We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“almost as good as the Buena Vista” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of McMenamin's Sand Trap

McMenamin's Sand Trap
Ranked #2 of 10 Restaurants in Gearhart
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“almost as good as the Buena Vista”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stopped in for an Irish Coffee before heading home, and was pleasantly surprised as the execution that took place. The coffee was good espresso, they used real whipping cream, and it was delivered to the table while the cream was cold and floating at the top, Well done!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bagpipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    87
    41
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Troutdale, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

i enjoy grabbing a bite to eat and a drink here, great place to site a watch a game while at the coast or sit and unwind after a round of golf.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank randall r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good breakfast at a nice golf club restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed our breakfast at the Sand Trap. They are a busy restaurant but we had good service and good food at a reasonable price. It is a beautiful homey atmosphere with lots of wood and a view of the golf course.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DauneJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's McMenamin's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

As always, love the McMenamin's atmospere, but I always end up thinking their food is only so-so, and maybe overpriced

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice stop along the coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stopped by for a Saturday lunch. The food was fine, we enjoy the McMenamin's menu. While working on the Passport program, this is one of the best stops. The Oregon Coast needs more McMenamin's locations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McMenamin's Sand Trap also viewed

 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
Gearhart, Oregon Coast
 
Seaside, Oregon Coast
 

Been to McMenamin's Sand Trap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing