We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
$150
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River House Inn(Florence)
$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landmark Inn(Florence)(Great Value!)
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Town Inn(Florence)(Great Value!)
$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Breeze Motel(Florence)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Motel(Florence)(Great Value!)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Rivers Casino & Resort(Florence)(Great Value!)
$249
$242
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveler rating
169
20
11
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
169
20
11
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarv and laurieother guestsindian summeroregon coastold town florencehomemade cookiesfree dessertsand duneslocation is idealliving roomrooms are spaciousthe riverhome away from homeshops and restaurantssearssherryroebuck
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 205 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found the Edwin K by driving past the motel down the street and decided to give it a try.Marv was a nice host and the house was very clean. The craftsmanship of the home was excellent and it was filled with antiques. Although we're not into B&B's because we prefer privacy and modern accommodations, we had a comfortable stay and made new friends. Here are a few pros and cons. Good location, 1 block from restuarants/bars and it was a quiet street. We slept with window open and didn't hear a thing. Bathroom was in the room, no separation from bedroom. Good sized rooms. Fine mattress but queen size. Our friends got the only king size mattress. There are no TV's anywhere. I realize TV is overated and most folks probably like B&B's for this reason but there's not even a TV in the bedroom. No worry, they have wifi so we connected to Netflix via our iPad. Biggest con - there are a LOT of rules. Like 3 pages of rules. I only learned about the rule book after we left because I wasn't the one who checked in, Had I learned about them we probably would have gone to the motel because I don't want to feel paranoid. Marv, don't get defensive about this like the other review. I understand we're guests but I'm also a paying guest. Trust me, folks who decide to stay at the Edwin K aren't the kind of folks who need tons of rules. It's extreme worrying about guests using a towel to remove make up, etc, etc, etc. Guests should respect anothers home but paying guests should feel comfortable too. It's a trade off and it's the business you chose so. relax on the rule book. We missed the breakfast but our friends told us it was excellent. In summary, I'd recommend this place for 1 night but I'd ignore the rule book, relax like it's your home. walk to one of the restuarants and bring an iPad and a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 1statetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwink, Owner at Edwin K Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is important to us that our guests are happy with their stay - we don't take it lightly when a guest is not happy with their time with us.

We have approximately 2,500 guests per year here at the Edwin K B&B. We have been here 9 years, and have had some guests who did not respect this as not only a B&B, but also our home. It is because of our experiences with some of our guests that we have 1 1/3 page "Things to Know about your room and the B&B" - we don't even call it "rules." We only have a few things that may be considered "rules," such as quiet time hours; if you spill something, let us know so we can remove the stain; no excess alcohol drinking that results in being drunk and disorderly; and no smoking allowed. This is only about 1/2 of a page - it is NOT 3 pages as you stated. The rest of this useful information and helpful tips to make your stay more pleasant. They are also to make the stay of other guests enjoyable - if guests in one room are drunk, noisy, and fighting, it could ruin everyone's stay. As far as the rules on not using the white wash cloths and towels for makeup removal, we are stating that we are providing you with an alternative way of removing makeup. The rules that we have are basic and "common sense", and were not meant to offend anyone.

There are many nice lodging places that have some kind of list of rules and important information for their guests, whether it is in a book, posted on a wall, or given on a sheet of paper. We tried to make this as part of an information book with things to know about your room and the house, history of Florence, and things to see and do. Just because you are a paying guest does not mean you should be able to do anything you want in your room - you can't even do that in a motel.

We are sorry if you felt you couldn't be comfortable here in our home because of a few rules. Many people have told us that we have a very warm and comfortable B&B, that we make them feel like they are at home. It is our goal to have anyone who stays with us feel like they have had a very nice stay when they leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two pleasant nights in the bed and breakfast 'Edwin K' in Florence Oregon. It had been our destination after a pleasant one day drive down costal highway 101. The Edwin K,, built originally as a Craftsman House, was located in downtown Florence. It was within easy walking distance of the 'old' section of town which had a nice selction of restaurants. Our accomadations were clean, quiet and comfortable; the breakfast, five course, ample and very tasty. The atmosphere was relaxed and we found it easy to strike up iinformal conversations with the other guests. It a good base to explore the costal region of Oregon, both north and south.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Edwin K. The host's are fantastic, the breakfast is epic and the history lesson was intriguing. The house is a fantastic example of a Sears craftsman house and the location is great for walking to nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diarmaid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Edwin K and we echo all the other great comments! Marv and Laurie are very nice hosts and we felt quite comfortable. We certainly did not need lunch after the large full breakfasts! It was particularly fun to visit with people from England, Holland, Germany, Norway and British Columbia during our short stay. The afternoon sherry and cookies was a nice touch too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful treat and retreat it is to stay with Marv and Laurie at their Edwin K Bed and Breakfast. Everything was first class including the beautiful home, the breakfast was fantastic and the other guests were so interesting and kind. The home itself is so full of history and Marv brings the story of it alive. Marv and Laurie's hospitality and breakfast were top notch. I was lucky to have a room with a claw-foot bathtub and was told the way to heat the cast-iron tub to have the water stay warm to be able to enjoy while reading a book--what a treat!

This will be an annual destination for me and I highly recommend it to everyone traveling in the area. Treat yourself to this relaxing, beautiful experience--please just leave room for me...

Thank you Marv and Laurie,
Teri, Fort Collins, CO

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terifcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews