We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach front room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Chico, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Beach front room”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Open the door to your room, and the full beach panorama greets you. If you want a beach view, this is the place. Stayed two nights. Very pleasant room (ours had kitchen), even a recliner to kick back and watch the birds and people on the beach. Access to beach right outside rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. A ways outside town so very quiet and relaxing. Truly a get-away from it all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    205
    123
    53
    29
See reviews for
202
241
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springville
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stopped for one night on our trip up the coast. View was almost wonderful enough to make us forget about how much updating the room needed. Be prepared, it is way out of town. Loved the beach front, but didn't love the thin walls. Will probably plan to stay in one of the nearby towns on our next trip.

Room Tip: Try for a top floor. Less noise, but further to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPBSpringville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The beds were very comfortable! We had a 2 queen with kitchen. The room was big and had a balcony, we were on the 2nd floor. View and beach access are the best! We only reserved 1 night, but they found a room we could stay the second night too! The kitchen is very usable with enough cookware and all to make a meal if you wanted. Bar for the kids to sit and eat/ play at. Small table also. The pool room was very warm..too warm for my husband! My daughter had fun at the pool. My son said wifi worked, but slow for games. We will go back soon! Florence is a great place and this hotel has the best beach front!

Room Tip: Get one on second or third floor and leave door open to hear the ocean while you sleep! All rooms h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is the best beach front hotel I can find, and I've been looking for over 12 years! My husband, a 11-year old daughter and 22 month old boy were all looking for a mini-getaway from Portland. The hotel had to have a great pool (as a former lifeguard, I'm very critical), and an affordable on-site restaurant, while the room had to have a kitchenette so that I could re-feed my toddler if he didn't eat at the local restaurants while the rest of us did....and yes, I need a good mattress to sleep on. Most hotels have that run-down quality, especially on the coast where I imagine the humidity accelerated destruction. Luckily, we had a nicely renovated room, with new carpeting, new dark wood kitchen cabinetry, new full size fridge (same goes for oven, dishwasher, and microwave). What a relief! You really didn't need to eat out, and if you opted not to cook, you cook pick up already prepared food 3 minutes away at Fred Meyer (on Hwy 101) or order in.
Now, careful, not all the rooms have been renovated, although, walking along the ground floor walk-way, I could see very nice ('unrenovated' rooms) with their guest outside on lawn chairs admiring the surf. We paid $182 a night and benefitted from an AARP discount (of $10/night). I called in before arriving to confirm my room with a credit card, and was initially worried that the last renovated 4th floor room was miss-assigned to someone else, but was immediately called by a super efficient staff member (April) who left me a message apologizing for the staff member's error and confirming that I did have the room I wanted. This impressed me! NO games, just 'we are sorry to have given you cause for worry, but not to worry, you have the room you expected'! I loved that. While there, we weren't the best guests: my children became unacceptable loud. A kind, understanding security guard came to inform us that other guests had complained. I was ultra apologetic and read the "riot act" to my kids so they'ld hush up. Again, I was super impressed. Yes, someone out there does care about everyone's hotel experience, and took care of our boisterous with the utmost charm and respect. The walls are not thin either, as we couldn't hear a thing from a family of four with active teens. The hotel's restaurant offers wonderful ocean views and served us some very nice quality breakfast dishes: such as my daughter's Croque-Madame which was very well prepared (-and is a family favorite as I grew up in a French city).
The indoor pool complex is extremely well designed and maintained. I've managed pools and could not find the tell-tale signs of mold or lack of chlorine. The zero entry smaller wading pool with a 90 degree temperature is terrific for the smaller ones. That was a great selling point and as was the hotel's proximity to a very quaint town (Florence).

THe only negative comments I could mention regarding our stay would be the quality of the elevators (they are too slow, and too small) and the soap bars (which were all together too 'gooey' and didn't actually clean).

We'll return next year and use this hotel as our base camp for visiting other coastal areas!

Room Tip: Aim for a room on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissingMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My friend and I just stayed 2 nights here. Fourth floor! The view was spectacular! We had a full kitchen and the most comfortable queen-sized bed. Also used the jacuzzi--nice.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickee111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

After getting out of the car (drove from Mt Shasta) and getting into our room-what a WONDERFUL view from our first floor room. It was spectacular. The food in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Service was good and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: First floor but make sure you close your blinds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWDCRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caligirlinUK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed for one night in two interconnecting rooms. We found the rooms to be comfortable, spacious and perfect for a family. We loved the sea view and made the most of a sunny day and we even loved the misty foggy morning, we paid for breakfast at the restaurant and it was excellent. Staff are nice. We didnt use the pool but it looked great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caligirlinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
4.9 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
19.7 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
4.3 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
22.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center

Property: Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Address: 88416 1st Ave, Florence, OR 97439-9112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Shores Hotel Florence
Driftwood Shores Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing