We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gladstone
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a good choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Why it's called a "managers" reception is beyond me. Worse than bar food. Amd the only free drinks are bottled beer, bad wine and soda. There were NO blankets. Heavy sheets and a throw. Not impressed atall. Very loud heaters and the train runs close by

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KoryArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear KoryArmstrong,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate to see you did not fully enjoy your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    11
    10
    9
See reviews for
37
14
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carrara
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I had made my reservation in advance and recieved a special holiday rate for the 6 nights I would be visiting. Arrived to find the hotel changing to Holiday Inn Express. Was advised when I arrived that the internet service was not working due to switch over. I was asked what suite I would like,I told the attendent a suite that was quite. He placed me on the top floor. When I went into relax before bed there appeared to be no tv service, so I called and advised the attendent of the problem. He said he would investigate and advised that there was no tv service available. At 4:30am I was awoken to the loud traffic on the nearby freeway and then felt a slight shaking due to being next to freeway bridge. I didn't get back to sleep easily with the pickup of traffic noice and the shaking tv screens in the room, due to being on the top floor. In the past we had always been lower. At The next morning I went to the manager on duty to see what was happening. They apologized about the internet service and advised that the tv service was working and that you must change the channels to get the tv working and that the internet service was functioning, but needed a particular password. This was not the service I knew and was used to in previous stays here. I suggested that the customer should not receive poor service because of an internal change. Several other problems occured. Mostly a bad attitude from an attendent named Dani, who was unfriendly and less than helpful when I advised that my room had not been cleaned on my second day there. On my last evening while attempting to do laundry I needed quarters to complete the drying and was told they had none, I was in my pajamas as my clothes were wet in washing machines and was told to go to the nearby Safeway. At this time there were 2 behind the counter and neither had a we care or we are sorry attitude. A friendly face goes along way and an unfriendly face makes one feel as if they are disturbing, I felt the need to report this. I will again post when Holiday Inn Express has a location posted here. As this is no longer Oxford Suites, but Holiday Inn Express. This staff needs some customer service training.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2d or 3d floor here, avoid the top floor. The vibrations are felt stronly on the top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pebitpeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear pebitpeb,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please do accept our apologies for not being able to deliver an exemplary service. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. Thank you for bringing these to our attention and I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gladstone hotels

Heppner, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We made a return trip because of nice time I had in the spring. This was the worst visit and my husband said he will never return. Went specifically for two things the pool and the breakfast/ and evening reception. Our girls spent a month looking forward to swimming and the pool was closed all weekend. We went to see zoo lights and got back at 7:55 (anticipating warm soup) the tickets read evening reception 5-9:30pm. When we arrived the girl said sorry we pull soup at 7:30. I said it doesn't say that, she said that is what we do. The lady at the desk said when you check in they are supposed to tell you. Trip before no one said anything. Then in the morning we went for breakfast got confused and got there 10 minutes early were told they weren't open til 7, I said can we get some juice and set with our girls and the Hispanic lady said we open at 7. So we had to go set out in lobby with the cold cold wind blowing in every time door opened. Then 5 minutes later older gentleman went in and they served him. Nice lady fixing eggs but she went and cleared tables and when a gentleman came in she went right to the grill without washing her hands and prepared him his meal. They are down to one soup had two choices in the spring. Waffles, meat, eggs, potatoes behind counter and they serve now. Pastries in past were fresh tasting this time they were dry. No fans in bathroom which creates issue in small room with poor ventilation. One nice thing they had dvd player so we played a movie for the girls since they couldn't swim. Room was clean. Don't know if this is all changes due to not being Oxford Suites anymore or not.

Room Tip: If you are expecting the pool, I guess you need to call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkmarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WesternTrvlr, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that your stay was not as expected. You are correct that the hotel is no longer an Oxford Suites, and no longer owned by the Oxford Hotel Group. In Portland, Oxford Hotel Group offers our standard services and amenities, as you experienced this spring, at our Jantzen Beach location. Perhaps on your next visit to Portland, you'll consider trying that location. Thank you for your loyal patronage and again, we are very sorry that your experience was not as expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gladstone
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rivershore Hotel
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Clackamas
Comfort Suites Clackamas
#5 of 8 in Clackamas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Courtyard Portland Southeast/Clackamas
4.7 mi away
Lakeshore Inn
Lakeshore Inn
#5 of 7 in Lake Oswego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area

Property: Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area
Address: 75 82nd Dr, Gladstone, OR 97027-2522 (Formerly Oxford Suites Portland - Gladstone)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Gladstone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gladstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional has never been so affordable! Located on the banks of the beautiful Clackamas River, the Oxford Suites Portland-Gladstone is situated just minutes from shopping, the Oregon Trail Interpretive Center, downtown Portland and the Portland International Airport. Complimentary amenities include Full Hot Breakfast Buffet, Evening Reception, High Speed Wi-Fi, Parking, Indoor Pool, Spa, & Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Suites Portland - Gladstone Hotel Gladstone
Oxford Hotel Gladstone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing