We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable, very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tu Tu Tun Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable, very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2009

The Tu Tu' Tun Lodge, on the Rogue River, provides a most enjoyable, relaxing respite. Comfortable rooms and public areas with great views of river and mountains. The staff provides first-rate service. While there are a number of activities available such as hiking, kayaking and fishing, my wife and I enjoyed sitting by the river reading and listening to the sounds of the river.
The Lodge provides a modified meal plan that includes evening hors d'oeuvre with a single-seating dinner and breakfast. The dinner menu is predetermined and known in the morning so you can decide if you want to dine at the Lodge or in town. Our first night at the Lodge, we chose to have dinner in our room (an extra $15/person charge). The menu was the same as served in the dining room that night but set up and served in our room - with candlelight. Hors d'oeuvres, soup, salad, entree (pork loin this particular night) and cheesecake for dessert. Well prepared and excellent service. Breakfast includes a small buffet of fresh fruit, granola, yogurt and coffee cake as well as a couple of breakfast specials such as a crab omelette or french toast. I should mention that the dining room is set up with four large tables of 8 and everyone is seated as they arrive. It does provide an opportunity to meet new people but this isn't for everyone. Also, there is no TV and reception for cell phones is poor - this is not necessarily a bad thing.
The Lodge is not inexpensive - rooms run from $210 to $360 a night (summer rates), suites are more. The modified meal plan is $67.50 per person. However, the accommodations, service and the river make it well worth the expense.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    51
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
333
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

The location of the hotel is beautiful. We stayed in a King room and, as others noted, the room was a bit on the small side (as was the bathroom) but we had a terrace which I used alot. We didn't have neighbors on their terraces so it felt very private. The room and bath were very well appointed.

Drinks and hor d'vers are served at 6:15 (you are paying for the drinks even though it didn't seem that way) and dinner at group tables at 7. That was one thing that we hadn't planned on. One night the company was a winner; one night was a loser. We had breakfast (granola, fruit and coffee cake) in our room because I'm just not up to being that social in the morning and we don't eat big breakfasts.

One other issue was that they do not provide "do no disturb" signs for the doors and we had the cleaning folks start to open the door while we were still in bed. Another couple had the same experience. That might be something for them to invest in.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

My husband and I only stayed one night (unfortunately), but this resort goes above and beyond. It's the details that puts one spot over the top of another. The location is beautiful, peaceful and serene. The flowers and plants are gorgeous and not so manicured as to look like a park, but more of an organized chaos that fits into a more natural setting. There are sets of Adirondack chairs strategically placed along the grounds and river, but again not so many as to look like a major resort setting up for the day. The staff instantly begins to call you by name- although this is somewhat creepy and impressive at the same time since I can never remember names. They offer numerous wines to taste. They are the only place I've ever been that offers Cakebread wines by the glass. My husband and I kayaked on the river and met up with a family of otters. I had a massage in the cabana by the river. Dinner was wonderful and served family style as a large wooden lazy susan is in the middle of each table. We did not have a room with a soaking tub, but it was extremely comfortable and the view is spectacular. Further, there was a staff member the next morning who was apparently wiping off the dew from all the outside seats and tables. The devil is in the details. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chamdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookings, oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

A perfect weekend. This small but absolutely wonderful resort is located on the Rogue River in Southern Oregon. The attention to detail is beyond what I would expect. The staff to a one is accommodating, smiling and friendly. The rooms are spotless, the views tremendous and the food is wonderful. A set menu is served each evening following canapes and cocktails in the lodge's main room. Breakfast runs the gamut from granola and yogurt to salmon hash with poached eggs and hollandaise. I can't begin to tell you how wonderful this was and we have been to many highly rated locations. It is a perfect 10!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

After three years of reading numerous travel magazine Top 10 lists and reviews singing the praises of the Tu Tu Tun Lodge, we finally made it up to Gold Beach, Oregon last weekend for a four-night stay to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our high expectations we met and exceeded in every way.

First, the lodge is perfectly situated on the Rogue River with one of the most amazing views we've ever had at a resort/hotel. We spent much of the first day just staring in silent awe at the river, trees and light fog. Spendid. The rooms are beautiful - ours had a fireplace and outdoor soaking tub. The showers are huge (with two shower heads) and the king-sized bed was very, very comfortable.

The service was first-rate - we knew within twenty minutes of checking-in why its consistently ranked among the world's best. Everyone on staff greeted us by our first names everytime we saw them. They went out of their way to help us finish some unexpected work back home which required constant faxing and phone calls during the first two days of our stay. That was much appreciated. And you can tell from all of the repeat guests (some for over 30 years) that you become "family" very quickly.

The food was the best surprise. We expexted top-notch Pacific Northwest cuisine based on previous reviews, but actually tasting it went far beyond what we imagined. I already miss the different homemade pop-overs that they made for every dinner. During our stay, we had awesome halibut, smoked veal, buffalo rib-eye, and scallops. Each dinner features a full appetizer spread of some outstanding food (marlin ceviche, anyone?) followed by soup, salad, entree and dessert - all culled from their organic garden. The breakfasts were also amazing - I eat a lot and never skip lunch, but they fed us so well that I survived quite well on two meals a day!

Our only gripes were the lack of cell phone service and reliable wireless internet outside the main house. What started out as gripes turned into relief by the end of the trip when we realized that being "out of pocket" made it that much easier for us to reconnect with one another and the quite solitude of this beautiful place.

The best comparison that we would come up with is the La Casa Que Canta in Mexico - similar levels of service, cuisine and room quality. One is a tropical paradise while the other is the perfect woodsy, mountain retreat from the craziness of urban life.

We loved it so much that we couldn't wait to write a review (our first on Tripadvisor) and tell our friends about the great experience. Now, we just have to plan our return visit for 2010!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksgpasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

This was our first trip along the Oregon coast and it was everything we had hoped for! Our cousin recommended Tu Tu Tun Lodge and it was really a wonderful place right on the river. We wished that we had time to take a guide trip but that leaves something for next time. The room, the food, the service was top notch.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgalhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Vale, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

Oh how different our experience was in April at Tu Tu Tun to that of Ballyholmebake’s. We were informed when we made our reservation that the Lodge was not operating full service until May 1st. We considered this an advantage as it meant that my husband and I would have the opportunity to enjoy this beautiful property at a bargain price.
I didn’t read the magazines in our room as I was more interested in savoring every tranquil moment from our balcony which overlooked the Rogue River. When I could jolt my thoughts back to the practical realities of running an establishment such as this, I couldn’t help but wonder how much the overhead must be to maintain the Lodge and the almost palatial grounds surrounding it. A delightful young lady who is a full time horticulturist on site told us that there were 6,000 (yes, six thousand) plants on the property which needed to be planted for this season. It boggles the mind.
The employees at Tu Tu Tun are so gracious and, while I have no idea what their salaries must be, I thought that there wouldn’t be enough money in the State of Oregon to pay me to be so pleasant to people at all times as they were. This applies to the new owner right on down. A perfect example was the time that we arrived back from a day trip at 5:35 PM which meant that we had missed the complementary wine hour which operates when the hotel is not running in the full service mode. We walked to the closed bar and asked if we might have a glass of wine to take back to our room. Well, not only did we receive one but someone in the kitchen stayed late to make us a magnificent tray of hors d’oeuvres to accompany our wine. It was a magnificent offering of a very high standard, so much so that we didn’t need to go out to dinner that evening.
It is clear from the numerous rave reviews received in the past that the new owner, Kyle, has very big shoes to fill. We flew from the East Coast and drove six hours from Portland for the express purpose of staying at the Tu Tu Tun Lodge and, it appears to us, his feet are a perfect fit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BearJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
6.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
6.6 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
6.7 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Tu Tun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Tu Tun Lodge

Property: Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Address: 96550 N. Bank Rogue, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star property which offers fine dining and wonderful hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tu Tu Tun Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing