We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misinformed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Bangkok
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Misinformed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had a flat tire and called to let the hotel know I was going to be late checking in. I asked what time the restaurant closed and was told it closes at 9:00 so if I was going to be later, I would want to stop on the way. After having the tire changed, I rushed to get there so I could have a nice meal after the day's events and not have to drive anymore. I arrived at 8:00. After I was welcomed warmly by the gentleman I spoke with on the phone I asked if I had time to check out my room before having dinner. That was when I was told dinner might be a problem as the restaurant would most likely be full. I asked if I could then eat in the lounge/bar. He called over to the restaurant and was told that area too was full, even though there was a full hour before the restaurant officially closed and it was a weeknight.
I had a hard time with the fact that I clearly said I wanted to eat on the phone when I first called and was not informed that there might be an issue getting a single diner, who is a hotel guest, in to have a meal after a long day. When I expressed this irritation, I was met with a blank stare and handed a take out menu by the other staffer behind the counter. Seeing as there are no other places to eat within walking distance, I was stuck eating take out without even a glass of wine to accompany it.
Once I got up to my room I was greeted with a beautiful view and a nice spacious room, that managed to get the poor taste out of my mouth about my exchange with the front desk.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay that is right on the beach, this is beautiful. Just get a room with a kitchen and cook for yourself since you probably won't be able to eat when you arrive.

Room Tip: If you plan to eat, make reservations when you book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelalllover71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    196
    122
    53
    28
See reviews for
198
235
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

It's an unusual place but we we're looking for a clean and comfortable place and that's what it was. The weather was foggy and the wind was cold but we still had fun. The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bmilln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hendersonville, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

It's true that the hotel is right on the ocean. The beach is right outside the sliding glass doors. The room was clean and well stocked. The walls are thin and we could hear people above us and beside us. Had breakfast in the restaurant and service was very slow.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mtnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We're here on business. No, they will not be getting a recommendation for a repeat.

We're in a standard room on the bottom floor. Right now, we need to get rest so we can get up very early and find somewhere to eat before our 7:30 meeting. No, not at the restaurant here, that was a debacle, and I've written a review.

Anyway, for a 12x12 room, sure, they have crammed a lot.. table, micro, friendge, queen bed, flat screen TV and a fab ocean view. HOWEVER.. I can hear the people to the North, and their children's high voices. I can hear someone above me rolling a bowling ball over and over it seems, and I can hear the next room talking. Yeah.. thin walls and bad restaurant. BAD deal.

Room Tip: I suppose if you climbed to the 3rd floor, you'd have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oregonbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

port alberni, BC CANADA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 10 year old son and loved it. It was perfect retreat after having spent two days on the road. Loved having the beach outside our patio door, and sleeping with the patio doors open. It was clean, linens were great, and bed very comfortable. It is far from town, and I wished I'd known that before getting there, if only to have stocked up on food and other necessities, but there's a restaurant on site, so all went well. Would love to spend a couple of days there next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fpc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

It is the only hotel in the Florence area located on the beach, the others are located within Florence, which is on the river. We wanted a hotel that was located right on the beach and that is what you get at Driftwood Shores! Our room and beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with what we needed and it was nice to have a full sized fridge and dishwasher. The pool was very nice, as was the whirlpool. Had drinks in the bar one night and breakfast in the restaurant one morning...friendly service and good food. We enjoyed our stay very much and the beach was beautiful. The rooms are not fancy, but they were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jejones0818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our tour of the Oregon Coast and we liked it.
As other reviewers noted the hotel is dated but still in good shape, the rooms are clean and the staff helpful. The walls are thin and it tends to be noisy, if you can choose a room un the upper floors and away from the elevator. Despite these downsides I still recommend it if you plan to stay there one night on your way on the US 101.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SitoCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
4.9 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,913 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
19.7 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
4.3 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
22.5 mi away
Deane's Oceanfront Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center

Property: Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Address: 88416 1st Ave, Florence, OR 97439-9112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Driftwood Shores Hotel Florence
Driftwood Shores Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing