We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Than Three Years Ago” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Troller Restaurant & Lounge

Troller Restaurant & Lounge
Ranked #14 of 17 Restaurants in Garibaldi
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Trollers has a wonderful view of the Boats, and the sunset is amazing. Friendly staff who makes you feel very welcome. You will feel right at home.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Better Than Three Years Ago”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The all-you-can-eat fish was good after we received more fish. I would suggest that you ask them specifically to cook fresh pieces of fish particularly if you are the first customer for the lunch run.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    20
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington, United States
1 review
“'Amazing Seafood,' my foot”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

There are a couple signs outside this restaurant that say, "Amazing Seafood." Being literally in the middle of a marina, my girlfriend and I had no reason to doubt this statement. We couldn't have been more wrong.

My meal at Troller really was the worst seafood I have had in my entire life. We were both very hungry, so we each ordered the Captain's Plate. It had a sampling of cod, scallops, and shrimp. First of all, the portion size wasn't nearly what it seemed it would be. The cod was dry, rubbery, and tasteless. The scallops were rubbery and tasted of nothing but butter. The shrimp were ok, but that's really hard to screw up. To top it all off, all of the fish was served in a pool of grease. Based on this, I'd say the fish they serve is undoubtedly frozen, not fresh. That's the biggest offense of all. The building is about forty feet from the dock, and there is fresh seafood sold at several locations within two blocks. Yet somehow, this place doesn't serve fresh seafood. The second biggest insult is that our horrible meals were about $20 each.

If you are looking for good, fresh, local, reasonably priced seafood, Troller is not the place for you.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Freda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Very good food and lots of it. Out close to the ocean so nice view.
Great service and very friendly atmosphere

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacoma_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We really like this plac. Good food, off the path a little. Try the halibut sandwich!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salkum, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Think Again Before You Eat Here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I along with our 6 yr old daughter went to the Oregon Coast over the Memorial Weekend, 2012. We drove south and stopped in at Garibaldi, Oregon on the docks. There is the Troller Restaurant. Think Again before you eat there. It was just plain awful. First off the cost...$21 for what was supposed to be a captains plate of scallops, prawns, shrimp, and Halibut. It came in a little dish about 5 inches long and 4 inches wide. It had 4 scallop, 4 prawns, a bunch of little tiny shrimp and domino sized 1/8" thick pieces of what was supposed to be Halibut. I asked before I ordered if the seafood was fresh from there and was told yes, except the scallops. It was not fresh, the halibut was most likely some kind of rock fish, and there was big black hair in it. I was extremely disappointed as it had been over three years since I had coastal fresh seafood and I wasted my money on this. The bill was ridiculous and we were also over charged. The lady that was our waitress was also the manager, she knocked off $3. NOT worth your time and certainly not worth the cost to your pocket or to your stomach.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chatterbox1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Troller Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
Garibaldi, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Troller Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing