We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tu Tu Tun Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We rented one of their riverfront houses, and it was simply a knockout. Perfectly equipped, beautifully furnished, great hot tub. Dinners and breakfasts are superb, and although eating is at communal tables, we really enjoyed the company. Incredible heated pool. Very friendly staff where everyone knows your name and is always happy to say hello and lend a hand. Afternoon cookies and pre-dinner appetizers are not to be missed. You can't go wrong staying here, and we'd do back in a heartbeat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    51
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
65
331
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Loved tu tu tun lodge!! Kyle the owner has done an exceptional job at running the hotel and his staff is exceptional. Everyone who works here could not be more attentive and or down to earth.
The lodge is in a beautiful setting and the weather could have not been nicer. They serve a charming family style dinner where you get to know the other guests but also give you the option to have a private dinner in you room or a select location on the property. Lots of extra no charge touches such as kayaks and paddle boards at the beach, giving you a coat to wear out on the river to wonderful afternoon cookie breaks. Cozy rooms with comfy beds for a great nights sleep. Loved feeding the deer the green apples from here trees on the lawn out front. Two thumbs up for a vacation referral.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you are planning to drive anywhere on the Oregon Coast. - this is THE place! The staff is AMAZING! The hotel is AWESOME! The food is SPECTACULAR! We had only booked for 2 nights but instantly wanted more - unfortunately the weekend was sold out and we had to depart. I've stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels all over the US but really stands out - a gem!

Room Tip: We stayed in an upper floor - room 25 - with a soaking tub - no stairs but the staff brought up our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The good: Each staff member that we encountered was uniformly pleasant, outgoing, and imbued with a vigorous service ethic. One expects excellent views with a resort of this caliber, and we were pleased in every way. Despite some prior concerns, the road proved a suitable place for a two mile walk. Caution is, of course, strongly advised. Landscaping and its maintenance was impeccable, which added to the beauty of the site. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay.

Other: In our bathroom, the sink stopper valve would not close completely, thus negating all efforts to accumulate my normal amount of hot water for shaving. I would have noted that on the room condition evaluation sheet while it was on my mind, but there was no such sheet provided.

Getting to the Tu Tu Tun lodge revealed some of our own perceptual issues. Despite two of us trying diligently on this, our first stay, to find the entrance, we missed the Tu Tu Tun entrance signs, one on each side of the drive. The signs are aesthetically designed, with ivory white letters on a brownish background. At the hour that we arrived, the sunlight penetrating the overhanging branches above created a pattern of light and dark that effectively camouflaged the sign, in which the contrast between words and background was already not very high. I recommend larger signs, of greater contrast, and with overhanging foliage kept pruned to allow the sign to dominate its area. Also needed are two additional road signs, one to the east and one to the west, to alert weary travelers that the lodge entrance is approaching. What is needed for Tu Tu Tun Lodge is the same technique used on I-5 state rest stops, where drivers are given 3/4 mile or so warnings in advance of the upcoming rest stops. Returning guests, staff, and the owners, of course, have the Tu Tu Tun Lodge entrance location firmly engraved in their minds and may find it inconceivable that anyone could miss an entrance with two signs. But everyone is a first time visitor sometime, and we first timers need help to find the entrance without bypassing it. Like too many new vehicles, the electronic display on our car washed out in the sunlight which made its use difficult for precisely locating the lodge. I would expect night-time, rainy day, and snow storm arrivals to encounter even greater difficulty in seeing the entrance signs in a timely manner that allowed ample time to slow down and turn into the driveway.

The meal system was unimpressive to us, though several of our fellow guests appeared to enjoy it. We were looking forward to the prime rib, but it was not cooked sufficiently for our preferences and we did not eat any of it, or put any on our plate. The Tu Tu Tun Lodge management needs to devise a system so that each guest is asked explicitly in advance if the guest prefers well done, medium, or rare. This modest service is common in most restaurants and can be easily incorporated into the Tu Tu Tun lodge experience. In preference to the existing meal provision, we would have greatly preferred open seating at a time of our choice with greater choice as to the menu.

Room Tip: No tips. We took an available room and were satisfied with it. It appeared that all rooms had supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marvinlee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had such a great time at Tu Tu Tun Lodge! We heard about this place several years ago and finally got there to celebrate our anniversary. We really enjoyed the cocktail hour and yummy appetizers, followed by a family style dinner at 7pm. The food and service were outstanding. We enjoyed strolling along the river, playing horseshoes and pool, taking a nice hike nearby and sitting on our balcony, sipping wine and watching the wildlife. So relaxing!

There are so many nice little touches such as complimentary coffee, orange juice and newspaper via kindle delivered to your door, turn down service with a candle, sweet treat and water, magazines and binoculars in your room...they really do think of everything. Kyle, the owner, is enthusiastic, outgoing and amazing at his job and we also enjoyed our Sunday night host, Terri. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSMannersPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in late May. We had often heard of Tu Tu Ton Lodge and had wanted to visit for some time.
It is a lovely setting--thoroughly enjoyed the river nearby and the quiet places to relax throughout the lodge. We would have enjoyed it more if the weather had not been so rainy, but, alas, that is Oregon! The food was excellent and we met some great people while dining there 2 of the 3 nights. The meals are served family style, which is great for a change. We did find the rooms a bit small, especially the
bathrooms.
We would recommend this place to anyone seeking a friendly casual atmosphere in a remote scenic spot, perfect for "getting away".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GiGiBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was one of the best places I've ever stayed. Not the fanciest but overall with the view, service, room amenities, food, and spa, I could have stayed several days. Unfortunately we are on a road trip and only booked one night. We would love to go back in the future. We had a room on the second floor with a fireplace and a hot tub on the balcony. The bathroom had two shower heads which was cool. Dinner is served family style so you get a chance to get to know your fellow lodgers which is always fun. Several of us retired to the back deck overlooking the river with outdoor fire pits and continued the revelry. It was a great experience. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
6.5 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel - Gold Beach
6.6 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gold Beach Resort
Gold Beach Resort
#2 of 8 in Gold Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
6.7 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Tu Tun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Tu Tun Lodge

Property: Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Address: 96550 N. Bank Rogue, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star property which offers fine dining and wonderful hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tu Tu Tun Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing