We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Winter Getaway!”
Review of Wilson's Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Klamath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilson's Cottages
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Close to the entrance of Crater Lake N.P. in a quiet, set-back-from-the-road setting these cabins are perfect for a winter time stay. There's a small kitchen, a central old fashioned oil heater, comfortable beds and a bathroom with hot water in the shower/tub combo. The place was very clean, though as other reviewers had mentioned, there's dust on the floor that doesn't seem to go away. It's not a five star hotel and not brand new either, and you can't expect that at this price for the location, but it's a very comfortable alternative that offers a unique, very quiet experience. The staff is very helpful, offered a sled to our toddler and told us about the creek behind the cabins, showed us how the stove and heater worked, and was available for questions throughout our stay.

A couple things to consider: if you have a toddler or younger child - the central heater gets hot, and it's in the middle of the living room. You'll need to be very careful! Otherwise this is a PERFECT spot for a family vacation with little kids, there's a table with chairs for four and plenty of space to prepare meals and play. There's also a couch (though quite old and run down) that can serve as an extra bed for little ones, my 3 year old loved having her own 'bed'.

If you're picky about what you cook in, bring your own pans. There's plenty available at the office for you to choose from, but the Teflon pans have lost most of their coating and are quite scratched up.

All in all this is a wonderful place to stay and I'm planning to be back again next year. Crater Lake in winter is a beautiful, secluded destination, the main road stays open and you can snowshoe or cross country ski along the rim for amazing views (snowshoes are for rent at the park).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeborahPeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Wilson's Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 26 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Great place to stay when visiting Crater Lake and area. The owners/hosts are super friendly and helpful, the cabins are very clean and neat, and the interiors have been well taken care of to retain the origianl 30's detail and feel. Very comfy bed & Annie Creek running nearby is wonderful background music. Super quiet as well. The rates are great to. And horseshoes!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great place to stay when visiting Crater Lake or just to relax for a couple of days. There is no plasma tv, internet, or Jacuzzi, but the place is special! The property is still somewhere in the sixties, but you will be amazed how well it is maintained and how much style it has. The first thing you notice is the huge camera collection in the lobby and Adrian, the super helpful funky host. Amazing experience and definitely a place to revisit!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BCMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The room was clean and quaint. It was very different as we have always stayed in hotels. It was a fantastic change from the hustle and bustle of our regular routine. 10 min from Crater Lake. We spent family time hiking to the little creek, playing UNO and telling ghost stories. Lit the heater each morning and really connected. It was a treat!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Momof3boysinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wilson's Cottages is the perfect way to spend a family vacation away from the chaos of city life. The cottages are modest but very clean, pine soap and clean towels were the first things I noticed. Be forewarned that the geographical area is comprised of volcanic ash so if you track it into your cottage it will be because of you! There is no TV or WiFi because the setting is in the middle of the woods. You will not miss these those since the peace and tranquility make up for all the technology. The staff was very helpful and friendly, giving us a brief history of the property while checking us in. All in all it was a very fun experience, one we will be enjoying again in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank May D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The cottages are about 7 miles northwest of Ft. Klamath, OR. They were built in the 30's and the owner has retained as much as that old style as possible. If you want the luxury and all the conveniences of a modern motel, don't stay. If you like the older look and feel and the nostalgia and quaintness that goes with it, give it a try. The beds were comfortable. Some mentioned the lack of hot water, but I didn't have that problem and I like hot showers. I did need to let it run for 3 minutes or so for it to get hot and use almost all hot water but it was plenty hot for me. Also, the "stove" was closer to a Coleman two burner propane stove than a conventional home stove, so be aware that you probably won't be cooking a fancy gourmet meal from scratch. I brought my own pre-cooked, homemade meals and it worked fine, although I did cook breakfast without a problem. They have grill outside the cabin, also. The refrigerator was the small kind seen in a typical motel or dorm room. They supply pots and pans, silverware, plates, etc--you pick these things up at the office and bring them back to your room in a crate! Quirky, but it fits in with the rest of the place. Also, the place is incredibly quiet...almost deafeningly so--so if you want quiet, this is definitely the right place for you to spend a few days. The place was typically clean, although the bathroom floor could have used a washing, although it didn't appear to--I dropped some sunscreen on the floor and wiped it up and the kleenex I used to wipe it with was dirty. I would definitely stay again. I liked it. They only take cash or checks...no credit cards.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

If you've read bad reviews of Wilson's Cottages, then they are simply from folks who somehow expected a hotel experience just outside of a secluded national park. If you are looking for a couple of cozy notches above a camping experience that includes a bed, a kitchen, and a shower, then this is your place.
The cottages were hand-built with lumber from the property by the Wilson brothers in 1937. I would call the cabins modest - not rustic. My cabin had a separate bedroom with a double bed, vanity, and closet. Outside the bedroom was a kitchen with a small gas range, microwave, and sink. (Any kitchen equipment you'll need is provided to you at the front desk). There was a kitchen table and even a couch to enjoy some conversation with your cook. The bathroom has it all - a shower/tub, sink, and toilet (many have reviewed that there is no hot water, however, you just have to let the water run for a bit - remember, this IS a camp). So, you see, you've got all your basics. Although there is a weak wifi connection, there is no tv, so get ready for a relaxing evening bike ride by the cow pastures, or snuggle with your book by the oil heater (THAT was my favorite feature). If you know what to expect, you'll find this place charming, cozy, and a step back to the past.
The front office was friendly and helpful and I will most definitely go back when there is too much snow on the ground to camp in the park. **TIP** You have to pay by check, so make sure to bring one!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsirwin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Klamath
19.8 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
941 reviews
6.5 mi away
Melitas Motel & Cafe
Melitas Motel & Cafe
#1 of 1 in Chiloquin
16 reviews
6.6 mi away
Crater Lake Inn & Retreat
Crater Lake Inn & Retreat
#1 of 2 in Chiloquin
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilson's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson's Cottages

Address: Route 62, PO Box 488, Fort Klamath, OR 97626
Location: United States > Oregon > Fort Klamath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fort Klamath
Price Range: $70 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing