We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McMenamins Gearhart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The room we had the first night overlooked the golf course and the deck off the bar. Loud drunk individuals kept us awake until after 1:00 a.m. When we complained the next morning they moved us to another room. What we did not realize was that it was above the "kitchen work area". The noise was even worse and lasted until 2:00 a.m.

I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel. Choose another place if you want a restful night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 95 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

A newly opened hotel so everything is practically new. Stayed at the room right in the corner with a "peak a boo" view of the golf course, but mainly the view was of the road on one side and the parking lot on the other. Large enough and comfortable room. The bathroom was gorgeous with large shower and nice finishing. The best part was if travelling with a dog, they had dog bowls, dog treats provided in the room which is a very nice touch. There's no A/C, but once you open the windows at night, it cools off fast and its not really needed. When we were there, it was over 100 degrees during the day, but when we got back to the room, took no time at all for the room to cool off. There was a bit of kitchen smell, but wasn't bad. Only had breakfast at the hotel, and the food was typical breakfast fare. Being able to eat on the patio looking at the 1st tee isn't bad, but I wish it was overlooking the beach or water. If you're a golfer, the course isn't a bad course to play. Well groomed, and t-times seems to be spread out pretty well so you won't get pressured to move fast. The thing to remember is that checking in is at the same place as where people go to get seated for the restaurant, its a bit strange and confusing and if there's a lineup to get into the restaurant, you might be standing around with your luggage waiting. I'm sure this isn't an issue for most people. Would definitely come back if I'm in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This cozy new property overlooking a beautiful golf course has charm and a great restaurant on sight, not to mention a golf shop and live entertainment on occasion. Across the street from the beachfront, and newly opened in May 2012, McMenamins Gearhart has reclaimed an old clubhouse and turned it into a golfer's delight. Roll out of bed, have a great breakfast at the restaurant, and then head to the links. The rooms are all unique. We stayed in the Professional and enjoyed the spacious quarters, big bathroom, and sunny ambience with windows on two sides. There was a live band in that evening which we enjoyed. Had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant, too. Good food, quick service. Cozy golfer's bar is a fun place to hang out. The hotel was newly opened and the front desk staff was still getting their wits about them, but very helpful and friendly when asked.

Room Tip: The Professional is at the end of the hall, bright, sunny, and overlooks the parking lot, links, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Reputed to be the first McMenamins with TVs in the room and private baths. Recently opened on a nice historicGearhart golf course. Nice bar and staff. We did not eat here. Very restful and quiet night. Just off the lovely Oregon Coast.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigseu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Took my wife on our 9th anniversary to the coast and we love mcminemins (usually) but was highly disappointed with the McMenamins Gearhart Hotel. Here is why:

We paid 200+ for the "captains" room.

The room was a 10'x10' closet. granted it was high quality wood, floors, showers etc, it was TINY.

No air conditioner... there was a fan in the window that's it and the kitchen fumes drifted up to our room :|

We went to the mcminemins web site and couldn't make reservation online (the system wasn't working) ended up calling mcminemans to get the room booked.

We were told the room was lovely and we would have a window over looking the golf course. This was partially true. We mostly had a window that facing a parking lot and could barely see the golf course. Lame....

There is no beach access. The only way to the beach from the hotel is to drive a couple blocks down a road and then drive down another road onto the beach itself. Good if you have an AWD or 4x4 but risky otherwise. Also there is no view of the ocean at all from the hotel just a view of a giant hotel that blocks ocean view.. yuck.

We went to the bar downstairs and couldn't get waited on (we were sitting at the bar) for about 5 minutes, when we did get waited on, the bartender was "odd" seemed like she was just not with it for what ever reason. Tried to order terminator, and was told it only comes in the large bottle. we ordered our drinks, and it took about 10 minutes to get our drinks (we could hear her talking in the other room...bizarre). Later upstairs we found terminator on tap. :|

We are really nice people, not rude, we don't expect a lot, just honesty, good value for our money, and prompt service. We got very little of this.

Very disappointing stay. If you are going golfing only this might be a hotel to stay at. If you are looking for beach, sunsets, a large room with a view, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: only stay here if you want to golf. not good for romance. rooms are tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikeb_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at gearhart hotel for one night. It is expensive but most of the hotels are in this price range at the oregon coast. Our room has a big shower fits two people, two big windows and spacious. Staffs are very friendly and welcoming. In the morning , we had our breakfast at the pub downstairs patio looking out to the golf course. It is a perfect getaway.
However, the room has no AC. It could be stuffy in the summer time. And the wi-fi is not quite strong and stable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agentCodyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is the third hotel which opened April 2012, on or near this site on the old Gearhart Golf Course over the century. We didn't play, but we enjoyed lovely meals, including breakfast on the veranda overlooking the St. Andrews-style course (but with 65-year-old pines). Typical McMenamins artwork and detail highlighted our room with bath. Our short walk (less than a block) to the beach three times in 24 hours, (once for a glorious sunset) was therapeutic and refreshing.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the golf course, but we were upgraded to this King room as the mid-week business...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
0.1 mi away
Gearhart by the Sea
Gearhart by the Sea
#1 of 2 in Gearhart
107 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,253 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Best Western Astoria Bayfront Hotel
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Astoria
11.7 mi away
Hotel Elliott
Hotel Elliott
#7 of 14 in Astoria
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Gearhart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Gearhart Hotel

Address: 1157 N Marion Ave, Gearhart, OR 97138-4072
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range: $101 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McMenamins Gearhart Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
McMenamins Gearhart Hotel is located in the historic Kelly House, the same building that houses McMenamins Sand Trap Pub and Gearhart Golf Links pro shop. Eighteen guest rooms were constructed on the third floor of the Cape Cod-style building, featuring king- or queen-sized beds with en suite bathrooms and decorated in a Pacific Northwest coastal style integrating McMenamins' signature artwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your McMenamins Gearhart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing