We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unit 660”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gearhart by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gearhart
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“unit 660”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This unit is so much in need of upgrading. It has a limited view of ocean. Dishwasher is so poor, you can't utilize it to the max. Terrible waste of space. No disposal. Deck is ugh! Bathrooms need serious attention. Housekeeping staff is attentive, but simply does not cover for the deficiencies in this unit. They've jammed in as much furniture as possible so that you can hardly walk through the unit without bumping into something. Closets in master BR were without rods, no hangers. Way too much money for what you get. I've stayed in units for half this money and been better served! Don't rent this unless desperate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GBTSManager, Manager at Gearhart by the Sea, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for letting me know about your stay. We do not have garbage disposals in the units because we are on a septic system as there is no city sewer. I will look at the dishwasher and have it repaired or replaced. I will send your response to the owner of this unit regarding your concerns.

Thanks,

Paul Tice
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    15
    14
    10
See reviews for
47
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed here the last 4 years. This year we were in 714 and it was very comfortable. When booking a condo at Gearhart you must review the pictures of the available condo's. We have found the best thing to do is while staying here ask to see other rentals then pick. Tami is a great help and we talk to her every year. We enjoy staying in the north wing (2+ bedrooms and bath's) because it faces the ocean. I recommend staying on the 4th or 5th floor (highest). We have stayed twice on the 5th floor but the owners have not updated the unit and it is not comfortable for use. The views on either floor are excellent. Some units do allow pets. We will be back next year. Great driving on the beach. Location is great for the family we visit. I find this the best location because it is not congested like Seaside or Astoria.

Room Tip: Depends on number of bedrooms and view you want. Ocean views best in North Wing but here the units...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

My niece wanted to go to Seaside for her graduation present from me. So I booked the Gearhart by the Sea. When I called I asked for a room that had a full ocean view I explained that I was coming from Texas and wanted to see the beautiful pacific ocean. We checked in on a Friday and when I opened the doors it was way more than what I expected. The view was exactly what I was looking for the room was so big it had 2 rooms and 2 bathrooms. A full size kitchen and a living room and dining room. It felt like we were staying in someone's apartment. The staff was so friendly and helpful. If I ever make it back to OR I will make sure that this is where I stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sshouston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I love Gearhart. I'm 40 years old, and the first time I was there was in 1985 with my parents, grandparents, and aunts and uncles and cousins. So this place is sort of special to my family. June was the first time we'd been back since the 80s, and I'm happy to report that it's just as wonderful as I remembered.

We stayed in the single-level condos closest to the beach, which are behind the high-rise unit. My family stayed in one (405) that allowed our lab to join us, and my parents and brother's family stayed in an equally outfitted condo (412) a few units down. The place had everything we needed, including a VHS "MovieWalker" and a library of movies for the whole family. Super fun! The kitchen is well stocked, there are plenty of comfortable chairs, and the beds were fine. The kids had a blast discovering the "craftmatic adjustable bed" in the second bedroom.

Our only complaint is ventilation. None of the windows open. Only the doors open, but there are no screen doors to keep in dogs and kids and keep out the bugs. There's no A/C or fan (that we could find), but the maintenance guy brought us a box fan to stick in the door. Problem solved.

It opens to the beach, so it was a short walk down to the water. The view is wonderful, obviously. It's just a peaceful, relaxing, easy place to be.

The location is central, too, to most things on the northern Oregon coast. The small town of Gearhart is just minutes away -- the Safeway is about 5 minutes a way, but there's a great little market just up the road within walking distance -- Seaside is 10 - 15 minutes away, Astoria is 20 minutes or so north, and Tillamook is about an hour south.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ltoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Location was great. Close to the ocean and sand and accessible to Seaside, Ft. Clatsop, Ft. Stevens and stores.

Very clean and kitchen was very adequate for meals with its counter space and seating for people.. Spectacular views of the ocean and nice fireplace and nicely furnished. Lots of parking and great for children. Playground area and walking distance to the sand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in unit 663, on the 3rd floor, with a spectacular view of the ocean. Our privately owned condo was very a nicely furnished, one bedroom with a fireplace, flat screen TV and pull out sofa. The kitchen had an island with plenty of counter space for preparing our meals. You could tell the owners took pride in this place, as everything seemed to be recently updated. Even the carpet looked and smelled fairly new. The balcony was nice and private, perfect for sitting outside with a bottle of wine and watching the sun set. I understand that some of the units in this building are not as updated as ours was, so its a good idea to check out the website before you book. My only complaint is that the hot tub was not in service when we wanted a nice soak - there was caution tape around it. However, we will be back next time we are in the area for some R & R.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siouxsiesoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Our arrival was greeted by the most unfriendly, rude, condescending woman I've seen in 42 years of traveling. Then, we get to the room. The room was dated, a king bed crammed in a room not designed for it, the old tv stuffed in the bedroom closet on an old dresser that was then plugged into an outlet outside the closet causing the power cord to be pinched. The night stand was a TV tray that was dirty from someone's coffee and donut from a prior stay. Extension cords (very old ones) were ran around behind a dresser and under the bed to power lights. There was another dresser crammed into the side of the room and its drawers were filthy. The bathroom was dated, rusty and moldy. The shower door opened with difficulty thanks to the dirt and grime, rust and mold. The towels were stained stringy.....awful. You couldn't determine if they had been washed. Within a short time we started itching. We don't know why but suspect mold or other airborne filth. Then we saw fleas....and that was it. We went back to the office, and no one was there to help. So we left the keys and a note. No, they haven't refunded our money or called. The place is a fire hazard with the extension cords/outdated electrical and we wouldn't stay there if it was free!

Room Tip: Just don't go there, you will regret it. There are some actually nice places on the beach that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gearhart hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
2.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
2.6 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,310 reviews
11.2 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
River Inn at Seaside
River Inn at Seaside
#3 of 27 in Seaside
925 reviews
11.5 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gearhart Ocean Inn
Gearhart Ocean Inn
#1 of 3 in Gearhart
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gearhart by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart by the Sea

Property: Gearhart by the Sea
Address: 1157 N Marion Ave, Gearhart, OR 97138-4072
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart by the Sea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Gearhart by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart By The Sea Hotel Gearhart
By The Sea Gearhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing