We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place ALONE makes Florence worth a visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This place ALONE makes Florence worth a visit”
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on our anniversary and were absolutely blown away. The hosts are proud of their business, the house, the city of Florence and the state of Oregon and it really shows.
The rooms are impeccably clean with gobs of pillows on the king bed and even a huge jetted tub.
The house is located very near downtown allowing you to walk to all the bay front shops, bars, restaurants and weekend markets.
During the homemade, 5-course breakfast the host told us about the history of the house and well as several things to do and see in the area. You heard that right, HOMEMADE FIVE-COURSE BREAKFAST.
The title of this review is no joke. This place is wonderful and the hosts are the most fantastic people we’ve ever met. No exaggeration! The service was thorough but never intrusive. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    20
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
123
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Two nights here and loved it. Immaculate, friendly, and comfortable. Great breakfast by a chef. The Winter Room is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slklvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

We called ahead from Cannon Beach anticipating our stop in Florence that afternoon
Room were available so I booked based on the reviews on trip advisor.
We were greeted warmly by Marv, and shown to our room "the Winter" This one had a claw foot tub. We were also able to see other vacant rooms and have our choice but we stuck with the winter.
We had hoped the clawfoot tub would be big enough for two but it was a little cramped, but a luxurious soak for one.
The bed was very comfortable and the area was very quiet.
Marv informed us all about the history of the house, old town florence, and other things to see in the area.
We had a lovely walk around old town, and down by the river. Sherry cookies and tea are served in the afternoon
Breakfast is amazing. The biggest and most gourmet breakfast on our whole trip down the coast
Fresh fruit and yogurt parfait, fresh juice blends, a fruit platter, small egg souffles
variety of sweet breads and Marv's famous scones (my favourites) Also some lovely homemade jams of local berries
We did not need any lunch that day!
Thanks to marv for sharing his house and knowledge with us

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovebirds51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We drove through sleet and snow to arrive for our Valentine's special at the Edwin K. B&B. Marv greeted us with handshakes and warmth. Since we left early to make it through the weather we arrived a couple hours before check-in, but Marv had finished setting up our room (Spring) and let us in anyway. We've never experienced a double shower and now we are ruined forever. The jacuzzi was big and thrilling, though I can't imagine spending more than a half and hour at a time. The package included a fantastic dinner at Pomodori's and be sure to check out Wine Wednesday's down the street at the Bridgewater. The 5 course breakfast was packed with delicious homemade touches. If only the snow had prevented us from leaving...

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAmberee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

A diverse group of eight women in their 60's were treated with extremely good service as we gathered for a mini high school reunion. Our rooms were each charming and comfortable and the location perfect for little forays by foot into Old Town Florence. Marv was a wonderful and entertaining historian and chef and his lovely wife Lori made us feel pampered. I would easily recommend it as a wonderful way to visit Florence and plan to stay several days....

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is a lovely old home that has been converted to a bed & breakfast. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. They had a binder with lots of useful information on the B&B and the area. Because its large, you don't have a choice of breakfast time, but it worked out well for us. The breakfast was fabulous, 5 courses, all delicious. After breakfast the host gives you the low down on all the worthwhile sights in the area. Very helpful. My husband's only complaint was that the furnishings were a bit frou frou for him and it was a bit early for Christmas decorations. Its really a great place to stay and the other guests were fun to chat with over breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Once again, an absolutely wonderful bed and breakfast experience. Marv and Laurie extended their gift of hospitality to us and it was a genuine blessing to all who stayed with us. The breakfast is truly an outstanding culinary experience and the special touches throughout (afternoon fresh baked cookies, etc) our stay made for a memorable experience and the Garden Room is a real treat, inside and out!

Thanks Marv & Laurie!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
1,979 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
0.1 mi away
River House Inn
River House Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwin K Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwin K Bed and Breakfast

Property: Edwin K Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1155 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439-9350
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1914, the Edwin K Bed and Breakfast defines the traditions of fine accommodations. You may choose from six spacious beautiful rooms that offer custom designed private baths. A five-course breakfast is included for those staying in the B&B. Tea, sherry, and cookies are served at 5:00 p.m. each evening. In addition to our B&B facilities, we also a separate Apartment Suite that sleeps 4 people and is suitable for families and/or those who want more privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing