We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for average accommodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Expensive for average accommodation”
Reviewed August 14, 2005

The Edwin K and K is in a great location as far as exploring Florence´s shops and restaurants are concerned, but the accommodation was disappointing. I cannot speak for the Bed and Breakfast rooms, themselves, as we stayed in the "cottage" next to the B and B which really was a glorified mobile home! I cannot fault the owner who was very pleasant and helpful but we felt that the out-dated "cottage" was expensive for what it was and we were glad we had only booked for 2 nights. Would definitely stay in Florence again but not at this B and B.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jsks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owners at Edwin K Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, December 1, 2005
We do appreciate the responses / comments from our guests, even the negative ones - that is how we continue to keep the high quality of our B&B. Once in awhile, we have guests who think we are too expensive - on the other hand, we have guests who say we are too cheap for what we offer! However, if those who think we are too expensive were to check with the other lodging facilities in this area and compare price and quality of lodging, they would find we are very reasonable. We have also had many guests stay in the Cottage (which is a vacation rental and not part of the B&B facility) who love it, and think it is a perfect place for their vacation and are already booking for next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    20
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
123
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2005

The Edwin K is one of the nicest B & B I have ever seen. The place is immaculate, the owners are so very gracious and the breakfast is outstanding. It is located in the old town of Florence and is close to very good restaurtants.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank juandarien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2004

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Edwin K. The owners were friendly and catered to all our needs. The rooms were beautiful and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had anywhere. The B&B is within walking distance of many good restaurants. My only regret was that I had booked just one day to stay here.

Helpful?
2 Thank stanpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 6, 2003

My wife and I spent the most romantic Vanintines Day at the Edwin K.Our room was absoutly beautiful,overlooking a garden and we were listening to water trickling in the fountin while sitting on our terrace.Breakfast was a memorable experence.We especially enjoyed strolling down Bay street. We love Florence. THANKS A BUNCH L&M

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 27, 2003

My wife and I had a great time at the Edwin K. We fell in love with the house and the way it has been restored. Very elegant throughout. Great full breakfast served. The staff did a excellent job. We will return as soon as possible.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
1,943 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
171 reviews
1.5 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
0.1 mi away
River House Inn
River House Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwin K Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

Property: Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1155 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439-9350
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1914, the Edwin K Bed and Breakfast defines the traditions of fine accommodations. You may choose from six spacious beautiful rooms that offer custom designed private baths. A five-course breakfast is included for those staying in the B&B. Tea, sherry, and cookies are served at 5:00 p.m. each evening. In addition to our B&B facilities, we also a separate Apartment Suite that sleeps 4 people and is suitable for families and/or those who want more privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing