We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Waterfront Depot

Waterfront Depot
Ranked #2 of 94 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We feature. We offer a full-service bar with a variety of regional and international wines as well as a selection of exciting martinis and specialty drinks, like Bill's Flaming Spanish Coffee, to compliment your meal. From the sophistication of our house favorite, Crab Encrusted Halibut, to the cozy warm satisfaction of our burger and fries, you're sure to find a dish to fit your desires at The Waterfront Depot. We use only the best local, organic beef and free-range chicken in our entrees. Our skilled culinary staff prepares all our menu items daily, guaranteeing you the freshest, most flavorful experience on the Central Oregon Coast. Atmosphere. Nestled on the river's shore, we offer a warm, cozy view of the Siuslaw River and the Siuslaw River bridge. Summer dining cafe-style outdoors on our weathered patio seats you right at the water's edge. Year-round dining inside offers you a beautiful river view with an urban touch, a perfect place for winter storm watching. Our history. The Waterfront Depot is housed in the old Mapleton Train Station. Saved from demolition over 40 years ago, this historic building found its new home on the shore of the Siuslaw river a stone's throw from the Siuslaw River Bridge. The old train station's warm, classic qualities offer a perfect counter balance to the sophisticated, urban atmosphere I've created in The Waterfront Depot.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We got to the restaurant late but got seated anyway.

Great beer and fantastic food!

The staff was very pleasant and nice.

Helpful?
Thank Jonas_Meling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    178
    49
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A+ All The Way”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The Waterfront Depot is a small cozy restaurant.

This restaurant exceeded our expectations. We had a perfect table with a view of the river. The service was excellent and the food was wonderful. My husband had ahi tuna for an appetizer. I had smoked salmon and trout for an appetizer. Both dishes were well prepared. For the main course, we had halibut and tempura shrimp. We loved both dishes. The prices were very reasonable.

Our only regret is that we only have one night in Florence and thus will not be able to return to this gem of a restaurant. I can recommend this restaurant without any reservations.

Make sure to make a reservation far in advance as they are always booked. We hope we will be able to return in the future.

Eileen and Mike

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

Upscale without being hoity-toity! The food was spectacular! They appreciate a reservation because they are always so busy but you can usually get two seats at the bar. Fun to watch the bartender and other diners at the bar are full of information about your vacation itinerary!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, Idaho
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Went there for birthday dinner”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Did not make reservations bad on my part! We did get a spot at the bar fairly quickly. Food was very good bar tender/ waiter friendly and entertaining. Will go back again next time we are in town.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SilverCityIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Reserve early, worth it!”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

It is hard to get thru on the phone, and when you do, it is hard to get a reservation because this place is very popular, and for a reason. We had a superb meal, good service, and I had the strongest margarita in my life!

They have a "waiting area" on the porch, and we ended up eating out there, which was quieter, very nice.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank blockhed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Depot also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Waterfront Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing