We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, good food.”
Review of Morgan's Country Kitchen - CLOSED

Morgan's Country Kitchen
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed November 6, 2014

The food, in a word, is good. We usually go there for breakfast, so I am reviewing it on that experience. The restaurant is just south of Florence, after you cross the bridge, maybe about a mile. Morgan's has a good selection on their breakfast menu, ranging from steak to scrambles, omelets, pancakes and more. Servings are hearty (we seniors usually end up taking some of our meal home to reheat later).

The service has always been excellent; very friendly and prompt, and with attention to detail. The décor is.... well-worn homey. Their sunroom would be improved by replacing the canvas shades which have become a bit shabby with age. Often when we are not in a hurry, i.e. no fast food restaurant, we enjoy going to Morgan's. It has ample parking and adjoins the Park Motel, but is well-screened and nicely separated from it.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 99 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2014

I read several reviews and decided to get the chicken fried steak breakfast and of course pancakes for the boys. The place is a little dated but nice and the people running it were very friendly! The chicken fried steak is a real homemade version I do believe and had a good taste. The gravy was great. Not real sure about the hash browns or home fries but it was potatoes. The did offer to split the pack cake order as it was too big for one little boy which worked out perfect. The coffee was good and they kept my cup full. Over all a good restaurant. If you are looking for the normal chicken fried steak this is not what you are looking for though. It is a real steak with breading and tastes slightly different but very good.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shreves-clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2014

This breakfast/lunch place is just South of Florence, Oregon on the 101. Opens at 8 & closes at 2, I believe. No alcohol served. Good, innovative dishes, especially comfort food. Not expensive. Eat in the sunroom & watch the weather change & the cars go by.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2014 via mobile

Had pretty low expectations. I knew ordering a salad was a mistake but I just wanted some fresh food so badly! Salad was ok but smothered in canned black olives and raspberry vinaigrette was gelatinous and tasted bad. Grilled cheese sandwich seemed like a safe option but was really greasy. Husband gave clam chowder one thumb down. Worse than out of a can - too bad they don't just serve Campbell's!

Thank JimmyMittenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2014

Make sure you come here with an appetite. Wonderful food, prompt service and plenty to eat. The patrons of Morgan's were very friendly and there was even a fresh newspaper to read while we waited...which was not long. Some of the best Chicken Fried Steak I've ever had.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nolanr489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgan's Country Kitchen also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing