We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Garibaldi House!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Garibaldi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2011

We had another great stay at this hotel during the weekend after Thanksgiving. The hotel is decorated beautifully for the holidays. It's quite spectacular when you walk into the lobby at night. They served excellent clam chowder for happy hour for our first night and great little sliders the second night. Our son was able to burn off some energy in the pool, as always.

As for the local area, we tried something new and ventured up 101 a bit to the town of Wheeler. We found a huge antique store that kept us occupied for over an hour. We lucked out with the weather and enjoyed 60 degree days the whole weekend, which made it easy to walk on the beach, stroll around Rockaway, and watch the fishing from the Garibaldi pier. I think the Oregon coast during winter is the best kept secret - prices are low, the weather is good, and it's no too crowded. We'll be heading back again after the holidays.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mckenzie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 735 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

The service and amenities in the form of food were amazing. We should have checked in before going to dinner-we would have not needed to go to dinner. The hotel has homemade clam chowder, sausage, cheese, fresh cold cucumber water, chocolates, and yummy taffy. Popcorn was available 24 hours. The room was clean. The bathroom sink was actually in the room so you lost your privacy when brushing your teeth or washing your face. The rooms had free wifi. Four people in a room is a little snug but doable. The hotel has a nice elevator with a view of the lobby. The breakfast was good-2 kinds of eggs-plain and with bacon, Puerto rican potatoes, cereal, make your own waffles, juice. The coffee was mediocre-not for the coffee snobs. Great location if wine tasting in the area. Restaurants not far away in Tillamook. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank magicraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend (arriving late Friday night and leaving Monday morning). The staff was always very friendly. When having breakfast I was asked if there was anything else they could get for me a couple of different times. The breakfast itself was wonderful and they had it out from 5-10 am, early enough for those full days and late enough for days we wanted to sleep in. There was popcorn and salami and cheese platter for the evening snacks and coffee, juice, and some salt water taffy out all the time. Our only problem with the shower temperature and we didn't bring it up to them until we were leaving so they didn't have a chance to fix it while we were there (we were just too busy). I'm willing to bet that maintenance was there asap after we left to figure out the problem.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SweetEmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights on a package deal. While the area where the hotel is located is not exactly scenic, the service at the hotel was beyond good. Each member of the team of employees went above and beyond to make one feel welcomed. The snacks, which were more like mini meals, were a special treat as was the breakfast each morning. There was a small but pleasant indoor spa and pool as well as a pleasant lobby. The rooms are pretty typical hotel rooms but clean and comfortable. Beds were comfortable but they could do better with their pillows. There is no view to speak of and we found it necessary to drive to find a beach area for walking. Overall, it was a pleasant stay but don't count on it being a place to watch the winter storms or have a view of the ocean.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephEugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Clean and nicely decorated room. Chocolates too! Excellent and full breakfast that I could eat. Snacks in the early evening that was my meal! Friendly staff! The best place to stay! Thank you so much! We're already shared with relatives in Beaverton about your wonderful facility!
Christina Corelli

Room Tip: Any room is a great room!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed two nights, having purchased a Living Social package. The room itself was simple, standard, and comfortable -- but what really made the experience was the friendliness of the staff and the attention to detail. Our package included a rose and chocolates, which was a lovely personal touch to see in the room, first thing, when we arrived. Snacks are available in the lobby, and the hot breakfast buffet was a wonderful option to have. Both mornings, the chef checked in with us to see if we needed anything else. It's not a standard continental breakfast -- loved the mango salsa! The front desk staff was helpful and accomodating with dinner suggestions, the pool and jacuzzi area was clean and pleasant, and a fire going in the lobby fireplace really sets a wonderful tone. And it's such a small thing, but wireless is always appreciated!

The drive to Cannon Beach from here is lovely -- because Garibaldi isn't as busy, we enjoyed the calm and the quiet and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I purchased a Living Social deal for this hotel. It was advertized as romance package for 1/2 price for 2 nights at $175. Thus I expected a hotel that cost $350 for 2 nights. After our stay I checked and it was $90/night, so that was misleading. I also expected something "romanitc" since it was marketed as a "romance package". They put us in a standard room that overlooked the outdoor smoking section and firehouse. There were kids in the room above us jumping on the bed all evening until I asked the front desk to contact them. The acoustics in the pool made it horribly loud with the kids and the hot tub was in the same room, so not relaxing. The sauna was a nice addition but it was tiny.
The scenic photos on their website are not visible from the hotel. The marina that we could walk to was a fishing base so not the picturesque marina that one strolls through.
I will say the breakfast was amazing. And the evening snacks were a nice addition. But the marketing on the Living Social deal was very misleading. I would never have spent $175 for 2 nights had I known what I was getting. I wouldn't even have spent the $89 for 1 night, to get away to the coast.

Room Tip: If you like to open your window, be sure to request a room far from the smoking area. They also coo...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank noochpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garibaldihouse, Owner at Garibaldi House Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

I am sorry that this guest was not fully satisfied. Our goal is to do everything we can to satisfy the needs and wants of every guest, and we will continue to do everything in our power to work toward that goal. The overwhelming positive reviews indicate that we achieve our objective most of the time for thousands of guests each year.

There are, however, some errors in this review that need to be corrected.

This guest purchased a living social package that ran earlier this year. The voucher purchased is good for one year, subject to limited black out dates clearly identified. The price is based on rates applicable during the peak season, but it is up to the guest when they would like to come.

Contrary to the information contained in the review, the lowest rate (winter season) for the two-queen room type contained in the package is $99 on weekdays and $109 on weekends. In addition, the romance package including flowers, chocolate, Oregon bottled rain, a discount coupon for the Blue Heron French Cheese company and a nice take home assortment of Rusk Sensories Collection salon products including lotion, soaps and hair care products is a popular special occasion option with our regular guests at $60. The lowest regular winter rate for a two night mid week stay with the romance package is $258. The highest regular summer weekend rate for this package is $358.

At $175, this package is a great value any time, but again, it is up to the guest to determine when to use it. Fall and winter are my personal favorite seasons at the coast, so I have not been surprised to see many who purchase the package use it in the fall and winter. That would be my personal choice.

Other inaccuracies in the review are unimportant. If you read a cross section of reviews you will get a more accurate picture of what to expect at The Garibaldi House. Each guest views the experience from their own perspective and based on their own perception. Sometimes people simply find what they want to find, whatever that may be.

As to the inference that their stay was not romantic, well, there is only so much we can do. For the romance package we provide fresh flowers, chocolate, wonderfully fragrant soaps and lotion, luxurious European style linens and one of the best quality beds in the hospitality industry. Beyond that point we really can’t get involved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garibaldi
6.6 mi away
The Ashley Inn of Tillamook
6.8 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
Econo Lodge Garibaldi
#3 of 3 in Garibaldi
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,118 reviews
4.9 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborview Inn & RV Park
Harborview Inn & RV Park
#1 of 3 in Garibaldi
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garibaldi House Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garibaldi House Inn & Suites

Address: 502 Garibaldi Ave, Garibaldi, OR 97118-1513
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Garibaldi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Garibaldi
Price Range: $132 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garibaldi House Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from the Pacific Ocean--and miles and miles of magnificent coastal beaches--the Garibaldi House 50-room hotel is perfect for family vacations and weekend getaways.At the Garibaldi House, we do more than rent rooms--we want our guests to enjoy a true Oregon Coast-style hospitality experience. That means making sure you enjoy a comfortable stay with the conveniences of a modern hotel, but with the friendly atmosphere of a small bed and breakfast.And in Garibaldi, centrally located at the north end of Tillamook bay near the mouth, the air is as fresh as the ocean and forests that surround it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Garibaldi House Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garibaldi House Hotel Garibaldi
Garibaldi House Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn Garibaldi
Garibaldi Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing