We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not.”
Review of Tu Tu Tun Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The good: Each staff member that we encountered was uniformly pleasant, outgoing, and imbued with a vigorous service ethic. One expects excellent views with a resort of this caliber, and we were pleased in every way. Despite some prior concerns, the road proved a suitable place for a two mile walk. Caution is, of course, strongly advised. Landscaping and its maintenance was impeccable, which added to the beauty of the site. Overall, we had an enjoyable stay.

Other: In our bathroom, the sink stopper valve would not close completely, thus negating all efforts to accumulate my normal amount of hot water for shaving. I would have noted that on the room condition evaluation sheet while it was on my mind, but there was no such sheet provided.

Getting to the Tu Tu Tun lodge revealed some of our own perceptual issues. Despite two of us trying diligently on this, our first stay, to find the entrance, we missed the Tu Tu Tun entrance signs, one on each side of the drive. The signs are aesthetically designed, with ivory white letters on a brownish background. At the hour that we arrived, the sunlight penetrating the overhanging branches above created a pattern of light and dark that effectively camouflaged the sign, in which the contrast between words and background was already not very high. I recommend larger signs, of greater contrast, and with overhanging foliage kept pruned to allow the sign to dominate its area. Also needed are two additional road signs, one to the east and one to the west, to alert weary travelers that the lodge entrance is approaching. What is needed for Tu Tu Tun Lodge is the same technique used on I-5 state rest stops, where drivers are given 3/4 mile or so warnings in advance of the upcoming rest stops. Returning guests, staff, and the owners, of course, have the Tu Tu Tun Lodge entrance location firmly engraved in their minds and may find it inconceivable that anyone could miss an entrance with two signs. But everyone is a first time visitor sometime, and we first timers need help to find the entrance without bypassing it. Like too many new vehicles, the electronic display on our car washed out in the sunlight which made its use difficult for precisely locating the lodge. I would expect night-time, rainy day, and snow storm arrivals to encounter even greater difficulty in seeing the entrance signs in a timely manner that allowed ample time to slow down and turn into the driveway.

The meal system was unimpressive to us, though several of our fellow guests appeared to enjoy it. We were looking forward to the prime rib, but it was not cooked sufficiently for our preferences and we did not eat any of it, or put any on our plate. The Tu Tu Tun Lodge management needs to devise a system so that each guest is asked explicitly in advance if the guest prefers well done, medium, or rare. This modest service is common in most restaurants and can be easily incorporated into the Tu Tu Tun lodge experience. In preference to the existing meal provision, we would have greatly preferred open seating at a time of our choice with greater choice as to the menu.

Room Tip: No tips. We took an available room and were satisfied with it. It appeared that all rooms had supe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marvinlee777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had such a great time at Tu Tu Tun Lodge! We heard about this place several years ago and finally got there to celebrate our anniversary. We really enjoyed the cocktail hour and yummy appetizers, followed by a family style dinner at 7pm. The food and service were outstanding. We enjoyed strolling along the river, playing horseshoes and pool, taking a nice hike nearby and sitting on our balcony, sipping wine and watching the wildlife. So relaxing!

There are so many nice little touches such as complimentary coffee, orange juice and newspaper via kindle delivered to your door, turn down service with a candle, sweet treat and water, magazines and binoculars in your room...they really do think of everything. Kyle, the owner, is enthusiastic, outgoing and amazing at his job and we also enjoyed our Sunday night host, Terri. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRSMannersPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in late May. We had often heard of Tu Tu Ton Lodge and had wanted to visit for some time.
It is a lovely setting--thoroughly enjoyed the river nearby and the quiet places to relax throughout the lodge. We would have enjoyed it more if the weather had not been so rainy, but, alas, that is Oregon! The food was excellent and we met some great people while dining there 2 of the 3 nights. The meals are served family style, which is great for a change. We did find the rooms a bit small, especially the
bathrooms.
We would recommend this place to anyone seeking a friendly casual atmosphere in a remote scenic spot, perfect for "getting away".

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiGiBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was one of the best places I've ever stayed. Not the fanciest but overall with the view, service, room amenities, food, and spa, I could have stayed several days. Unfortunately we are on a road trip and only booked one night. We would love to go back in the future. We had a room on the second floor with a fireplace and a hot tub on the balcony. The bathroom had two shower heads which was cool. Dinner is served family style so you get a chance to get to know your fellow lodgers which is always fun. Several of us retired to the back deck overlooking the river with outdoor fire pits and continued the revelry. It was a great experience. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A small out of the way place on the coast with outstanding rooms and service. Grounds are immaculately maintained and the setting is very nice. The hospitality and service is as good as it gets. While we only spent one night we could have easily drifted through a week while kayaking, fishing, hiking and walking the nearby ocean beaches. Really a great place to stay!

Room Tip: We liked the view from the top (second) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This small lodge, about 7 miles on the Rogue River from the ocean in very southern Oregon (about 35+ miles from the California border) is in all ways the perfect getaway for those seeking a quiet few days with a lover or friend! No children generally, although check the policies, there are times during the year when they are welcomed. Casually elegant includes the dress code as well as the decor and amenities... my husband was told he didn't need to change from his shorts for dinner, a type of casual that made him very happy! The food, breakfast and dinner, is worth the effort to get there and bought as a per day package seemed pretty reasonably priced. My advice would be to book a stay during the late spring, summer or early fall as meals are not included in wintertime. Gold Beach, the nearest town, offers no distractions or meal choices so the Lodge is it for food. There's a small pool and a putting green, kayaks to take out on the Rogue River as well as paddles boards, and that about covers it for activities. You can drive to the ocean for magnificent hikes along the dramatic coastal range. Take books and be prepared to RELAX... if you're a Type A who must stay internet connected at all times, this is probably NOT your next stop on a planned road trip along the coast. Other reviews have commented on the friendliness of the staff, which I can endorse. Our experience in all ways was perfection, even the weather was magnificent each day... so go ahead Tu Tun, Toot your horn and know that this couple will return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just returned from yet another wonderful, albeit too short, stay at Tu Tu Tun Lodge. This was our ninth visit and hopefully far from our last. Tu Tu Tun provides a get-away of All get-aways in beautiful nature-filled ambiance, casual yet elegant style, with warm and friendly staff who seek to make your stay feel like you are experiencing a slice of heaven. In all honesty, there have been times on our drive to Tu Tu Tun where I think it may be our last just for the fact it seems it's time to try something new, but after each visit I sigh with contentment and gratitude for the sanctuary that Tu Tu Tun is and start planning our return visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have an incredible view. Our favorites are #8 or #28 which are end rooms furthest from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRtThar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
6.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
930 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
539 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Jot's Resort
Jot's Resort
#8 of 8 in Gold Beach
128 reviews
6.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel Gold Beach
6.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Tu Tun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Tu Tun Lodge

Address: 96550 N. Bank Rogue, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range: $100 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star property which offers fine dining and wonderful hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tu Tu Tun Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing