We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Peek into Western Living”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fossil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Fossil B&B and Inns
Blue River, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Peek into Western Living”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This is our 3rd visit to Wilson Ranch. We've been taking our grandchildren during Spring Break and I can't say enough good things about the experience. We all get a little riding in, but the ranch offers more than that. The ranch house is charming, the bedding is comfy, the breakfasts are great, and Phil and Nancy Wilson are full of entertaining ranch stories. We've herded cattle, fed new born calves, and watched an owl's nest--what a great time!

Room Tip: The hideout is great for a family--two rooms. One has 2 twins and the other a king size bed, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artsy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
38
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Summer 2010: Spending time with my daughter is always priceless. Spending a couple days at Wilson Ranch with my daughter was not only priceless but an experience we both will forever ever cherish. Leaving the big city lights for vibrant star filled nights, leaving traffic for awesome horses, having the best home cooked meals, enjoying hospitality second to done ( THANK YOU PHIL AND NANCY ), seeing beautiful country that goes forever, moving cattle on awesome horses...............Oh, being saddle sore feels so good!!!! Can not wait to return. Thank you Wilson Ranch. Barry & Nicole Hasson, Lake Oswego, Oregon

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We had a marvelous week here and enjoyed every minute. Phil and Nancy were great hosts and the breakfasts were the best we had in our stay in the US. The place was spotless with comfortable beds and beautiful linen. My sister was able to try her hand at 'Western' riding and went for fabulous rides in the mountains. Nancy helped us find places to explore and gave us printed maps with local routes - nothing was too much trouble. They made us feel so at home which is surely a great gift.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Torrs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Just got back from 4 nights at the Ranch. Phil and Nancy are wonderful hosts and very entertaining. Stayed in the Homestead Room with private bath just outside the room. Yes things are rustic but you are on a working ranch! Met some wonderful new friends and thoroughly enjoyed are stay. I have never liked riding but went on two rides and I must say am a convert now! Horses are working horses and were easy to ride and the guides did a great job. And the scenery was beautiful. What more could you ask!

Make sure to go to Blue Basin and the Clarno unit of the Painted Hills. Eat at Rj's, very good for a very small town. And make sure to hunt for fossils behind the high school, got quite a few. Save room for the yummy breakfasts.

Can't wait to return. Thank for Phil and Nancy and Karen and Tom and Brian.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wnkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molalla, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

The ranch accommodations are a little more rustic than I am used to, but clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the peace and quiet, an incredibly dark sky to watch a meteor shower and the horse back riding. Breakfast was terrific every morning and we enjoyed talking with the Wilson's. You can bring your own food for lunches and dinner but amenities for cooking are limited. Plenty of dinner fare available in town. Warning- bathrooms are shared and not necessarily close to your room. Our family had two of the rooms upstairs which was fine except when I needed to use the facilities in the middle of the night which are downstairs. Our family had a great time at the ranch as well as exploring the area - we would definitely go again.

Room Tip: If you have kids with you I suggest the "family room" downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

The ranch is in a great location, just outside of fossil. You get a taste of what it's like to live on a ranch. The owners and their family are so kind, full of intriguing stories and a testament to what true ranchers are all about. Hard working, good people. We did a horse ride that was like nothing else. Not a nose to butt trail ride but a real 'ride' on genuine cattle working horses. Such a treat. It was very hot when we were there and we had no A/C in our room - we slept with the window open and got to hear the most amazing thunder & lightening storm. All part of the experience! As many have already mentioned, the farmhouse breakfast with Phil & Nancy is the best.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4willtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Wilson's in the beginning of August with our two boys, 12 & 6. Everything was better than expected including the breakfast which was made by the Wilson's themselves. If you do go the horseback riding is a must. By far the best guided horseback riding in the state. It puts Black Butte Ranch to shame! Thanks for the great hospitality. We will be back!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15809 Butte Creek Ln, PO Box 274, Fossil, OR 97830-8339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Fossil
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fossil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilson Ranches is a 9,000 acre cattle and hay ranch three miles West of Fossil, Oregon. The Retreat has six ranch style guest rooms, two common baths, two private baths, and a spacious living and dining room. Enjoy horseback riding in a geologically and historically rich area of Wheeler County. Wheeler County is home of the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument and has the richest find of prehistoric fossils in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast Fossil, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing