We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the place”
Review of Sand Master Park

Sand Master Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sand Master Park is the world's first sandboard park. Located in the city of Florence on the beautiful Oregon coast, SMP offers 40 acres of privately owned sculpted sand dunes with a variety of beginner to advanced slopes just minutes from the Pacific ocean. Have your first sandboard lesson, rent sandboards & sleds or surfboards and wet suits, take a dune buggy tour, rail slides, jump ramps, learn sand sculpting, RV and bus parking and LOTS OF FUN!! Plan your visit today!! Don't forget to book ahead for your dune buggy rides or lessons. The Sand Master Park store is closed for the months of January and February and reopen the first week of March.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We tried sandboarding for the first time today - drove down from Newport. It was very windy so the boarding was challenging, but we really liked SMP and will be back! Good people and equipment. We know we can get boards a little cheaper elsewhere but will not go anywhere else.

2  Thank sunnybeach6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationlover319, Owner at Sand Master Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We look forward to your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"honeyman state park"
in 17 reviews
"learning how"
in 6 reviews
"great lesson"
in 3 reviews
"drop box"
in 3 reviews
"great fun"
in 14 reviews
"great customer service"
in 5 reviews
"few hours"
in 5 reviews
"oregon coast"
in 12 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
"dune buggy tour"
in 3 reviews
"lon"
in 14 reviews
"wax"
in 17 reviews
"instructor"
in 14 reviews
"snowboarding"
in 10 reviews
"shop"
in 23 reviews
"sled"
in 12 reviews
"sand"
in 68 reviews
Filter

193 - 197 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

this was good fun! We got the lesson for our kids from Becca-- its so worth it and she is wonderful. You get the boards for 24 hours so you can take it anywhere and use it. The only reason I didnt rate it 5 star because of the owner who was a bit fiesty...he was quick to tell us we couldnt bring our drinks in and not in the nicest way, then he was a bit dismissive about answering questions and said he could've charged us an extra lesson if my husband was going to get a board but not the lesson ( we already purchased 3 lessons for our 3 kids) since he would be inherently getting a lesson by watching...! Anyway Becca made up for it..she was great with the kids and they learned a lot.

2  Thank SMPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationlover319, Owner at Sand Master Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much for the review! We are glad you had a good time here at Sand Master Park.
I apologize for being quick to tell you about your drinks. We had a visitor come in and drop a chocolate milkshake which splattered all over a rack of clothes so we just said 'no more food and drinks'. We posted a big sign right a the front door stating that but people tend walk in with them anyway so we try to catch them right off before there is another accident.
As I know our instructors are going to go through every detail with hands on teaching I tend not to step on their toes by telling details that I know they are going to show you.
Regardless, I'm just glad you had a good time. That's really what we hope for and try to do here.. make sure you have a good time sandboarding and safely!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It is obvious that the owners love what they do and they love SAND BOARDING!

We had rented from a few different places in Florence, but Sand Master is HANDS DOWN the BEST! They have the nicest equipment & most professional staff who are very experienced in their craft. They will help you select the right board and give you as much instruction as you need.

If you've ever thought about trying sand boarding, don't go anywhere else!!!

1  Thank itsagas_Eugene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationlover319, Owner at Sand Master Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you again soon and maybe get a chance to ride with your crew!! SMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

had a 15 year old grandson with us and trying to tire him out and slow him down. He is from Florida and never snow skied but loves his long skateboard. Took him to SMP and got him a lesson that was very thorough. They have their own dunes where they teach you and you can practice. After seeing his skills the teacher suggested the higher dunes at Honeyman State Park and we rented a board for a day and took him there. He absolutely loved the downhill so much that he didn't complain about the uphill climb to do it again. We ended up with a picnic and b.b.q and a worn out teenager. He wants a day to recoup and is suggesting we do it all over again. Inexpensive entertainment and an experience he will always remember.

1  Thank eremitic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationlover319, Owner at Sand Master Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you again soon and maybe get a chance to ride with your grandson sometime!! SMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a great experience! Courteous and helpful staff!
Lots of fun(if you don't mind exercise). Get goggles, helps when the wind is blowing!!

Thank Jeremiah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacationlover319, Owner at Sand Master Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We hope to see you again soon and maybe get a chance to ride with your crew!! SMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Master Park also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sand Master Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing