We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hospitality And Comfort At Its Best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hospitality And Comfort At Its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I celebrated my "milestone" birthday with a night at the Edwin K, a beautiful bed and breakfast in Florence, Oregon's Old Town. The home is beautiful, and its antiquity has been preserved while still affording modern comforts and conveniences like a refrigerator in the room, and a jacuzzi tub with shower in the bathroom. Each room has its own theme (we stayed in the Indian Summer room on the main floor), with really charming furnishings. Our hosts, the current owners of the home Marv and Laurie, were wonderful and very attentive to their guests. Home baked cookies and sherry awaited us in the evening when we returned from our outings, and coffee service in the morning before a incredible multi-course breakfast.

Built in 1914, this historic 98-year-old Sears "Craftsman" home, was the former residence of Edwin Kyle, son of one of the founding families of Florence, Oregon. Marv and Laurie have maintained its charm, and provided a beautiful and comfortable getaway on the Oregon coast. Check it out online (http://www.edwink.com), then make your plans to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lyonsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    20
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
121
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We found the Edwin K by driving past the motel down the street and decided to give it a try.Marv was a nice host and the house was very clean. The craftsmanship of the home was excellent and it was filled with antiques. Although we're not into B&B's because we prefer privacy and modern accommodations, we had a comfortable stay and made new friends. Here are a few pros and cons. Good location, 1 block from restuarants/bars and it was a quiet street. We slept with window open and didn't hear a thing. Bathroom was in the room, no separation from bedroom. Good sized rooms. Fine mattress but queen size. Our friends got the only king size mattress. There are no TV's anywhere. I realize TV is overated and most folks probably like B&B's for this reason but there's not even a TV in the bedroom. No worry, they have wifi so we connected to Netflix via our iPad. Biggest con - there are a LOT of rules. Like 3 pages of rules. I only learned about the rule book after we left because I wasn't the one who checked in, Had I learned about them we probably would have gone to the motel because I don't want to feel paranoid. Marv, don't get defensive about this like the other review. I understand we're guests but I'm also a paying guest. Trust me, folks who decide to stay at the Edwin K aren't the kind of folks who need tons of rules. It's extreme worrying about guests using a towel to remove make up, etc, etc, etc. Guests should respect anothers home but paying guests should feel comfortable too. It's a trade off and it's the business you chose so. relax on the rule book. We missed the breakfast but our friends told us it was excellent. In summary, I'd recommend this place for 1 night but I'd ignore the rule book, relax like it's your home. walk to one of the restuarants and bring an iPad and a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1statetogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwink, Owner at Edwin K Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is important to us that our guests are happy with their stay - we don't take it lightly when a guest is not happy with their time with us.

We have approximately 2,500 guests per year here at the Edwin K B&B. We have been here 9 years, and have had some guests who did not respect this as not only a B&B, but also our home. It is because of our experiences with some of our guests that we have 1 1/3 page "Things to Know about your room and the B&B" - we don't even call it "rules." We only have a few things that may be considered "rules," such as quiet time hours; if you spill something, let us know so we can remove the stain; no excess alcohol drinking that results in being drunk and disorderly; and no smoking allowed. This is only about 1/2 of a page - it is NOT 3 pages as you stated. The rest of this useful information and helpful tips to make your stay more pleasant. They are also to make the stay of other guests enjoyable - if guests in one room are drunk, noisy, and fighting, it could ruin everyone's stay. As far as the rules on not using the white wash cloths and towels for makeup removal, we are stating that we are providing you with an alternative way of removing makeup. The rules that we have are basic and "common sense", and were not meant to offend anyone.

There are many nice lodging places that have some kind of list of rules and important information for their guests, whether it is in a book, posted on a wall, or given on a sheet of paper. We tried to make this as part of an information book with things to know about your room and the house, history of Florence, and things to see and do. Just because you are a paying guest does not mean you should be able to do anything you want in your room - you can't even do that in a motel.

We are sorry if you felt you couldn't be comfortable here in our home because of a few rules. Many people have told us that we have a very warm and comfortable B&B, that we make them feel like they are at home. It is our goal to have anyone who stays with us feel like they have had a very nice stay when they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two pleasant nights in the bed and breakfast 'Edwin K' in Florence Oregon. It had been our destination after a pleasant one day drive down costal highway 101. The Edwin K,, built originally as a Craftsman House, was located in downtown Florence. It was within easy walking distance of the 'old' section of town which had a nice selction of restaurants. Our accomadations were clean, quiet and comfortable; the breakfast, five course, ample and very tasty. The atmosphere was relaxed and we found it easy to strike up iinformal conversations with the other guests. It a good base to explore the costal region of Oregon, both north and south.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Edwin K. The host's are fantastic, the breakfast is epic and the history lesson was intriguing. The house is a fantastic example of a Sears craftsman house and the location is great for walking to nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diarmaid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Edwin K and we echo all the other great comments! Marv and Laurie are very nice hosts and we felt quite comfortable. We certainly did not need lunch after the large full breakfasts! It was particularly fun to visit with people from England, Holland, Germany, Norway and British Columbia during our short stay. The afternoon sherry and cookies was a nice touch too!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful treat and retreat it is to stay with Marv and Laurie at their Edwin K Bed and Breakfast. Everything was first class including the beautiful home, the breakfast was fantastic and the other guests were so interesting and kind. The home itself is so full of history and Marv brings the story of it alive. Marv and Laurie's hospitality and breakfast were top notch. I was lucky to have a room with a claw-foot bathtub and was told the way to heat the cast-iron tub to have the water stay warm to be able to enjoy while reading a book--what a treat!

This will be an annual destination for me and I highly recommend it to everyone traveling in the area. Treat yourself to this relaxing, beautiful experience--please just leave room for me...

Thank you Marv and Laurie,
Teri, Fort Collins, CO

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terifcco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for only one night and the only room available was the suite. However, the room is absolutely cosy and clean, anad breakfast is served to the room in the morning. The price is correct, the location quite and right on the ocean. However, the view is not the best, but that doesn`t matter. Your hosts are really nice people and it`s just a pleasure to stay here. Definitely recommended! Enjoy!

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms in 1 house, so it probably doesn`t matter. In the suites, brecki is served to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 12 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
0.1 mi away
River House Inn
River House Inn
#3 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
4.9 mi away
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwin K Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

Property: Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1155 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439-9350
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1914, the Edwin K Bed and Breakfast defines the traditions of fine accommodations. You may choose from six spacious beautiful rooms that offer custom designed private baths. A five-course breakfast is included for those staying in the B&B. Tea, sherry, and cookies are served at 5:00 p.m. each evening. In addition to our B&B facilities, we also a separate Apartment Suite that sleeps 4 people and is suitable for families and/or those who want more privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing