We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute Watering Hole”

Hunter Creek Bar & Grill
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in Gold Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Nice little spot located directly on the scenic Hunter Creek. Friendly atmosphere great food and good prices.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Cute Watering Hole”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Just outside the Turtle Rock Resort (RV) is the Hunter Creek Bar & Grill. This is located south of Gold Beach about 2 minutes off of highway 101. After a day of hiking we decided to have a couple of drinks before retiring to our travel trailer for the night. The Bar & Grill sits on the bank of Hunter Creek and is a hang out for locals and tourists alike. We only had drinks but they serve some good looking (and smelling) food. There was a rib eye steak special which looked wonderful and was cheap. They also have a burrito challenge where if you can eat their 3 pound burrito and 2 pounds of french fries, its free and your picture will go up on the wall of fame. Can't do it…your picture goes up on the wall of shame! We only saw one picture on the wall of fame so it must be a pretty tall order to eat the burrito and fries in 30 minute.
We enjoyed the drinks and the relaxed atmosphere and hope to return again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    28
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Out of the Way”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This establishment was clearly off the beaten path of the tourist traffic.

It is located immediately adjacent to the Arch Rock Brewery, and we found it when we
went to the brewery for a growler of their Pale Ale.

Friday night is "steak night".

When we got there around 5:30, the place was pretty crowded.
In fact, we got the last available table. It was happy hour as well.

The bar is short and seats only about eight people.

There are small round tables with stools situated around the periphery of the room and larger generic tables in the room's center which seat six to eight customers.

There were a lot of big screen tvs that were tuned to various sports channels. The loud chatter of happy customers made it impossible to hear the sports broadcasts.

The north wall was windowed, and it looked out onto Hunter Creek. The adjacent patio was nice but quite smokey. Customers were drinking their beer, smoking their cigarettes and tossing sticks into the creek for their dogs to retrieve. ,

A pool table was located near the front door, and it was in play the entire time that we were there.

We heard about steak night from one of the locals who recommended it to us as one of the better restaurants in the area.

The "special" was not very special for us. The steak was fatty and tasted quite salty.
We ordered it "medium", and it came well done. We could only eat a few bites, and ended up
eating just the fries (quite good) and the salad.

Well, that was our $12.75 "steak special" experience.

Perhaps other items on the menu would have been better.

We would not go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jere R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Locals hang out”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

They have the Arch Rock Brewing Company beers on tap. (The brewery is next door.) It is a great place to see where non-tourists hang out. Fried pickles, nachos made with Cheez Whiz...not fine dining but fun for drinking.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestCoast
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Catch a Bite Creekside”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

What a great spot by the creek with good Pub food & local beer!! The location is perfect & the staff very friendly, what a little gem. We drove to Port Orford the day before for dinner & soooo disappointing by the food we regret we didn't come here first!! All I can tell you is I am planning to come back!
Only wish that they had creek-side seating that was smoke free !!
More people would enjoy that,...I know the owner smokes,....just saying.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B_VWestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Reminds me of the TV series "Cheers"”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Not only was the food good, but what made this place so special was the people. The owners, servers. bartenders and patrons. Once you went there you felt as though you had been there before. The most warm and friendly atmosphere. Just made you feel at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LynandBob2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunter Creek Bar & Grill also viewed

Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 
Gold Beach, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Hunter Creek Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing