We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only missing an elevator.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western University Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Forest Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Friendly service and accommodations. Price is high compared to other hotels in area. The only reason this hotel would be better is if it had an elevator. We stayed on the second floor and our luggage was heavy. Fine to stay if on the first floor with luggage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank LosSpursFan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Best Western University Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 387 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

To Whom It May Concern,
First, I want to take a moment to applaud Jenifer, the front desk here @ the Forest Grove Best Western motel. This is my/our 3rd or 4th stay here in the last 3-4 months (May-July 2013). 3 of those times she has been the night desk clerk and went out of her way to provide excellent service in helping us get a room when the motel was fully booked by keeping us posted on cancellations and she also helped us set up my Intel discount which resulted in subsequent stays. She has a fantastic demeanor, is quite knowledgeable and just makes us feel welcome. I apologize for not having done feedback sooner, but I usually had our 2, 5 & 7 yr old with us, got busy and forgot. So multiply this response by 3 to get the feeling of our appreciation for her. In all honesty, the staff in general is ok - though a few are not nearly as amiable, she just really stands out. If this sounds inflated, understand that part of my professional background included 4 yrs as a quality manager. I understand what customer service means and the importance of recognizing it when it is exceptionally demonstrated. So, please take a moment to recognizer her as I and my wife are doing now.

On a separate note, this motel really needs an elevator. I am partially handicapped and use a cane. On several of the trips, we booked at the last minute and arrived late. As such, we got the only available room(s) which were always on the 2nd floor. That would have been fine except for the stairs. It would really reflect highly in the ADA community who visit here if there was handicap access to the 2nd floor. Otherwise, the rooms were all in great condition, well maintained, quiet, in excellent repair and intelligently laid out. The only reason I rated this property as 4 stars out of 5 was due to the lack of 2nd floor handicap access.

Best Regards,
Danny & Shelley Cowperthwait

Room Tip: If you are handicapped, be sure to request a room on the 1st floor. There is no handicap access to...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shalini P, General Manager at Best Western University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Dear Daniel,

Thank you for taking out time and letting us know how we are doing at property.
Jasmin our night auditor is indeed a jewel and thank you for recognizing it.

Sorry , we do not have elevator in our property but we do have special type of rooms which are downstairs, so please request that with front desk and they will be happy to assist you with the request.

Will see you next time during your visit.

Best,
Shalini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful room, great housekeeping staff, loved the coffee. Front desk staff did a great job, both at arrival and departure. Room furnishings looked brand new, and the room was very clean. The bed was so comfortable that I slept an hour late. Location is right on Highway 8, very visible, easy access.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff, especially Gavin, was courteous and helpful. The wireless internet worked flawlessly and the pool is open 24 hours. We will stay here again on our next visit to Forest Grove.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great clean rooms, fab comfortable bedding and rooms with plenty of space. Heart warming breakfast. Refrigerator with plenty of cooling for our sodas, wine, and beer. Thanks to the friendly staff a very pleasant stay. Mel & Cheryll

Room Tip: Ground floor..no elevator
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon K, General Manager at Best Western University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Mel & Cheryll,

Thank you so much for staying with us! It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay so well. We do look forward to having you come back and stay with us again in the future. I will pass your comments on to the staff as they will be pleased as I am to hear about your stay.

-Brandon Kraft
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is clean with a friendly staff. The beds are nice with lots pillows. Breakfast was very good and the breakfast room was clean. My only complaint is the hotel does not have a elevator. Which means you have to lug you luggage up the stairs after a long day. Would stay again but only on the first floor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerNBarstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon K, General Manager at Best Western University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear GingerNBarstow,

Thank you for choosing the Best Western in Forest Grove for your stay! We appreciate your feedback. I do apologize that we don't have an elevator. We realize this is a struggle for many of our guests, however we are always willing and ready to assist you with your luggage up the stairs when we see you need help or upon request.

I will pass on your review to the staff and let them know about your experience. I am happy to hear that it was a pleasant one and we look forward to having you come and visit again soon!


-Brandon Kraft
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

****** Important to note: there is NO ELEVATOR at this property. If you have anyone in your party with mobility issues, or you are traveling with a ton of stuff to get to the room, call and make sure they guarantee a you a room on the bottom floor. ******** We watched a very elderly woman with clear mobility issues trying to get down the stairs with her family. I felt horrible for her, as it was clearly very difficult, and she seemed embarrassed to be holding up traffic, although I don't think anyone minded at all. Strangely, they do have luggage carts. We talked to at least two other parties who had loaded the luggage cart up, only to find there is no elevator. Kind of odd they don't tell you when they put you on the second floor, especially when they see you grab the luggage cart.

The bed was heavenly, and unlike the previous reviewer, I actually really liked the new, overstuffed pillows, so that's probably a matter of personal preference. (Although at home I use two pillows, and here I just needed the one, so they are quite fluffy.)

We stayed in a two queen suite, and I'm glad we did. With three adults and a teenager, it was really nice to have the extra space. The suite does have a door between the living room area and the bedroom, and the bathroom opens to the living area instead of the bathroom. This was handy when some members of our party were still sleeping in the morning. There is a TV in both the living and bed rooms, and a kitchenette w/fridge, microwave & sink in the living room. There was enough seating in the living room for four, although three of us were a bit cozy on the couch. We could have pulled the desk chair over if we needed an additional seat.

When you enter the room, you enter the living room, which then connects to the bedroom, which is where the window is. The consequence is that you don't get any natural light in the living room area. Not a big deal at all, but it did feel a little weird in the middle of the day. The back of the hotel, where the window was, looks out over a mobile home park, and our window was startlingly close to someone's back yard, but the room was still quiet.

The breakfast is pretty standard for this kind of property. The eggs were pretty bad (significantly worse than usual), but they do have waffles, as well as fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast, bagels and pastries. They had biscuits and gravy, but no one tried them, so I can't comment on their quality.

We went to the pool late in the evening. According to their website, the pool is open 24 hours, but after we'd been there a while, we noticed a sign saying it closed at 10:00 PM. Considering the pool is visible from the front desk, the website must be correct, as we were there until after 11:00 PM and they didn't seem to mind. We couldn't get the jets in the hot tub to work.

Parking was pretty tight, but according to the sign on the door, they were completely full. (Hopefully this is the reason they didn't move the elderly woman to a floor on the first floor!)

The area isn't touristy, but if you're staying there, you are probably there for an event, like we were. There was coffee, tea and cocoa available in the lobby most of the time. All in all, it's a pretty standard Best Western. I'd stay again if we had reason to be in the area.

Room Tip: There is NO ELEVATOR. Consider your party's needs before booking, and if necessary, call to book...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WA147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon K, General Manager at Best Western University Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear WA147,

Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western University Inn & Suites in Forest Grove. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, sans the lack of an elevator. We do our best to accommodate all of our guests to the best that we can and do try to inform our guests concerning the lack of an elevator.

I am glad to hear that you found the rooms spacious and adequately suited for your needs. We have addressed the breakfast concerns and other items that you mentioned to improve our overall guest experience that we offer.

Thank you for your feedback and I will most definitely share your comments with the staff. We look forward to having you stay with us again!


-Brandon Kraft
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Grove
0.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
McMenamins Grand Lodge
McMenamins Grand Lodge
#2 of 4 in Forest Grove
242 reviews
6.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Hillsboro, Oregon
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland / Hillsboro-Evergreen Park
7.5 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Hillsboro/Brookwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western University Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western University Inn & Suites

Address: 3933 Pacific Avenue, Forest Grove, OR 97116-2225 (Formerly BEST WESTERN University Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Forest Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Forest Grove
Price Range: $114 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western University Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Forest Grove hotel 100% smoke-free and located in the heart of Oregon's wine country and centrally located in the city of Forest Grove. The Best Western University Inn & Suites is conveniently located several minutes from Pacific University College. Hotel guests will find the college presents popular theatrical and musical performances as well as a park for community events such as Concours d'Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Best Western, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western University Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Forest Grove
Forest Grove Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing