We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McMenamins Grand Lodge
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forest Grove
creswell
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had a great time!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to the Grand Lodge and say we were pleased as usual with this McMenimins establishment. I love walking the halls and reading the history of the building. The food and drinks were great and loved ending the day in the soaking pool.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4rmefhabitat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rich j, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! Our soaking pools are one of my favorite things about McMenamins, we are glad you had a good time. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    96
    42
    13
    18
See reviews for
43
104
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We’ve been coming here for years, perhaps 8 times since it opened in 2000.What delights me the most is how much the landscape plantings keep changing the character. It has become more private, more like an enclave, and rich with all sorts of vegetation. It’s like staying in the middle of a city park where you can enjoy bar beverages, hang out with friends and family (sans distractions like TV), and relax. The spaces all invite one to find your own way to do this, whether Frisbee golf, fire pit, standing in the lobby in your white bathroom on the way to the pool, or reading a book in one of the many fireplace “dens”.
It’s not a cookie cutter Holiday Inn-type motel. That is why we keep coming back, because it IS so unique. I’d echo the comments made about great service by staff. It’s was the best I’ve seen, yet. Lovely time.
PS My wife is disabled and we appreciate the numerous H/C parking spaces well located by the entry points.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantGustafson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rich j, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are constantly upgrading and changing around our greenery here at The Grand Lodge, and are pleased to hear you noticed! Our most recent addition were some fig trees which I am looking forward to see fill out and add to the lawn. Thanks again for being great customers and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I just stayed at the Grand Lodge Hotel in Forest Grove for a saturday night. The property was well kept and each bar was unique. The service by both hotel and restaurant staff was very good. My only real complaint is the hotel room itself. There is no air conditioning, no tv and no toilet/shower in the room. The bathroom is down the hallway and there is only 1 shower per hallway. This made it difficult to get ready in time because of the wait. Also, the bathroom itself wasn't all that clean. Overall, I would come back for the restaurants and scenery but I probably wouldn't stay at the hotel again.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGLawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, General Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. I will share your comments with the management team at Grand Lodge and we will strive to improve. I am very happy to hear that the staff was friendly and that you enjoyed our bars. We will follow up on the cleanliness (we expect it to be very clean for our guests). I will also follow up with the front desk staff to make sure they explain to guests where all the bathrooms are as there are multiple showers on each hall and hotel guests have access to all of them. There are 5 rooms with private bath out of the 77 rooms at the Grand Lodge, the rest of them have a sink in the room. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Grand Lodge is a nice place to visit, but its not as funky and cool as Edgefield. There are numerous pubs and a soaking pool, but it doesn't have as many "hidey-holes" and neat secret places as Edgefield. Food is alright, not great, rooms are small but very comfortable. I really like the fact that there are no TV's. It would be EVEN LOUDER if every room had a TV blaring away in it... and it also forces people to "get out and play".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rich j, Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
David,
Thank you for your review! It is true we are not as large as Edgefield, but we are adding some new exciting things for our guests to do. We have opened a new small bar called the Billy Scott Room on the top floor, we are now showing movies on our lawn during the summer on Friday and Saturday nights, and (weather permitting) moving our bigger concerts out on the lawn as well.
We are glad you had fun and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've stayed at the Grand Lodge before, but this time was truly awful, the worst hotel experience I've had in the last 15 years at least. Here are some of the things that went wrong:

--I was in a basement room with no, as in zero, air circulation. The room was much hotter than either outside air or the hallway and adjoining areas. But because there was no screen on the window, and it opened wide to the outside, I was uncomfortable leaving it open while I tried to sleep. I did open it and prop the door open for a while, and cooled things off a little, but I'm sure my room was at least 10 degrees hotter than either the hallway or the outdoors. There was a fan in the closet, but nowhere to plug it in that would provide any relief.

--I had a room with a shared bath. OK, that's fine, I've done that here before. On check-in, the clerk circled on a map the bathroom closest to the room and told me it was right across from my room. OK, I went to the bathroom circled on the map just across from my room. There was a bath and a shower, but no shower head on the shower, just a hose with a bare opening. So I struggled through getting a shower without spraying water all over the bathroom or hurting myself with the force of the flow. When I said something about it on checkout, I was told oh, you should have used the other bathroom down the hall. OK - then why direct me to this one?

--When I made my reservation, they told me I'd be in the basement near one of their bars wehere there would be live performances. Those would wrap up about 10:00 p.m. they said, and things would close down after that and be quiet. OK, I can deal with that. But in fact, the performance ran longer than that, by a few minutes - which was no problem - and then bar noise continued at a high level until after midnight. Coupled with the heat in my room making me prop the door open, no way was I getting to sleep before the bar actually closed at midnight.

--The hotel was hosting some kind of renaissance fair that weekend, which meant that every single parking space in the lot was taken. Apparently it didn't occur to the hotel to reserve any for hotel guests. So I had to park on adjoining streets and walk to the hotel. True, they cleared out at night, so less of a problem when I returned from dinner about 9:30.

--Wi-Fi access didn't work. I got on the network, and was showing Internet Access, but as soon as I tried to access a web site, I lost the access. And we're not talking porn sites - just a garden-variety site. I called to ask for help figuring out the problem. No call back. The next day, my laptop worked fine at Pacific University, so I'm confident it was the hotel, not me.

Overall, the Best Western is much more reliable at a similar price. Had there been a room available there, I would have taken it. This will encourage me to make Best Western reservations well in advance in the future.

This was just awful.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U8138FMjeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, General Manager at McMenamins Grand Lodge, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Grand Lodge. We are very sorry that your experience was not an enjoyable one. I will be following up directly on the issues with the wifi, heat in the room and lack of parking. It is true that there is no air conditioning but there are things we can do to help out our guests, like making sure you can plug in your fan close to the window to get some air circulation going. There being no showerhead on the shower closest to your room is unacceptable and will be addressed immediately. We take your comments very seriously and will work hard to improve. We do not want our hotel guests to be unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Forest Grove hotels

Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had never stayed at a McMenamins before but we go the movies all the time in the Bend, Oregon one. We checked in and the main bar was right at the entrance of the check in which was already very busy and loud. Our room was only a few doors down from this area on the same floor. We didn't get much sleep until after 2am when the crowd dispersed. I would only recommend this place if you are planning on being social most of the night and don't plan on getting much sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awolsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

With every inch of every wall painted with crazy mystical garbage, and every room named for a dead mason, I was completely creeped out. In Mozart room with painted explanation on walls of why and how he was murdered - yeah, real homey! No TVs in the room, no air, and outside my room a paining on the wall of a man with huge eyes sitting on a chair watching over the hall. I almost jumped out of my skin seeing that first thing at 8:00 in the morning when I never expected it. Scared the ever loving crap out of me! Nothing whimsical here, nothing quirky, it's just downright weird. I was glad I woke up and got the hell out of there. Never again!

Room Tip: For a good room, go to another place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GateHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forest Grove
0.4 mi away
Best Western University Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
10.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Hillsboro, Oregon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Orenco
The Orenco
#3 of 19 in Hillsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Conference Center
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland West/Hillsboro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Grand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Grand Lodge

Property: McMenamins Grand Lodge
Address: 3505 Pacific Ave, Forest Grove, OR 97116-2017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Forest Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Forest Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McMenamins Grand Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make a grand escape to McMenamins Grand Lodge! It's all in the details here, with the stately columns and winding drive, wide green lawn, 77 European-style guestrooms, restaurants, movie theater and small bars and some of the most fantastic artwork to ever grace these walls. Built in 1922 as a Masonic & Eastern Star home, the Grand Lodge has stories to tell. Renovated and opened by McMenamins in 2000, what was once tranquil and serene is now vibrant and colorful. Here the walls do speak... As do the doorways, the hallways, and even the overhead pipes. (Look up...)Inspired by the history of the city of Forest Grove and the building itself, McMenamins' artists have infused the Grand Lodge with original artwork and historical photographs - all tributes to the cast of characters who left their mark before us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your McMenamins Grand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Grand Hotel Forest Grove
Mcmenamins Grand Forest Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing