We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gladstone
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is not spectacular but it's clean and we'll maintained.
The breakfast is basic but always good to have and the best part is that it's included in the price.
With hog weather make sure you jump in the river located behind the hotel, this will add a nice experience to your trip.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank GG_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments about your recent stay. We do offer a continental breakfast to all our guests. The breakfast has a variety of items to fit most dietary needs which is a plus for many travelers who have restrictions. Our view of the Clackamas River can be very refreshing just to take in instead of jumping in the river.
I hope you will visit us again soon and have the same enjoyable time on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 104 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

Holiday Inn Express recently took over this location (formerly Oxford Suites). Located right off of I-205 south of Portland, its location is convenient for visitors. Your room will give you a view of the Clackamas River. The rooms are a nice size and clean. You get a microwave and refrigerator. There is free wi-fi for guests. The breakfast includes the usual continental breakfast items, but also some hot items such as biscuits, gravy, sausage and eggs. There is also a light snack in the evening that usually includes some snack crackers, a salad, and drinks that include wine and beer. There's a hot tub and an indoor pool. The staff is friendly and knowledgable. I only had a couple of complaints. First, I thought the room rate was a bit high for the area and second, the lobby and the halls were very warm (during a heat wave, granted, but they do have air conditioning). There is a Safeway located just across the parking lot and a bar and grill just behind the Safeway. I like the area because it's quiet and residential. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JGW33782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel. The staff and myself take great pride in knowing that our guests have a enjoyable experience when they stay with us and all your feedback is a great way for us to know that we are on the right path for guest satisfaction. I do apologize that during your stay the halls and lobby were warm, yes we were experiencing a heat wave and have since improved the air conditioning in those areas. I do hope that you will stay with us when your travels bring your back to the Clackamas Portland area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Loved the stay. Great front desk staff, they were very helpful with my situation and it was all figured out quickly. I plan to stay here again when I return to the area in the next few months. Great view too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassidy Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for the great feedback. We are pleased that you will be staying with us when you return to the Clackamas Area. The feedback that our guest leave us let us know that we are providing a quality service that guests love and is a great reminder to staff that we are on the right path to building guest loyalty. I do apologize for any troubles that you encountered and glad to hear the staff fixed them quickly. We look forward to making your next stay just as comfortable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here two nights while visiting the Portland and Hood River Valley areas. The room was very clean, the hotel was in a good, easy to find location. The breakfast was standard fare but worked for me. Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The only area that could improve would be air conditioning. I know it's not normally hot there, but it was in the 90s when we visited and the hallways, breakfast room and part of our room were warm. Overall, though it was an excellent value especially since we qualified for the government employees discount. Would definitely recommend and visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanetB2656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Its wonderful to hear that you had a great stay with us. We have a exceptional complimentary breakfast which includes a variety of hot and cold items. We recently have added Gluten free items and Turkey sausage to our menu . Our pancake machine and cinnamon rolls are items that our guests enjoy and look forward to. I thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay and hope to see you again when you travels bring you to the Portland SE-Clackamas area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Service at the front desk by Maureen and Sandy and the rest of the front desk was excellent. you couldn't get a better reception or assistance from a 5 star. Shuttle driver Troy was also and excellant addition to your staff. Very courteous and friendly. Was there for a wedding for my son. and I held rooms there. All of my family members stated the same. Housekeeping was wonderful. Rooms spotless. Breakfast staff wonderful. I couldn't have chosen a better place.Thank you all

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A40zange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2014

There is nothing more than staff likes that to know that they personally gave exceptional service and to have their name mentioned in a review means a great deal to them, thank you so kindly for taking the time to point out the staff members who made your stay exceptional. The staff is please to know that your wedding party all had a great stay. I do hope that if your travels bring you back to Clackamas/Portland Area that you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The rooms were nice and large. The view from the window was average as it overlooked the highway, but the room was quiet so no problems there. Check in was great and the staff were friendly, but they were let down by the restaurant server/cleaner.

Check out was a bit slow as they only had one person on the counter. but apart from that the stay was OK.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queenslander1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelMgmtPDXGS, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2015

We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards but are pleased to know that you enjoyed your room and the rest of your stay. We will share your feedback with our staff and make the necessary changes. We hope you choose to stay with us again, so we can show you our true level of service from check in to check out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We've stayed many times at this location over the years. It provides a convenient location for visiting family, friends and the Portland Metro area. On my last visit in December the hotel was going through branding changes as well as some staff changes. During our stays this time(2 weeks total)I would say that customer service is still in it's training stages for some of the desk staff. This hotel was built next to a freeway that when built did not have the traffic that it currently has. The hotel is in need of some updating, including customer service, room quietness, hallway cleanliness and just in general. The hotel offers a breakfast and an evening snack service. While we stayed the hotel was very busy, seemed almost too busy for some of the desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pebitpeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear pebitpeb,

Thank you for writing a candid review on your recent stay. We appreciate your loyalty in choosing our hotel, and it is very nice to know that our location is suitable to your travel needs. On the other hand, please accept our sincere apologies as it seems the hotel condition and level of service fell below your expectations.

Your comments are very important to us as they allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We hope that if your travels brings you back to our area you would give us another opportunity to provide the excellent accommodations you were expecting.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladstone
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Rivershore Hotel
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Portland Southeast/Clackamas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Clackamas
Comfort Suites Clackamas
#5 of 7 in Clackamas
122 reviews
3.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel and Conference Center
9.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wilsonville
La Quinta Inn Wilsonville
#2 of 8 in Wilsonville
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area

Address: 75 82nd Dr, Gladstone, OR 97027-2522 (Formerly Oxford Suites Portland - Gladstone)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Gladstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range: $93 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on the banks of the beautiful Clackamas River, the Oxford Suites Portland-Gladstone is situated just minutes from shopping, the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center, downtown Portland and the Portland International Airport. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Gladstone Hotel Gladstone
Oxford Hotel Gladstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing