We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Florence
portland
1 review
“watch out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

Let me start out by saying DON'T LEAVE ANYTHING BEHIND!!! My daughter left several articles of clothing on the hook on the back of the bathroom door. Jeans, 3 shirts, a garment from Manzatlan, etc....Not a cheap replacement....We checked out on Sunday called Monday and WHAT A RUN AROUND!!! Nobody had seen anything. Got transferred to several departments never got a human left several messages. Finally 3 days later spoke to the rudiest house keeping person I think I had ever run across. HUMMMMM no clothes. Finally had to talk to General Manager and he was totally on his housekeeping side. They have a bunch of theives working there. We rented two rooms and spent close to $900.00 and to be treated with such disrespect is disgusting. I agree with the reviewers to call this place a resort is a FAR stretch of the imagination. Really needs to be updated. The housekeeping staff was a joke....

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — housekeeping staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank legaciesgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    194
    121
    53
    28
See reviews for
197
232
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2007

Evening Staff is rude, cleaning staff is inadequate. Very poor customer service from evening staff. Room was not cleaned one day - was told if a 'Do Not Disturb' sign is out they don't come back, even though we were out of our room by 11 a.m. Linens are few and had to ask for extra.
The fellow who works at night as a 'guard' is a joke - he tries to look like an Elvis impersonator and tries to intimidate people. He came down by the beach and stood watch as we built a fire on the beach and then told us that basically it was illegal to do that. When asked where the postings were and since the motel didn't own the beach why was building a fire illegal. He just stated that the Florence Police do a sweep and we could be ticketed. Unfortunately, all he did was irritate us - he didn't intimidate us at all. Told the day staff and they apologized. His co-hart an older gray haired woman was equally not someone you would want to be employed for customer service. They must not pay much for their staff or there would be much better service.
DON'T EAT AT THEIR RESTAURANT - THE FOOD WAS TERRIBLE AND HIGH PRICED.
Great view of the ocean - new management is a definite need.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Poor Customer Service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank finn1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Libby, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2007

My husband and I first came across this place in may of 2004, during a weekend road trip from Montana. We have never had a problem with any thing or anybody. We absolutely love this motel and the location. Every year we take our family vacation with our 3 children to the oregon coast and we make it a point to stay here every time, as a matter of fact we will be going back in about 2 weeks.
As for the fog, well, it is the ocean you can't expect to not have it. The staff at the front desk has always been absolutely wonderful to us, the food has always been great and as for the swimming pool, well we have always enjoyed that too, especially after the long drive we have just gotten done with. We love the fact that we can be on the beach immediately upon waking up, and it's a great beach, we also love being able to listen to the waves all night. We look forward to going back for many years to come. Thank you Driftwood Shores Inn for helping make our vacations more enjoyable

  • Liked — ocean view from any room
  • Disliked — there is not one thing we didn't like about it
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2007

We left Our home 110 miles east of Redding on July 11th to get my wifes chemo in Redding. We left redding that afternoon to go North, where we saw Pirates of the Carreabean in Roseburg Oregon. The next morning, we crossed our fingers and hoped to find a room at driftwood shores on my birthday (We spent part of our honey moon there 23 years earlier). We not only got a great deal on a great room on the ground floor with a full kitchen and a patio on the beach, we were treated very well. That morning we decided to treat ourselves to a nice breakfast/brunch in their resturant, where we were seated at a table in the corner on the beach. We had solid glass on both sides of us in the corner , giving all three of us (my son included) a perfect , beautiful view. Not only that, but the food and service were great too.

To top everything else off, as early as we arrived, there was no problem with a very early checkin which was like getting an extra free day at the beach. The next day my son and I were able to go off in the morning and rent dune buggies for the morning while my wife was able to catch up on some much needed rest.

Thank you driftwood shores for another terrific stay. (IAlthough you will never be able to top my first one there 23 years before in a three bedroom suite).

  • Liked — Being right on the beach and ocean
  • Disliked — There was nothing that did not work out well this stay, other than my wifes poor health
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zenma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2006

I Live in Oregon about an hour away from Florence and Driftwood shores. I was very disapointed in our stay. Let me start by saying I agree with other reviews - that to call this MOTEL a resort is quite a stretch of the owners imagination. This motel is very out dated, run down and lacking in all areas. I found the bed to be very uncomfortable, my back hurt for 2 days after our stay. The kitchen was nice to have, and the tv was ok - would have been nice to have a dvd player or at least a vcr. The food at the restaurant was low quality and cold when served. Like someone was opening boxes and cans - and re-warming things - not really cooking. The pool and whirlpool were very old and outdated and need of repair - broken tiles in this 3 person hot -tub - not really worth advertising as a draw. This is such a sad waste of the great beach location. I had the feeling someone just was not putting any money back into this old run-down motel to make it what it could be - a great Hotel. Very overpriced - and Not worth the money for the view, that was all FOG for our 2 night stay.

  • Liked — It is Close to nice shops & great Food @ Bay Front Grill
  • Disliked — The Room, bed, the run-down pool and hot tub.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make Sure if your in Florence to Have dinner at Bay Front & Grill in Old Town - 5 Stars!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jennybenny35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2006

The only nice thing about his property is that it is right on a really nice beach. The restaurant is like snack bar with tables. The housekeeping staff are a bunch of local -- who constantly smoke cigarettes and complain about their jobs. The rooms are dumpy! The beds and linens are terrible, and nothing is very clean, including the tiny indoor pool. It is completely overpriced.

There are much better places to stay, we gave this place 3 tries, and it got progressively worse each visit! Avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank abracco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2005

Staying at Driftwood Shores has become part of a dream vacation for my husband and me. We just finished our forth visit, and look forward to our next stay. The staff has been friendly and helpful. While the rooms are plain and the bed a bit too soft for our tastes, they are clean and these complaints are small prices to pay for a walk-out balcony that views the ocean and for sleeping at night to its roar. The long beach is perfect for contemplative walks, and jogging on it is terrific.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
4.9 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
19.7 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 12 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
4.3 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center

Property: Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Address: 88416 1st Ave, Florence, OR 97439-9112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Shores Hotel Florence
Driftwood Shores Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing