We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fitzgerald's Cottages”
Review of Gearhart Ocean Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gearhart Ocean Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Gearhart B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camas, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fitzgerald's Cottages”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is one of the most relaxing and peaceful places to stay. We've stayed numerous times as a family and it's always a summertime destination with girlfriends. The furnishings and interiors are super clean and very comfortable.The owners and staff are attentive to detail and knowledgeable about the area. The serenity of Gearhart coupled with the close proximity to Seaside and Canon Beach make this an oasis on the Oregon Coast!

Room Tip: Cottage #14 sleeps 6. If you are traveling with more or would like an additional bathroom, reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    33
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
67
109
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Rooms are very clean. Staff is over the top helpful. Very dog friendly. Loved the garden for a picnic dinner. Good restaurant close. Beach is short walk. This is our go to place in Gearhart. Love it.

Room Tip: Oops. No pool. Don't need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We just sent the weekend having our family reunion here and just loved it. Quiet, wonderful yard with fire and picnic area. Beds very comfortable with nice fireplace in room. Full kitchen. Great service. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Inn was beautiful with great design and a lovely grarden area in the back of the Inn for a large gathering or family BBQ. The location was perfect for a walk to the beach, or a meal at the Pacific Way Cafe and Bakery, as well as a grocery store accross the street from the Inn. We would love to return!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be lovely we stayed in 8 and brought our dog, perfect weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We spent a weekend here with many friends and family in neighboring units. We were all there for a wedding. The staff was consistently friendly and competent--very interested in providing a good experience for us. The large lawn connected to the property is GREAT for a party. The hotel is also pet-friendly. We were traveling with our 14-year-old golden retriever and she can't manage stairs well. This is a great place--especially if you are traveling with an old dog. There's also a nice grocery store near-by with an excellent deli. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: The king suites are one-level. The one-bedroom suites are split-level with a nice kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
What a wonderful weekend everyone had! Friends, family and pets shared in the fun and the comfort of our Inn. We are so pleased to hear we exceeded your expectations for pet friendly accommodations and service; providing you with a lovely experience. We welcome you back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernonia, or
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

The entire Inn was taken over by our wedding party, and we were welcomed & accommodated -- pets and all! The cottage was comfortable, clean and surprisingly quiet, despite our rowdiness. the kitchen was fully stocked & sparklingly clean. The Inn is in a great location too -- it's a quick walk to the beach, and close to Seaside if you want beach town activity, but it's removed enough to still be quiet. I'm already making plans for a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethliness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
It was a pleasure hosting your wonderful wedding party and guests. What a benefit to have our beautiful courtyard to gather with your family and friends. We can't thank you enough for allowing us to be part of your special weekend. We look forward to having you back for future vacations and special events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We only had one night here, I wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are super clean and bright. Free movies from the front desk. Lynette, the innkeeper is a real sweetheart. Our room had the crisp fresh look you want. A nice green area for sitting outside or playing games. There is a cafe and coffee shop minutes away. The inn is a short walk to the beach. We didn't get to take a bike ride, on free bikes but will next time.

Room Tip: We had room 6 on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Gearhart Ocean Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
We wish you could have stayed longer too! Now that we have lured you in with all of our fabulous amenities that you mentioned (DVD library, beautiful courtyard ) and the benefit of being so close to town and the beach....you won't be able to wait long to come back. Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gearhart
0.6 mi away
Gearhart by the Sea
Gearhart by the Sea
#1 of 2 in Gearhart
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cannery Pier Hotel
Cannery Pier Hotel
#1 of 14 in Astoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
10.8 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
10.4 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gearhart Ocean Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gearhart Ocean Inn

Property: Gearhart Ocean Inn
Address: 67 N Cottage Ave., Gearhart, OR 97138
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Gearhart
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Gearhart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gearhart Ocean Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured on NBC's TODAY Show! Meticulously restored New England-style attached cottages with gas Franklin stoves, comfortable sofas, fluffy robes and wonderful beds. Choose among cozy studios, family suites with 1-2 bedrooms or a larger 2-bedroom cottage. In the heart of charming Gearhart. Steps to dining, golf, shopping,tennis and a gorgeous, quiet beach. Complimentary DVDs, beach bikes, games and spacious backyard with fire pit & BBQ. We welcome your well mannered dogs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Gearhart Ocean Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gearhart Ocean Hotel Gearhart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing