We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Ireland's is just what it advertises itself to be, and although it is rustic, it is very charming with great service. We have stayed in the Monterey and Sequoia cabins and find both to be comfortably appointed with recliners, a very comfortable bed and a terrific view of the ocean waves breaking on the shore and wonderful vaulted ceilings. There is also a small balcony with enough room for two to sit and enjoy the blend of ocean, beach, and forest. Inside the fireplace is easy to light and the wood supply is replenished daily. The beach access is a few hundred yards walk, but the trail is easy and worth it. I was able to walk a couple of miles in either direction. They have three spas located between the buildings and the beach with one for handicapped access which I had not seen before. All the hot tubs are clean and inviting with a good view of the beach and towels provided.
While I didn't partake of continental breakfast they do provide one and there are several very good restaurants in close proximity with very good food. It is a friendly relaxed place to stay and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 711 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Ireland's on the basis of Trip Advisor's #1 ranking, and we loved it! The wood cabin gives a very rustic feel, as soon as you enter, and instantly makes you wanna sit by the fireplace with a glass of wine and a good book! The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils and a cooking range, refrigerator, microwave and a sink! Overall we loved the stay and will plan on coming here during summer for longer!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DkarnadD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had the spruce cottage yes it is old but it needs a good deep cleaning, the carpet is the dirtiest carpet I have ever seen in all my life and beyond cleaning and needs to be replaced and I travel lots !!! lights burned out over the bed and lots of dead bugs in the shade, cop webs in the corners The view is out of a corner window to the water which is at least 600 yards away.
A very serious issue is both smoke detectors did not work and the electrical is old as some of the plug in's did not work.
Black mold around the bottom of the shower doors
The breakfast is meager and served next door with guests walking in and leaving without eating.
The bed was comfortable and internet worked great over the two days that we stayed.
The spa/hot tub is next door and down on the beach and is one of the nicest I have seen in my travels.
The grounds are well kept and All the staff are friendly, I would have gave the cottage a 2 star except for the rate was good but still 30-40% more than others places in town in the off season.
I found your website very confusing as its a mix of both propertys and as a first time guest we did not know the layout of the two property's so a site map on your website would be great.
The signs in the lobby and room's about trip advisor and how your bad reviews are from a competitors and how guests should leave your place good reviews on TA are a little bit much.
Overall even with the rating I gave I would stay again.
It is pet friendly which is great but from the scratches on the cabin door you should be more pro active on the bad pet owners who leave thier pets to scratch the door while they are out doing other stuff around town, a small ash tray outside would be nice also.
.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Greyhoundlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachprints, Owner at Ireland's Rustic Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

We completely disagree with this review. The review is very suspicious. The Spruce Cabin is very clean, and does not need a deep cleaning nor were there any cobwebs. The owner and our best handyman checked out every one of their complaints in this review. The shower was spotless; there was no mold. The carpet was very clean, and is cleaned often on a regular basis. Both smoke detectors were tested and worked perfectly. We checked every electrical socket in the cabin, and every socket was working. Also, this customer never brought any of these so called problems to the front desk of the hotel. The rate for this cabin in the winter with free firewood for the cabin's stone fireplace, breakfast bar, three oceanfront hot tubs, strong WIFI, 7 free HBO channels and an ocean view was only $89.00. All on 19 acres of gorgeous oceanfront land. Ireland's is working hard to keep their rates reasonable in a world where costs are skyrocketing out of control. Ireland's is a special place that is unique and memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The rooms are cozy and clean. Our room overlooked the ocean and we could watch the whales. Great to have a fireplace to enjoy while enjoying the cool ocean breeze and watching the sunset.
Ideal location and the staff is very friendly and the grounds are very beautiful. The breakfast is good and a great way to start your morning before a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Most of the unfavorable reviews center on the lack of certain luxuries. This place is about the Sea, Sand, and Dunes. The best way I can describe the room we had is as follows: If I stayed here with my parents at age 9 they would have called the room very good. If I had stayed here with my kids I would have called the room nice. When we stayed here now it was a return to older days and ways and very quaint. Comfort is there via wood stove and incredible T&G cedar paneling. It's RUSTIC!
The path to the beach through untouched sand dunes and driftwood is magic. The beach is all yours! We walked the beach for two miles and saw one other person. The river mouth provides lots of driftwood in all shapes. Oh, the three hot tubs set on top of the highest sand dune with a glassed in waiting room was wonderful. We loved it.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently stayed in one of the cabins. It was so nice to have a couch, fireplace and a table to sit at. Though the cabins are close together, we didn't have to worry about noise like we would have in a regular room. The view wasn't great from our cabin but a few steps out the door and we had a gorgeous view. The beds were comfortable. The cleaning staff was very friendly and saw to all of our needs very quickly. The spa was very relaxing at night but there was a shortage of towels between 8-10 pm. The grounds are beautiful. Breakfast was so-so. I would highly recommend some waffle irons for the guests instead of frozen waffles and slow toasters. Also, more fresh fruit, yogurt and some plain bagels would have been nice.

A friend and I shared a very nice dinner at the Porthole Cafe just down the road a mile or so. Try the prawn dinner! For $18 each we had the BEST chowder, prawns, baked potato and veggies.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinsplus14me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently stayed in the Cape Cod Cabin at Ireland's Rustic Lodge. It is a 3-bedroom. 2 bathroom home. The location is great, right near the ocean and the back porch has great views, the front desk staff were friendly but the cabin was dirty and in bad need of paint. Both bathrooms had issues with the shower doors and the floor of the downstairs bath was soft as if water was seeping underneath it. It seems a shame to ruin a lodge's reputation for the need of some elbow grease and paint but we can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fruitofthevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachprints, Owner at Ireland's Rustic Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

The Cape Cod Beach House is a huge 70 year+ home with a backyard that looks at the ocean. It is a two story home that has three bedrooms plus a loft and is used for family reunions, wedding receptions, high school reunions, etc. It is impossible to keep this house as pristine as these two couples desire. This house is not meant for two couples. The hotel constantly debates every year to tear down the Cape Cod Beach House and the Nantucket Beach House because they are not cost effective. They sit on prime oceanfront land, and we debate every year rather to build three story condos on this land. We don't tear them down because many customers have used these homes for annual events. Some families for over 45 years straight. We offered these two couples two ocean front rooms with fireplaces at the same cost. We also gave them a $100 off of their stay. They paid $75 per couple for an oceanfront house with free breakfast and oceanfront hot tubs and all of other amenities. Plus, we had two maids address what they did not like. The maids completed whatever these two couples wanted them to address. A hotel can not offer low prices, huge undeveloped land and be absolutely perfect. We would have to charge three times the price. Any 70 year old home that any of us own has some weaknesses. This house is painted twice a year with regular touch-ups. However, they came at the very end of our busy summer season. The house is always repainted in the beginning of November. Ireland's is not for everyone. We are trying to keep the rates reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
546 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Westward Inn
Westward Inn
#4 of 8 in Brookings
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Gold Beach
0.1 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ireland's Rustic Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ireland's Rustic Lodges

Address: 29330 Ellensburg Road, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Gold Beach
Price Range: $79 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ireland's Rustic Lodges 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ireland's is world famous and encompasses 19 acres of oceanfront with towering pines and gorgeous flower gardens. Ireland's lies on the best oceanfront land in Southern Oregon. Two good Breakfast Bars, 2 oceanfront hot tubs, WIFI, Fireplaces (wood provided), sandy beach, Big waves, walk to restaurants. Ireland's has the most repeat customers of any property in Southern Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Ireland's Rustic Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ireland`s Rustic Hotel Gold Beach
Irelands Rustic Hotel
Irelands Rustic Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing