We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great view, great atmosphere”
Review of Waterfront Depot

Waterfront Depot
Ranked #2 of 94 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We feature. We offer a full-service bar with a variety of regional and international wines as well as a selection of exciting martinis and specialty drinks, like Bill's Flaming Spanish Coffee, to compliment your meal. From the sophistication of our house favorite, Crab Encrusted Halibut, to the cozy warm satisfaction of our burger and fries, you're sure to find a dish to fit your desires at The Waterfront Depot. We use only the best local, organic beef and free-range chicken in our entrees. Our skilled culinary staff prepares all our menu items daily, guaranteeing you the freshest, most flavorful experience on the Central Oregon Coast. Atmosphere. Nestled on the river's shore, we offer a warm, cozy view of the Siuslaw River and the Siuslaw River bridge. Summer dining cafe-style outdoors on our weathered patio seats you right at the water's edge. Year-round dining inside offers you a beautiful river view with an urban touch, a perfect place for winter storm watching. Our history. The Waterfront Depot is housed in the old Mapleton Train Station. Saved from demolition over 40 years ago, this historic building found its new home on the shore of the Siuslaw river a stone's throw from the Siuslaw River Bridge. The old train station's warm, classic qualities offer a perfect counter balance to the sophisticated, urban atmosphere I've created in The Waterfront Depot.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great atmosphere”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We opted to eat at Waterfront Depot after reading some of the reviews posted here and were so glad we did. There was a small wait for a table but we ended up eating at the bar. The crowd was very friendly as was the bartender. The Portuguese Arroz was superb and the NY Strip was perfectly cooked and tender. Don't pass on the desserts either. They come from the bakery across the street. In particular, try the Mexican Chocolate Cake if you get the chance. Also, the setting by the bridge is soothing and a bit romantic. It's also incredibly inexpensive given the quality of the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PSicari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    653
    178
    49
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A must!!!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had an amazing experience there!! The minute we walked in the staff was friendly. We waited at the bar for our table and the bartender Tom was so great, made us a drink not on the menu, just said " I have a drink for you" and it was great. The food is so fresh and flavourful, absolutely fabulous. Tom kept coming by our table, chatting with us, giving us tasters of drinks. The overall evening was perfect, the food and the staff....an absolute must if your in florence Oregon...even if you have to wait until 9:00 for a table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snap_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Maybe our finest meal anywhere in the world”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very charming LITTLE restaurant almost directly under the Florence Bridge. The building is a former train station The clam chowder was delicious. You could stand a spoon vertically in the bowl! We had crab encrusted halibut that was moist and perfectly prepared! The service was outstanding. With dessert the bill was only $50 ! YOU WILL NOT GET IN WITHOUT RESERVATIONS! Ask for a window seat to view the river!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bnjmartin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We loved this place! Crazy busy, even on a Monday night at 5, so make reservations. The hostess and bartender were awesome; both helpful and friendly. So glad we waited for a seat at the bar!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank clz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great meal at a very reasonable price”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Read the prior reviews and was not disappointed. Paid twice as much in times past for a meal that wasn't any better. Great food, great service and great location for viewing the river. Very important to make reservations as the place was packed on a Wednesday night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LDS711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Depot also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Waterfront Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing