We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay at Blue Heron”
Review of Blue Heron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Heron Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Florence B&B and Inns
Washington Boro, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
173 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice stay at Blue Heron”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were comfortable in the Blue Heron Inn. It's not in the heart of Florence, but close enough not to be a problem. Maurice and Stella welcomed us and gave lots of good advice on places to eat and see. The room we had was spacious and the breakfasts were excellent. The hosts were willing to accommodate our eating requests and still provide a tasty and filling start to the day.

Room Tip: We only tried one room and it was great. I can't imagine that others would be different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    3
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I recently spent two very comfortable nights here. We were in the Heron room which is very nicely decorated - and from the other rooms I caught sight of, it is the nicest. Stairs however are steep and narrow so be prepared to carry luggage with some difficulty.

Maurice greeted us at the door on our arrival. He showed us around the house including the basement where there is a fridge and microwave for the use of guests as well as a large TV and library of movies for their pleasure. Then he took us to our lovely room. Expect to be on the receiving end of a long informative talk at this point. Maurice has much information to impart but at the end of a long day, it can be a little overwhelming.

We did follow his advice to book a table at the Waterfront Depot for the next evening and we were very glad to have done so - a great meal there.

Breakfast at the Blue Heron was lovely both days but be prepared to eat at 9a.m. sharp - not a problem for us and I understand the reasoning behind it but I am sure some folk are not pleased by the regimentation. It was fun talking to the other guests too.

The small bottle of wine in our room was a nice touch and it was replenished the second night.

Maurice is a very talkative man and his wife, Stella, is a quiet lady but very friendly also. We enjoyed both of them.

Overall, a very good place to stay in Florence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ittre, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The house and the room were beautifully decorated and furnished. The location is peaceful, but beware, it is almost 3.5 miles drive from historic downtown Florence. The breakfast was very good and out-of-the-ordinary. Maurice is a genial host (Stella was not permitted to get much of word in) but, by the time we had heard all the rules, regulations and recommendations, my head was spinning. And sitting down for breakfast at PRECISELY 9 'o' clock upon the ring of a bell is too regimented for my tastes. We stayed in the Raspberry Cream Room - no coverings at all on the bathroom windows is ever so slightly weird!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for the third time ... and each time it just gets better. Maurice and Stella couldn't be more friendly or helpful, the rooms are beautiful and well appointed, and the breakfast was gourmet. The location is a bit outside of the main town, and enjoys a beautiful view of the river. When we come to Florence, this is where we stay, and we'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys the B&B experience. It truly feels like stepping into your own home. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We love the Heron's Nest. My daughter thinks the little cubby under the alcoves with two twin be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBabe8662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were passing through for one night and found this gem of a place! Great location with lovely view of river! Very friendly and welcoming hosts Maurice and Stella! Comfortable bed and excellent and plenty for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights just recently; we were lucky to have been able to secure reservations fairly close to the time we wanted to stay. The location was GREAT; the service impeccable; the rooms good size and comfortable and the breakfasts outstanding! Maurice and Stella do everything they can to insure their guests total satisfaction - their home and it's surroundings are wonderful - we will be back for sure! Recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms great! some do require narrow staircase though!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Perfect location off hwy. 101. Rooms are clean and private. Host/hostess made us feel right at home, offering whatevere needed. We came in late and we offered a drink that was much appreciated. Breakfast was amazing! We really could not have asked for more.

Room Tip: This is a great stay, the host and hostess were very welcoming, informative and friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
3.1 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
2.9 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
23.5 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
5.4 mi away
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Inn

Property: Blue Heron Inn
Address: 6563 Highway 126, Florence, OR 97439-9223
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron is a 1940's country home with gorgeous river views of the Siuslaw River just five minutes from the center of historic Florence, Oregon. It is featured in the Best Places to Kiss. Guests can delight in viewing the herons and other wildlife with your innkeepers, Maurice and Stella. This comfortable inn, upgraded and modernized, makes a perfect getaway, with unsurpassed hospitality. This is a non-smoking bed and breakfast inn, however smoking is allowed on outside patio.The Victorian room is reminiscent of an era gone by with its lace, brass and antiques. The Heron's Nest has an incredible view of the river from the secret dormer hide-a-way with twin beds. The Bridal Suite offers a comfortable sofa seating arrangement, king size bed, a whirlpool bath, ceiling fan, cozy electric fireplace, and expansive windows with views of the river. If you need a suite the Raspberry Cream Room with its whirlpool tub can be opened up to the Victorian Room. Enjoy the river from the deck of the comfortable Country Room.Enjoy a spectacular view of the Siuslaw River while feasting on a gourmet breakfast. Fresh fruit, juices, and homemade yeast waffles with strawberries or smoked salmon quiche are popular menu items. You may relax in the living room and enjoy the view, watch TV or retire to our new video room for a movie or just relax in the private lounge area for quiet reading where books and magazines are available.Historic Old Town Florence, the Oregon Dunes, Sandpines Golf Course, the Sea Lion Caves, Haceta Lighthouse, the local airport and the convention center are just minutes away. After a busy day of exploring, return for cookies and tea! In May, come for the Rhododendron Festival. Enjoy dune buggy adventures and sandboarding. Historic Newport is just an hour away.Come and enjoy the ambience of this charming bed & breakfast on the Siuslaw River. It is a place for relaxing and making joyous memories and new friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing