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kokebrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We got a bungalow, and it is a row of rooms that has a rear sliding door that leads to the beach. The room has nice feel with quarter sawn oak furniture. There are DVD players in the room and a good variety of DVD in the office to borrow for free. We also rented some stand up paddle boards for few hours and went to a local river for some beginner paddling. The $15 rental included all the equipment required and the strap to put the boards on the car.
The people are helpful and very nice. The breakfast is good and includes a waffle maker for you to make your waffles. We were only able to stay one night, next time I will stay longer.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Wlsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney T, Front Office Manager at Inn of the Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us, we strive very hard to try to make each and every guest's experience with us a good one. Our staff loves when customers leave satisfied.
Our paddle boards have been a big hit this summer with quite a few guests, if y'all ever have more time on your hands feel free to come on back and take them out again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The most comfortable beds by far we have ever slept in! The pool was cold but the hot tub was perfect! We usually stay next door at the Ireland's but have found a new place to go. It looks worn down but its quiet and friendly. Only problem we had was the toilet ran all night but hubby fixed it no problem. Breakfast was best in town!

Room Tip: We went cheap and had our dog stay with us but there are ocean view rooms availabe. Go to their webs...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney T, Front Office Manager at Inn of the Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Yay! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We take quite a bit of pride in our comfortable beds... They sure do give you a great nights sleep huh?! :)
I am sorry to hear you had an issue with your toilet... next time please let our staff know as soon as possible so we can take care of that for you, there is no reason you or your hubby should be dealing with such issues on vacation!
And yes! We are dog friendly, seeing as my hound is sitting right next to me now... we try to work with y'all our pet fees though... if you stay multiple nights your pet fee will be lower to be more realistic for your stay. Glad y'all had a great time during your mini vacay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Friendly staff and management made our 6 night stay here very pleasant. The breakfast was decent with waffle maker, eggs and yogurt and everyone was friendly from the owner right down to the room cleaners. Our room was clean and bed was comfy and it was on the side of the building had a peek-a-boo view of the beach. We could walk over the sand dune and be at the beach in about 3 mins. Other bonuses which are unique include the great wine and cold beer selection from the lobby at fair prices and rental surf boards. Also the motel was friendly to us as surfers and didn't mind us using the hose to clean our gear and hang wetsuits outside.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view are worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I discovered the Inn 14 years ago and have returned every year since. We book a bungalow and set on the deck for three days and vegetate.
We walk too the beach enjoy the sunsets and drink margaritas. My only compliant would be the size of the breakfast area. We seldom eat there but when we do we wind up standing or taking it back too our room.
The rooms are great. Upgraded bathrooms with plenty of water pressure. The beds are very nice gas fireplace fridge and microwave. WIFI works very well.
The staff is helpful when needed but after 14 years we pretty much know where everything is at.

Room Tip: If you want a bungalow with are perfect view of the ocean then book early. Not only will you enjoy t...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The staff and owner were friendly upon check-in. After that, it was downhill. We would've tried to find somewhere else to stay, but it was a Saturday night on the 4th of July weekend.

The room was initially pleasing to the eye, but upon further investigation we found the door to the balcony was rusted to the point a small rodent could've squeezed under the door, the drapes were torn and some hooks missing, the black ottoman was duct taped, the bed sunk in the middle and there was a long black hair in the bathtub (we are both blonde, short hair). Our balcony looked out over a parking lot with the trash in full view and a two wheel trailer full of old green plastic lawn chairs...not good.

I cannot in good conscience recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
918 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
0.4 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Beachcomber

Address: 29266 Ellensburg Ave, Gold Beach, OR 97444-7719
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range: $80 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn of the Beachcomber 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn of the Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Beachcomber Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing