We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was night of hell!! beware there scammers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
grants pass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place was night of hell!! beware there scammers”
Reviewed January 18, 2007

We stay there for one night the room we were going to get they didn't have at all a gave us a room with on heat . we ask for a refund and they say no we took it or left . we file a report with the chamber of commerce and bbb they also own the gold beach inn
travlers beware

  • Liked — noe of it
  • Disliked — all of it
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank productryout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    178
    65
    46
    55
See reviews for
180
339
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio,TX
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

We stayed at Ireland's 12 years ago on our honeymoon and had very fond memories of it. So we booked 3 nights here in a cabin for our trip to the Oregon Coast. Let me say that the grounds and landscaping are as beautiful as we remember them, but they need to do a lot of renovation inside the cabins.

First of all the scent of nasty deodorizer filled our nose as we entered the Cabin. I think it was in there to try to disguise the musty mildew smell of the room. Also the choking smell from the fireplace was overwhelming. The furniture was old and part of the table leg was apparently chewed up pretty good by a DOG. A big DOG! The room was dark and turning on all the lights did not seem to help. The carpets feel gross! The refrigerator was making a very annoying clicking sound and the pillows were awful-lumpy and fat. We stayed one night here because the front desk said it was too late to move. We moved over to the Gold Beach Inn for the next 2 nights. We really wish we would have known in advance of our disappointig stay and we would have booked 3 nights in the Adobe up the coast in Yachats-a great place!

Warning. They don't advertise it much but almost all rooms are pet friendly. THEY SMELL LIKE DOGS! The path to the beach is littered with dog poop. Watch your step.

Warning #2. They will not give you a key until you pay for full in advance. I know why. It's because people will complain and when they do, they already have your money and from what I've read on other reviews of this place it is very difficult to get it back.

The office is poorly run - a married couple with 3 teenage kids living adjacent to the office. Not overly friendly and I got the feeling that when we were not happy with our accomodations that they were ready to be a bit difficult.

The continental breakfast was ok at best. Extremely stale fruit loops-no telling how long they had been there.

They are in the process of opening up some hot tubs behind the Gold Beach Lodge which will be nice. But that's like putting a band aid on a mortal wound. They should spend there money on renevating the cute cabins they have. Because like I mentioned before the grounds are very pretty.

Do yourself a favor-stay someplace else.

  • Liked — location, pretty grounds outside
  • Disliked — smell, dogs and dog poop, poor customer service
  • Tips/Secrets — don't stay here until someone buys this place and fixes up the rooms
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank barneysweatshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2006

Enjoy your stay, although you won't be staying right on the beach. It's close, only a 3 minute walk. And the beach is gorgeous. Soft sand, not a lot of people. A real pleasure.
Rooms (we were in the Sea View Building) are spacious and clean. Never had a problem with check-in, housekeeping. Nice staff, for sure.
It's convenient (right at the southern entrance to the city), and we'd come back anytime for another stay.

  • Liked — Fun
  • Disliked — Nuthin
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Impapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stayed one night in a cabin at Ireland's Rustic Lodges and enjoyed it. The cabins are indeed rustic, but ours was spacious and comfortable. We had a wood burning fireplace, complete with logs to burn and kindling stocked by the hearth. My son loved building the fire and the smell reminded us of being around a campfire. The furniture and furnishings were dated and worn. The bathroom doesn't have much counter space and the fixtures were a bit dated. But it's a rustic log cabin so one should not expect finery. Ours had a refrigerator and microwave. The staff was very friendly, helpful and casual (dressed in jeans and tee-shirts). There are many beautiful flowers planted in beds around the cabins. The property is located on the coast and there is a footpath to the beach. Shortly after arrival we donned our swimsuits and headed for the beach. Much to our surprise the wind was blowing so hard that the sand was stinging our legs and it was way too cold and windy to enjoy ourselves, even though it was beautiful. I asked the front desk staff if it was always that windy on the beach and they said "no, sometimes it worse!" So beware -- don't plan on sunbathing or spending a lot of time at the beach or you might be disappointed. A continental breakfast was provided and it was just okay. All things considered, I would recommend this place if you are looking for a rustic cabin experience.

  • Liked — The wood burning fireplace.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NLFLWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

A couple of weeks before our 25th wedding anniversary we finally decided to relive a portion of our honeymoon. Our 1st honeymoon began with a stay at Ireland's Rustic Lodges. It was very romantic. We brought wine, grapes, crackers and cheese. We stayed in one of the motel rooms with a fireplace. It was a very relaxing end to a hectic day.

We got up early the following morning and drove across town to Jerry's Jet Boat Service. The jet boat took us 64 miles up the Rogue River, through some beautiful scenery, wildlife and water fun (splashing and being splashed by other boats and rafters) to Paradise Lodge where we spent our 2nd night. At paradise lodge we were treated to a home style dinner, breakfast and lunch. In the afternoon we took the jet boat back to Gold Beach and begin the trip back to the Rogue Valley.

For our second honyemoon we deciced to spend the night at Ireland's and relive our honeymoon dinner at Ship Ashore restaurant. I called the reservation number for Ireland's and had a very pleasant conversation. The person I spoke with was very excited to have us staying with them again. We lucked out because one of the cabin units, which are usually booked solid, was available. The whole reservation process was smooth and painless.

The day we left got off to an interesting start, on the way out we checked the mail only to discover that some lowly person had put a box in our mailbox with four 2 week old kittens in it. They didn't appear to have been there long so we scrambled to get them some formula and found a friend who agreed to take care of them. Needless to say we were off to a later stop than we had intended. With our morning delay and some frustrating construction on Hiways 199 and 101, we arrive quite a bit later than we had planned.

At our checkin the staff was very friendly and several of them wished us a happy anniversary. We were very pleased when we drove up to our cabin. It was a standalone cabin although a neighboring cabin was set very close to ours. The room was clean, very rustic and spacious! The smell of the fireplace and the wood paneling was pleasant. My wife commented several times that she wished our bedroom at home was like this.

I had read some of the reviews here and remembered a discount for one of the local restaurants. Since it was so late we really didn't feel like driving 30 minutes to the Ship Ashore restaurant and agreed to try dining at Spinners. The restaurant is nicely decorated and the dining room had a nice view of the ocean. I did feel a little claustrophobic as the tables were somewhat jammed into the small space and the noice level rose uncomforably high many times throughout our meal. The service staff was efficient and friendly. Herb rolls were brought out as soon as we were seated. My wife enjoyed her tossed salad and I enjoyed a cup of clam chowder. I ordered a 12 oz. Prime Rib with some of the best Horseradish I've ever had. I asked for straight horseradish and was served both straight and whipped with sour cream. The meat was cooked properly but had a few stringy spots. The au-jus was a little more gravy-like than what I'm accustomed to but did not detract from the meal and was actually good with the garlic mashed potatoes. I only took a couple of bites of the grilled vegetable that included zuccini, squash, green beans and onion which were good and not overly seasoned. My wife tried one of the day's specials, a sesame crusted Tuna filet with lemon bechamel. My wife does not care for undercooked fish and relayed this to the waitress. Unfortunately this resulted in a very overcooked, otherwise generous portion of tuna. My wife also commented on the bechamel being overly citrusy.

After dinner we drove around to familiarize ourself with the town. My wife announced she could see deer in a resident's yard so we pulled over and watched a group of seven deer graze and play. When we returned to our room we built a fire and relaxed in the comfortable recliners. The bed was comfortable with nice pillows but there were only 3 and no extras in the room. With no phone in the room, I did not feel like walking over to the front desk next door so I gave my wife the 2nd pillow and did not sleep well with only the one myself.

We got up in the morning started another fire, made some coffee in our room, opened the curtains and enjoyed the ocean view. Many times during our stay we went out to the private balcony to enjoy the sight and sounds of the ocean. A short while later we walked over to the breakfast area. I was not dissapointed by the free breakfast that offered bagels, frozen waffles, donuts, cerial, coffee and juice. It was no better or worse than many other hotel breakfasts I've had.

Since you pay in advance check-out consists of dropping off your key. I had another nice chat with their staff and they seemed to appreciate hearing how much we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Wasn't an ordinary motel room.
  • Disliked — Loose toilet seat.
  • Tips/Secrets — It's on the Oregon coast. What more do you need to know?
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank linhartr22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

Planned to stay at Ireland's lodges for 2 nights as part of a 3 week trip to California and Oregon. Had phoned sometime ago to make the reservation, having looked at website, and made our requirements clear. On the basis of advice given booked the Manzanita cabin.
Upon arrival it was clear the check-in desk was chaotic.
Were not able to view the inside of the cabin as it was not ready and did not seem clear when it would be. However we looked at the outside and the position was extremely disappointing and not at all what we had been expecting. It is right at the entrance from the highway and alongside the breakfast room and the only view is of the car park with no space or greenery around it.
We returned to the desk to express our disappointment. Without going into details the response of the two staff (one said she was the manager but would not give us her name) on duty was totally unacceptable. We had not actually completely declined the cabin at this point but the person we were dealing with advised another clerk to allocate it to some other people who had arrived without reservation. When we queried this she responded we said we "hated" the cabin wwhich was not true we only wnated to find out if there were any alternaitves which matched the impression given by the photos on the website. The desk clerk (manager?) tried to persuade us to take a room in the hotel which cost significantly more and was almost insistent we viewed it -but what we wanted and had hoped for was a cabin near the ocean for a couple of nights with some space around it to relax.
At this point we decided we did not want to stay in any event- we did not like the location of the cabin but the decision to move on ultimately was because of the appalling customer service we received.
I would add that this was our third trip to the USA and we have stayed in all sorts of accommodation in different price rangesand are very easy going and flexible. This is the first time we have experienced real disssatisfaction and frustration -and the first time we have felt motivated to post on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
9 Thank janetk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

After hearing some negative comments about the service that other travelers received we were nervous about staying here. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and made to feel quite welcome. Our cabin (the cedar) was very roomy and the location was wonderful. We would definitely recommend Ireland's to our friends and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Liked — very unique cabin, wonderful location
  • Disliked — hard to contact anybody for a reservation
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyinluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
886 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
518 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
0.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#6 of 8 in Gold Beach
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ireland's Rustic Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ireland's Rustic Lodges

Property: Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Address: 29330 Ellensburg Road, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ireland's Rustic Lodges 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's is world famous and encompasses 19 acres of oceanfront with towering pines and gorgeous flower gardens. Ireland's lies on the best oceanfront land in Southern Oregon. Two good Breakfast Bars, 2 oceanfront hot tubs, WIFI, Fireplaces (wood provided), sandy beach, Big waves, walk to restaurants. Ireland's has the most repeat customers of any property in Southern Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Ireland's Rustic Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ireland`s Rustic Hotel Gold Beach
Irelands Rustic Hotel
Irelands Rustic Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing