We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay close to Crater Lake!”
Review of Crater Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Klamath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crater Lake Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed here this past summer while visiting Crater Lake National Park. We stayed in one of the cabins. We had two separate bedrooms with a queen-sized bed in each. Each room had its own bathroom with a shower. And we had a small kitchen as well. It was great having separate rooms, and it was wonderful having the kitchen and being able to cook. Everything was clean and well-kept, and you can't beat the location as it was only about twenty minutes from the park entrance/exit. On a side note that has nothing to do with the lodging--if you visit Crater Lake in June, be sure to take lots of mosquito repellent!

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 135 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2009

We stayed here two nights when we visited Crater Lake. It is 15 minutes from the Southern Crater Lake sign and 40 minutes from the rim. We had cabin #2, which had two beds, a private bath, and a kitchen. The kitchen had our favorite appliance from the trip; what we dubbed the stoverator. It was a unit that had a stove range on top and a refrigerator below. The TV didn't get any channels in, but you could borrow movies from the front desk for free. We didn't see any AC units, but in September, they were not needed. There was heat. We basically needed a place to lay our heads at the end of long days up in the national park and this fit the bill

Crater Lake Resort is a nicely run mom and pop style place where the sheets were clean and the staff was friendly. Not everything matched like a hotel chain, but there are not many hotels in the area. If matching linens and furniture are needed for a good experience, you may need to stay at the Crater Lake Lodge. The only complaints I had were the well water (had sulfur in it) and the voracious mosquitoes we had to dodge from our car to the cabin.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NPS_Tumbleweeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I did not know what to make of this place but I found it quit nice. I will definitley try to return in the future and see more of the oregon area the hotel is friendly with the manager welcoming me to the stay. only problem being the lake of a restaurant. but right price though we got an unexpected discount upon arrival.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dakiher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

This was about the best RV park I have ever been to. While normally traveling in a RV, this trip we stayed in cabins and this resort did not disappoint. We stayed in cabin #10 which was very clean and comfortable. WIndow looked out over the creek. Fantastic view! We were surprised when checking out a canoe, no charge! A nice hiking trail was at the rear of the property. The grounds were very well kept up, nice and green. Private deck with chairs, table and gas BBQ were attached to our unit.

Free movies were available in the office for entertainment. No TV reception at all now (digital conversion)

Buy your food in Klamath Falls. Nearby towns are minimal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amuseumman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed in a one bedroom cabin. We had advance reservations so they knew we were coming. The cabin may have been closed all winter so that would explain the dead bugs on a window sill. The cabin was overall clean enough, but the bedspreads and curtains look tired. The window treatments are miniblinds that let in alot of light (and may not be very private). The towels were quite scratchy. The grounds are pretty, a creek runs through part of the property which means the mosquitoes are plentiful. You can't sit outside without using bug spray. We sat inside the recreation room one evening, but some holes in the screens let in too many bugs so we tried to close the windows - but there are no fans to mitigate the stuffiness. This would be a great place if some details were attended to such as: newer bedspreads, soft towels, window coverings that are room darkening and mechanical ventilation in the recreating room (or good window screens).

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coloradomom5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Clean, well manicured park-like setting. Well attended by the owners, who are very nice people. We stayed in cabin 3 and were surprised at the size of the room for the 80 dollar price tag. A very good bargain. The cabins are very close together, and the folks in cabin 4 were a varying size party of between 8 - 12 people with 3 dogs. To house the extra people, they pitched a tent in front of the cabins. Very loud, always sittng out in front of the cabins, so no privacy, although very nice people. So not really complaining, just warning you that in a family park you may get a lot of noise (or not.) You take your chances with this type of setting, although if I were the owners, I would not put a large size group like that in the middle of the cabins that sleep between 2 - 4 people. There is a large lawn with a volleyball net. A game room. Plenty of places to picnic on the grounds. I would definately go back, however I would enquire about the size parties rented next to me first. We canoed the Wood River into Agency Lake. A very lovely paddle past blooming lily pads and beautiful song birds. We put the canoe in at Petric Park, about two or so miles from Crater Lake Resort. After paddling, we drove up to Crater Lake. Crater Lake was choke full of tourists. Not our cup of tea exactly, so we didn't stay up there long. All in all, a very cherished weekend, and having the resort as our base was a very good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

If you are looking for a reasonably priced basic cabin in a pretty setting, this is the place. Our cabin was small and minimally equipped (don't expect to do any gourmet cooking) but was perfect for our needs since we were only there for breakfast and sleeping. The rest of the time was spent in the National Park. The owners are helpful and friendly and the on-premises store is well-stocked.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mimic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crtrlkrst, owner at Crater Lake Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2008

Thanks for letting me know about the kitchen utensils. I have upgraded and added new items to the kitchens to make them more user friendly.

Babe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fort Klamath
17.7 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
953 reviews
8.5 mi away
Melitas Motel & Cafe
Melitas Motel & Cafe
#1 of 1 in Chiloquin
17 reviews
8.5 mi away
Crater Lake Inn & Retreat
Crater Lake Inn & Retreat
#1 of 2 in Chiloquin
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Rocky Point Resort
Rocky Point Resort
#3 of 6 in Klamath Falls
40 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Crater Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crater Lake Resort

Address: PO Box 457, Fort Klamath, OR 97626-0457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Fort Klamath
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Fort Klamath
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We also have 20 camping sites. We have added in room TV with local and basic cable options. Enhanced our WiFi service and expanded our fresh food and local gifts selection in our resort store. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crater Lake Hotel Fort Klamath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing