We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
McMenamins Gearhart Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gearhart by the Sea(Gearhart)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort(Seaside)(Great Value!)
$80
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ebb Tide Oceanfront Inn(Seaside)(Great Value!)
$73
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rivertide Suites(Seaside)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
City Center Motel(Seaside)(Great Value!)
$50
$34
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Seaside(Seaside)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seashore Inn on the Beach(Seaside)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillcrest Inn(Seaside)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
39
29
18
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
39
29
18
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstay and play packageking roomown bathroomnice showerbeautiful sunsetgolf pro shopbunker barshort walkgreat roomenjoyed our staypropertiesseasideoceanhangerssandnwvintage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 96 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Went there for 1 night, boyfriend loves golf, he played in the tournament there, while I relaxed. I heard a lot of reviews about the noise, I personally, didn't have that experience. Like any place you'd hear things every now and again, but it wasnt anything terrible, or disturbing. They give you free ear plugs if you really want them ;)
We had an amazing view of the golf course, a great room, with all of the amenities would needed/wanted.
The staff was friendly and helpful. They are pet friendly, which is great, we will be bringing our pooches with us next time (no breed/size restrictions! just let them know in advance)
I personally loved this hotel, wouldnt change a thing about it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irinasd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stopped by just to see it & Wow! Beautiful place! Would love to eat & spend a night there. We did have a bloody mary in the bar & sat out on the awesome deck in the sunshine sheltered from the wind overlooking a beautiful golf course setting! Can't wait to check out other McManamins establishments...I'd even invest in the company if I could!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daydreamer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great hotel, great location, great room: all around really nice, with one exception - pipe noise. The pipes under our room clanged (not super loudly unless you were trying to sleep) and woke us up a little earlier than I wanted (started around 6am, not terrible by any means). I mentioned it at checkout and the response was "Yeah, a lot of people say that, and no one ever does anything about it." Which is a bit sad, as this would otherwise be a 5 star review. Barring the noise, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Captain's Room is a bit noisy around 6am from pipes clanging.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seththegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Wonderful stay at the Gearhart Hotel. We were upgraded to a King room with a balcony and view of the golf course. Waking up the next morning and looking out to a herd of 75 Elk was pretty amazing. We were on the package that included a $50 credit for dinner and $20 for breakfast. Both meals were great-Steamed clams and fish stew for dinner and biscuits and gravy for breakfast. They also have a good happy hour. Located a short walk from the beach, the weather calmed down enough for a walk after dinner. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Gearhart Hotel two nights. We really liked the small, intimate feel of the property. The bar/dining room is really well done. It can hold quite a few people, but it still feels very comfortable. The staff overall was excellent.

We had a king room. It's a bit on the small side but very comfortable. All the rooms have their own bathroom and there are televisions in each room. The heat is provided by a wall heater in the bath and in the room. There are no markings on the dial. The heaters seem to provide too hot or too cold. Lighting in the room was poor.

I was a bit disappointed there was no live music or movies as in the other McMenamin hotels. A hot tub or a small heated pool would be a nice addition.

Would we go back? Yes. It was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wingboyOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews