We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, wonderful cottage!”
Review of Gearhart Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gearhart Ocean Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our family escaped to Gearhart for a weekend birthday celebration. We found the cottages (Fitzgerald) online and were thrilled at how the reality matched the advertising--from the interior appointment, to the well kitted-out kitchen, to the beach cruiser bikes--our expectations were exceeded. Clean, well-decorated, furniture in excellent condition, little touches everywhere that make the difference, including a welcome basket for our dog. The beds and bedding are super comfortable too. Lynette the weekend host was very helpful, digging to the bottom of the fire-ban question for us (our only disappointment being NOT having a beach fire, but that was nothing to do with them) and pointing us in the right direction for a lovely bottle of wine after the local grocery store had already closed.

The cottgae/inn location is great, close to the beach, local tennis courts, and the best homemade scones anyone could hope for at Pops. We fell in love with Gearhart, and will definitely stay at the Fitzgerald cottage again. As we left I checked out the rooms at the inn in case we decide to do an extended family trip. Although they are too small for our family, if we were just a couple or family of three, they would be a great alternative.

Room Tip: Room 14 is spacious--easily accommodated our family of five with two almost adult children and a dog...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank take5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for sharing your birthday celebration with us on the Coast. As you kindly described we only advertise what you will see when you walk into our charming, well appointed rooms. Sadly, the fire ban was out of our control but glad to hear it didn't dampen your spirits and you found other wonderful things the town offers, plus the most delicious scones at Pop's. We hope to have you and your family return for many more celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for Gearhart Ocean Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 234 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Gearhart Ocean Inn 3 times over the 18 months, each time with our 35 lb dog. This is by far the best place we have ever styaed that allows pets in room, and one of the few that makes you feel quite welcome with your pet. The rooms are charming and comfortable. The whole setup fits in so well with Gearhart, which is a small, quiet and quant old style beach town. We have traveled all over Oregon and this is our favorite beach and place to stay at a beach.

I have also had two small business meetings in Gaerhart, stayed at the assigned hotel property for one and on the second went back the Gearhart Ocean Inn. All of the other conference attendees were jealous of me at teh second meeting.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ckroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for the kind comments about our charming pet friendly Inn and town. We What a treat having a quaint cozy Inn like ours in the town you have to travel for business. We look forward to continuing to impress you as your return again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We absolutely loved it. Stayed in one of the Fitzgerald Cottages with my husband and four kids, my parents stayed in the adjoining cottage that optionally opened into ours. Everything was fantastic- better than expected kitchen, bunkroom for the kids, big yard, huge living area, great water pressure in the shower, and plenty of hot water even with 8 of us using the tank! Beds were super comfortable. We came for a wedding, probably never would have booked the place otherwise, and now my whole family wants to go back to the Oregon coast for our next vacation just so we can stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

The Fitzgerald's Cottage is fantastic! We are thrilled your family of 8 had all they needed to exceed your expectations. Having the adjoining "grandparents" suite as we like to call it is perfect when it's time to put the kids to bed. We look forward to having you back for your next Oregon Coast vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I have had the privilege of traveling around the Oregon coast quite a bit, but never have we enjoyed a place more than Gearhart, and this is the place to stay! The rooms and bathrooms are charming and tastefully appointed, and it is a quiet and restful place to be. Several of our family and friends stayed here for a family wedding, and we were unanimously impressed. Tracy, the innkeeper, and all of her staff were warm, professional, and very attentive to our every need or request. There is a lovely green space for gathering by night around a fire pit, or where one can play badminton or croquet by day.

It is a short pleasant walk to the expansive and unspoiled Pacific beach, and Gearhart is a quiet but sophisticated little hamlet, away from the more tired tourist paths, but close enough to Seaside for amenities one might want.

We will always want to go back here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for the lovely compliments on our quaint Inn and charming town of Gearhart. It is quite a little gem of a place, and as you noted tucked away from busier towns that are still close by. We are pleased you enjoyed a peaceful stay while enjoying all the wonderful amenities the Inn has to offer. We welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I travelled all over Oregon for our honeymoon, and were both in agreement that Gearhart was by far our favorite destination from the whole trip. It is a beautiful and quaint coastal town that is perfect for a weekend getaway or even an extended stay. The family atmosphere and genuine people were a wonderful change of pace from the daily grind of a larger city. Gearhart is nestled between two coastal tourist towns, Astoria and Seaside, which provided plenty of exciting adventures for us, but also a quiet place to retire to at the end of the day.

The Gearhart Ocean Inn was more than we could have ever asked for. The lodging was clean, recently renovated, and a perfect size for the two of us. We are eager to reserve one of the larger lodgings for a family trip! The central location within town made grocery shopping, going to the beach, and waking up early for freshly baked pastries across the street very easy. We had an absolute blast riding the Inn's bicycles down to the beach to learn how to dig for razor clams, and then cooking them up using one of their special recipes. We were fortunate enough to have been there over the 4th of July, which was a treat on its own! The whole town rallied together to celebrate the day with a 5K Fun Run, a parade through town, and a picnic lunch for everyone! It was truly one of the most patriotic 4th of July's we have ever experienced.

I cannot begin to praise the staff of Gearhart Ocean Inn enough for making our honeymoon so special with their kindness and over-the-top service. We thoroughly enjoyed the great conversation we were able to have with the owners, and were blown away by the congratulatory card and freshly picked bouquet of flowers from their own home garden that were awaiting us inside our suite! This was just a small example of the servant hearts at Gearhart Ocean Inn, and we look forward to being lifelong guests.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

It was an absolute treat having you as our guests on your honeymoon. How fantastic that you not only got to experience what a perfect spot Gearhart is in proximity to so many wonderful things but you were lucky enough to be apart of the wonderful fourth of July celebration we do each year. Gearhart is known for it's charm and we feel our Inn is part of that. We have plenty of room for the whole family next time, and you can clam in the off season too. The recipes in our "room book" will be waiting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Cute, clean, and welcoming with very helpful and cheerful staff. We had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Tracy, who was an absolute delight!

We have and will continue to recommend the Gearhart Ocean Inn to family and friends.

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBLGearhartOregon, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We pride ourselves on our customer service and attention to detail. We hope you will share your experience with your friends and family. We look forward to having you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We first fell in love with the Gearhart Ocean Inn on our honeymoon several years ago. Recently, we made a second trip to the Oregon Coast from our home in North Carolina and stayed again at the GOI. Our affection for this small inn was rekindled. The simple, clean, cozy rooms, the warm and friendly staff, and access to the beautiful coast are all reasons why this continues to be one of our favorite places. It’s literally just a few blocks from the beach!

Gearhart is a quiet, sleepy residential beach town filled with cute vacation homes and a handful of local eateries. It provides an attractive alternative for those not interested in the more commercial, carnival-like feel of nearby Seaside. When you go, stop in at the Pacific Way Bakery for a cinnamon roll! Also make sure to check out a bike from the GOI for an evening ride around the neighborhood. Tracy and her staff are full of great ideas for hikes and activities in the area. Cannon Beach, Ecola State Park, and Astoria are all within a short drive.

Although we fantasize about living in the area, we’re hopeful that whether or not that happens we can make return trips soon and often.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
2.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.5 mi away
Gearhart by the Sea
Gearhart by the Sea
#1 of 2 in Gearhart
106 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
1,230 reviews
2.5 mi away
Coast River Inn
Coast River Inn
#6 of 27 in Seaside
297 reviews
2.1 mi away
Rivertide Suites
Rivertide Suites
#4 of 27 in Seaside
1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gearhart Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart Ocean Inn

Address: 67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range: $90 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on NBC's TODAY Show! Meticulously restored New England-style attached cottages with gas Franklin stoves, comfortable sofas, fluffy robes and wonderful beds. Choose among cozy studios, family suites with 1-2 bedrooms or a larger 2-bedroom cottage. In the heart of charming Gearhart. Steps to dining, golf, shopping,tennis and a gorgeous, quiet beach. Complimentary DVDs, beach bikes, games and spacious backyard with fire pit & BBQ. We welcome your well mannered dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gearhart Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart Ocean Hotel Gearhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing