We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST RANCH EXPERIENCE EVER”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fossil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Fossil B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST RANCH EXPERIENCE EVER”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Wilson's in the beginning of August with our two boys, 12 & 6. Everything was better than expected including the breakfast which was made by the Wilson's themselves. If you do go the horseback riding is a must. By far the best guided horseback riding in the state. It puts Black Butte Ranch to shame! Thanks for the great hospitality. We will be back!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We spent only one night in this great B&B, and we wish we could spend one more ! We had the Homestead room, which is very spacious. We are a family of 4, each kid had his own bed, and the room was very clean. There is a "living room" in the room itself, it's just ideal. We also had our own private bathroom, what we appreciated.

The breakfast is just GREAT ! Delicious eggs prepared in a big pan by Phil, excellent blueberry muffins prepared by Nancy, and much more ! A very pleasant moment with friendly hosts and guests.

We also had a 2 hours horseback ride, just the four of us and the guide, after breakfast. We loved it, and the kids too ! Adorable and quiet horses, perfect for first-time riders.
There is not much to do in Fossil,but there are at least 2 restaurants, the one we tried was good, though not perfect.

We definitely recommend this place. We made the reservation on the internet from Switzerland, and everything worked just perfect !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissChipmunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The atmosphere is nice and laid back, the property is beautiful, the bed is comfortable. The room is very clean. There are some inconveniences like having to go downstairs to use the bathroom, and the kitchen is made to be so Off Limits to guests that I was kind of afraid to even pass through it. There is plenty of coffee in the morning, breakfast is good - not gourmet, but tasty (especially the biscuits) and filling. I maintain, however, that 8:00AM is too early for breakfast during vacation. Overall I'd recommend it, especially since your options are limited in that area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank NICOLEandJACOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I took my niece to the wilson ranch to ride horses. Everyone there fulfilled her dreams, it was a week-end we will never forget. Phil, Nancy and their family made us fill all cozy and welcome. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulac123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Wheat fields as far as the eye can see, skies as big as the universe and a peace and quiet found few places in today's modern world all make the Wilson Ranches Bed & Breakfast a real treat. Add to this no cell phone coverage (at least with AT&T) and you have the perfect romantic getaway. Perhaps the best feature of this remarkable B&B is the people you meet there. A map of the world hangs on the wall with push pins indicating visitors' origin. For 15 years, people have been coming from all over the globe -- Australia, Russia, Argentina, China -- they have come from almost every country. Most, of course, are on their way to visit the Fossil Beds in John Day, but if you never got past the ranch, you could at least say that you had a western experience. The rooms aren't plush or luxurious. They are clean and serviceable. Shared bathrooms sometimes requires a little bit of patience. But it is all worth it. Breathe in clean, fresh, crisp air. Watch the night fill with a gazillion stars. Wake up to birds singing and cattle lowing. It doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Candee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

My travel companions and I elected not to stay at some lodgings in the town of Fossil. A kind local citizen happened to notice our distress and she offered her assistance. She even called the ranch for us. It is a beautiful, working cattle ranch. The rooms are small, but the furnishings are comfortable and the place was immaculate. There was good reading matter and a homey living area. It was great to wake up to the birds singing in the meadows. The Wilsons put out a great breakfast with good conversation. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camperkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

I'm a world traveler who has been to plenty of five-star places whose names you'd recognize. I'm my book, the Wilson place is one of the very best anywhere. True, it's not high luxury: It's a 1910 Sears catalog house, well-kept and clean as a whistle. But it's not a "boarding house," as one reviewer put it. Think of it as your very favorite relative's place out in the country. It really, really hits the spot for me.

What makes it so great? The right location, the real ranch feel, the silence the stars,
and above all the folks who run it. Been here three times now, and we'll be back again and again. The one comment about Nancy Wilson having "lied," well, all I can say is that it just can't be true. If they do this just as a business, they hide it well. The Wilsons are the sort of folks who make you smile to know 'em.

Wheeler County, Oregon's scenery is unique and fantastic. If you go there, try to book two or three nights. Better than any blood pressure pills I've ever heard of. And breakfast is great. I realize this review is so effusive that people might wonder if I've got an extra incentive of some sort, but I don't. If I didn't like it, I'd say so.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ITravelandEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast
Address: 15809 Butte Creek Ln, PO Box 274, Fossil, OR 97830-8339
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Fossil
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fossil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilson Ranches is a 9,000 acre cattle and hay ranch three miles West of Fossil, Oregon. The Retreat has six ranch style guest rooms, two common baths, two private baths, and a spacious living and dining room. Enjoy horseback riding in a geologically and historically rich area of Wheeler County. Wheeler County is home of the John Day Fossil Beds National Monument and has the richest find of prehistoric fossils in the world. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilson Ranches Retreat Bed & Breakfast Fossil, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing