We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the company of strangers”
Review of Tu Tu Tun Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gold Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tu Tu Tun Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Gold Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

While we enjoyed strolling through the scenic grounds which includes a lovely garden, croquet playing area, horseshoe pitch, boat dock and a family of deer grazing along a small golf putting green, we did not fancy joining 6-strangers for dinner. Guests, seated at a circular banquet table suitable for a wedding or special function, were served dinner from large platters placed on a giant lazy boy at the centre of each table. Not designed for people of short stature, I could not reach the serving bowl and had to have my dinner served by the person beside me. As well, one of the guests spilled their wine and it splashed across my plate. While it was a delight to speak to fellow travellers, I value my privacy and found this an intrusion. The room, although spacious, clean, and well appointed, was not up to par with other accommodation in a similar price range. The problem being smoke coming from a wood-burning fireplace located in the lower cocktail lounge - this smoke found it's way into our room which was located near the chimney. Bonus is the staff - outgoing and friendly and charming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 521 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We recently returned from a stay at Tu Tu Tun and I can say confidently that it is the best place I have stayed in Oregon. The rooms are incredibly deluxe for a "lodge" and the grounds and facilities are immaculate. Kyle and his staff are top flight and they provide fantastic personalized service that is very comfortable.

The food at Tu Tu Tun is truly spectacular and deserves the numerous accolades. You would be missing out on a significant part of Tu Tu Tun if you only stayed there and did not add the "dining plan" to your stay. Breakfast and Dinner are as good as it gets - the meals are truly memorable. As noted before, the meals are served "family style" around large circular tables (they will also bring the food to your room for a small fee if you do insist on private dining). You will be sitting with 6 others - which has always been enjoyable even when we knew nobody else at the table.

We have stayed at Tu Tu Tun 3 times now - it is a favorite. It is a great place to relax (No TVs in most of the rooms) - and all the rooms have small patios with a view of the river. We take advantage of the complimentary kayaks to paddle on the Rogue. We also have enjoyed playing the pitch/putt holes while feeding the deer with apples off the surrounding trees. There is also a lap pool and the Jerry's Jet Boats can pick you right up on the dock. We generally don't leave the property.

I would note that I had some concern when Tu Tu Tun was sold by the prior owners - But I must say that Kyle has kept up the excellence while actually making Tu Tu Tun feel even more inviting and comfortable. Tu Tu Tun really is an Oregon gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FenwickPeriwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I'm not sure if I should start with the "good" or the "annoying" parts, but I'll do the annoying part first

1) If you wish to dine at the Tu Tu Ton, they have a "meet and greet" cocktail hour for 45 minutes, then you sit at a table of 8. I don't mind that for breakfast, but when I'm on vacation, I don't really feel like sitting at tables of strangers. The hotel was NOT pushy about pushing you to eat there, but still, it was annoying.

2) The walls were somewhat "thin". My travelling companion could hear his neighbor's talking, and even their cell phone ringing. I did not have this issue, though

3) The wifi in the rooms didn't get signal and the front desk person said "I don't know what to do to help that". When you're staying at a hotel of this caliber, that is not an acceptable answer. Cell signal there was very poor, so wifi was very much useful

4) My toilet handle assembly broke - in all my years of travelling, this has never happened, and to have it happen at such an expensive place was astounding to me. With my usual bad luck, this occurred at 1 am, middle of the night, too. I know the hotel would fix this the next day (after I checked out), but it still floored me to have this happen

5) The hotel is very discreet, but a sign that said "Front desk / lobby" when we drove in would be nice! We had to hunt down an employee to ask where to check in.


oK, now the goods

1) What a gorgeous place. The rooms, the views, the QUIET. I woke up early, and had to open my balcony doors to hear the sounds of nature, even though it was 50 degrees or so, and cold - but under their marvellous duvets, nestled in uber-comfortable pillows, it was paradise

2) The staff was incredibly nice and accomodating. Even when my tired travel companion and I freaked out at the idea of eating with 6 strangers, they instantly recommend a very casual, yummy nearby restaurant. If we had been able to stay longer, one of those communal dinners would likely have been very nice, but we just weren't up to it

3) The rooms were beautiful.

Overall, I am very pleased with the experience.

Room Tip: If I could do this over, I would have liked a room with a full bath, not just a standup shower. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kkrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Tu Tu Tun Lodge in mid September.
The room was lovely, rustic yet comfortable. We enjoyed the fireplace and the deck, although we could hear the patio furniture being moved above us.. The service was great and the location tranquil with a back to nature vibe. The meals were good but not excellent and it was enjoyable sitting with other folks and sharing platters and bowls of food. The night we were there, there was a choice of lamb or sturgeon. The outdoor areas were the highlight for us. The decks off the dining room and bar were just beautiful, plenty of sitting areas and a view of the river. We are so glad we ended our three week trip of California and Oregon with a trip to this lodge. It may be a one time visit as it is very expensive but we enjoyed it immensely!
Take the 105 mile Rogue River trip. It was so much fun.

Room Tip: An upper room may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnabysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We were booked for one night but liked it so much we stayed for two even though it messed up our subsequent travel plans. Food, rooms and personal service were all excellent and we enjoyed the communal dining even though we were well under the average age each night. The swimming pool was beautiful and we also used the kayaks to potter about on the river. The jet boat tour picked us up at the lodge marina and was worth doing despite the guide's terrible jokes and the over-long lunch stop. Overall, this was one of the top 3 places we have stayed in in the US having travelled extensively and stayed in many luxury hotels over the last couple of years. We hope to be back one day

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My new husband and I stayed three nights here for our honeymoon just recently mid September. We are both from Oregon and had never heard about it, until I googled, "honeymoons in Oregon" and found Tu Tu Tun Lodge. So, we gave it a try since it has such great reviews and it was even mentioned in one of the popular bridal magazines. The service was fantastic. They allowed our very late check in around 11pm, even though the lodge was closed, they set up a fishing basket on the front door with our keys and a personal note for us congratulating us on the marriage. When we got in to the room, there was NOTHING they forgot to include in the room. They had champagne for us with another personal note, special water bottles beside the bed with two little treats each night. There's a basket of toiletries in case you forgot something. There's a little mini fridge in the desk. The fire place and soaking tub made it extra special, with incredible views. As a young couple, we didn't stay at the lodge during the day. We traveled along the coast, visiting each little town and eating at different restaurants. It's more of an adventure in that way. We didn't choose to do any meals here, mainly because we wanted to venture out, and didn't want to eat with other people- OR pay extra for private meals alone. We got around just fine and found the lodge at 11pm just fine with our Tom Tom system, and all the signs along the road. It was no problem. It was basically the high end accommodations and view, that really made it feel like a honeymoon. We even watched deer fight and graze while in the soaking tub outside. It WAS a little strange how they called us in our room thinking that I had said that we were joining them for dinner and wanted scampi...that was funny. I never eat scampi or anything similar to that. AND before that had called the night before to ask what we had planned for dinner. SO, I can only conclude that they DO, somewhat like to put their meal option out there in front of you, to bite at. We had told them by phone before checking in that we didn't plan on doing their meal plan, and yet they still kept asking us about it, or messed up on it. For a five star hotel or resort, I wished they were a little more on top of listening to us in the first place, taking note of it or something, because it did make us feel like we had to repeat ourselves more than a couple times (I understand they want to sell their meal plan, and they weren't rude or mean to my husband about it, just maybe a tad pushy for my liking). My husband also made sure we were not charged for the meals, because at one time a person on the phone had said that they normally charge the first nights dinner automatically- so you really need to tell them if you're having their meals or not and what days. We noticed that communication with the front desk was very important and not to just let things be left unsaid. They allow you to have complimentary coffee, orange juice in the morning if you like. Which, I see as a great bonus, but why not when we're paying $365/night :) All in all, it was a beautiful, relaxing place...perfect for a nature/coastal honeymoon spot. I wish I could go back. Hopefully some day, maybe for an anniversary we will be able to. Yes, since my husband and I are pretty flexible and easy going, we could've stayed at a much less expensive hotel on the coast and had been happy, BUT since this was our honeymoon, we wanted to splurge and make it extra special, and this lodge made it so! :)

Room Tip: Bean Riffle. Fireplace and soaking tub is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy4541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Off on a Pacific Northwest road trip and only 2 hours away we gave Tu Tu a call to see if they had a room available for the next 2 nights. They said they had a hotel room available for only 1 night but that a cottage was available for the 2 nights we requested. So here's what the professional inn keeper's offered us... the cottage for 2 nights at the same rate as the hotel room . And that folks is how it's done and the folks a Tu Tu know that. We accepted and 2 hours later arrived to be met by authentic professionals who clearly love their job and their property. The cottage was beautiful and dinner that night was incredible .. the best meal in years , no kidding and bravo to the chef. I think I'll finish up by saying because of our experience we will of course be back and will continue to spread the word about the PERFECT lodge on the Rogue River ... Thanks Tu Tu

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gold Beach hotels
6.6 mi away
Pacific Reef Hotel
Pacific Reef Hotel
#1 of 8 in Gold Beach
948 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
Ireland's Rustic Lodges
#3 of 8 in Gold Beach
709 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gold Beach Inn
Gold Beach Inn
#4 of 8 in Gold Beach
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Gold Beach
6.7 mi away
Inn of the Beachcomber
Inn of the Beachcomber
#5 of 5 in Gold Beach
280 reviews
6.3 mi away
Azalea Lodge
Azalea Lodge
#5 of 8 in Gold Beach
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tu Tu Tun Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tu Tu Tun Lodge

Address: 96550 N. Bank Rogue, Gold Beach, OR 97444
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gold Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gold Beach
Price Range: $100 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A four-star property which offers fine dining and wonderful hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tu Tu Tun Hotel Gold Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing