We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food”
Review of Waterfront Depot

Waterfront Depot
Ranked #2 of 94 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We feature. We offer a full-service bar with a variety of regional and international wines as well as a selection of exciting martinis and specialty drinks, like Bill's Flaming Spanish Coffee, to compliment your meal. From the sophistication of our house favorite, Crab Encrusted Halibut, to the cozy warm satisfaction of our burger and fries, you're sure to find a dish to fit your desires at The Waterfront Depot. We use only the best local, organic beef and free-range chicken in our entrees. Our skilled culinary staff prepares all our menu items daily, guaranteeing you the freshest, most flavorful experience on the Central Oregon Coast. Atmosphere. Nestled on the river's shore, we offer a warm, cozy view of the Siuslaw River and the Siuslaw River bridge. Summer dining cafe-style outdoors on our weathered patio seats you right at the water's edge. Year-round dining inside offers you a beautiful river view with an urban touch, a perfect place for winter storm watching. Our history. The Waterfront Depot is housed in the old Mapleton Train Station. Saved from demolition over 40 years ago, this historic building found its new home on the shore of the Siuslaw river a stone's throw from the Siuslaw River Bridge. The old train station's warm, classic qualities offer a perfect counter balance to the sophisticated, urban atmosphere I've created in The Waterfront Depot.
Arizona
Level Contributor
143 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

All food was fresh and well prepared. Make a reservation as the place is small and cozy. Seafood and chowder were exceptional.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank scottstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    178
    50
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip to Florence just to eat here.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had read a recommendation somewhere online and looked up the restaurant website, it looked pretty good so we wanted to give it a try. We could not make a reservation on-line, and we had been travelling most of the day so did not know exactly what time we would be in Florence so we took our chances. The place was packed when we arrived at 6:00 on a Thursday evening and the hostess tried to suggest other nice restaurants near by, but I spotted an empty table for two over by the window, she checked and it was only available for an hour. Fortunately the service was fabulous, and the waitress suggested a very nice Oregon wine. The couple sitting next to us recommended the house speciality, crab encrusted Halibut. It was superb! We even had time for desert, an excellent moist chocolate cake.
It was well worth the trip but I would definitely make a reservation for next time. Excellent value for very fine food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice place to get a bite to eat”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Quick service. Kind words. Decent atmosphere. Good food. Great view outside of the bay windows of the river and wildlife (Blue Herons).

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teasippinglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The restaurant is small, located in a renovated heritage home overlooking the Siuslaw River and bridge, and so you will need to make reservations. The seafood is delicious! My wife had the Razor Clams and I chose the Crab Encrusted Halibut. It was the prices that bumped this place to five stars. You just can't beat the value for money at this quaint little get-away..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable price - an experience!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went back to have the lamb shank dish again. The restaurant has a very nice atomosphere, great food and service. It's difficult to get a table without a reservation but it's fun to sit at the bar. We will be back there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Depot also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Waterfront Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing