We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about the worst place I have ever stayed.”
Review of Wild Chinook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wild Chinook Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We reserved our room 3 weeks in advance. Got there shortly after check in time. Room wasn't ready, they said 10 minutes. We came back 20 minutes later, room still wasn't ready, left went back a 3rd time, still not ready, door haning open, bed unmade. Went to the desk and had to complain, the clerk went to make the bed. We got in and were very surprised to see the 20x20 room! Very small. took off my shoes and the floor was sopping wet! Went and complained, they clerk said she didn't feel anything, of course not she had shoe on, had to show her. She game us the room next door. Smelled like mold, sheet wouldn't stay on bed. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

I travel a lot to the coast area. I usually stay at the Wild Chinook, it's a average motel but use to be very accommodating. I usually travel very early in the morning and like to check in early when I get in town so I can shower and go to work. On my last visit they told me I could not check in early even if the room was ready. I told her that I would find another place that is more accommodating to my travel needs.

Room Tip: Don't expect to check in early. Rooms are outdated but OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GARY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was a great find, very reasonably priced large clean accommodation with the largest TV I have ever seen in a hotel room. Though we had to wait a while for someone to turn up at reception the two staff we met were friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a clean room for the night this place should fit the bill, any longer and its lack of amenities might be an issue though its well placed in the town with pleanty of local things to see and do , restaurants included.

Room Tip: typical U shaped motel format so one room is much like another
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GunnHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We called for the reservation an hour ahead of arrival. Great price. Good bed. Clean and comfortable. The nearby fire house had an alarm in the middle of the night, but anywhere in town would have heard the siren. We were pleasantly surprised at our experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR-1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Clean Room, Soft Towels, Clean bathroom and decent size TV with a bunch of channels. The Wifi seems to work fine. The outside of the place was updated, the inside not, but very functional. All for 45.00 + tax for a queen (spring mattress, not saggy), for two persons. What more could you want for that price?

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank Alf1860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
951 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
711 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Gold Beach
0.7 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
546 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel 101
Motel 101
#7 of 8 in Gold Beach
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wild Chinook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Chinook Inn

Address: 94200 Harlow St & Hwy 101, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range: $53 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wild Chinook Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wild Chinook Inn offers low economical rates, comfortable clean rooms. We are centrally located in the heart of Gold Beach. Weekly Rates available, please call for rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Wild Chinook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing