We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterfront Depot

Waterfront Depot
Ranked #1 of 94 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We feature. We offer a full-service bar with a variety of regional and international wines as well as a selection of exciting martinis and specialty drinks, like Bill's Flaming Spanish Coffee, to compliment your meal. From the sophistication of our house favorite, Crab Encrusted Halibut, to the cozy warm satisfaction of our burger and fries, you're sure to find a dish to fit your desires at The Waterfront Depot. We use only the best local, organic beef and free-range chicken in our entrees. Our skilled culinary staff prepares all our menu items daily, guaranteeing you the freshest, most flavorful experience on the Central Oregon Coast. Atmosphere. Nestled on the river's shore, we offer a warm, cozy view of the Siuslaw River and the Siuslaw River bridge. Summer dining cafe-style outdoors on our weathered patio seats you right at the water's edge. Year-round dining inside offers you a beautiful river view with an urban touch, a perfect place for winter storm watching. Our history. The Waterfront Depot is housed in the old Mapleton Train Station. Saved from demolition over 40 years ago, this historic building found its new home on the shore of the Siuslaw river a stone's throw from the Siuslaw River Bridge. The old train station's warm, classic qualities offer a perfect counter balance to the sophisticated, urban atmosphere I've created in The Waterfront Depot.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

It does not look like much from the street but boy oh boy is the food good. We had the halibut and it was outstanding and very well priced. The place is very busy so go early or make a reservation. Try for a table overlooking the river, great setting for a bit of romance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leif w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    648
    171
    47
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner on the river...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hard to get into (reservations necessary any day), but oh so worth it!!
Start off with the fresh/warm bread basket or focaccia with a side of fresh basil pesto and vinegar and oil for dipping.
The crab encrusted halibut with a side caesar salad is one of the best meals I've eaten and I eat seafood often. It is joined with a lovely citrus sauce and the halibut is perfectly prepared. They do not overcook fish here, but check to see what is fresh and what is frozen prior to selecting.
The menu board is full of appetizers, soups, and a large selection of seafoods prepared in many ways.
If you cannot get a reservation, you can always try sitting at the bar which is a delightful opportunity to chat with other diners from all over, who appreciate a well cooked meal.
If the bar is also full, you can ask for an order to go (or better yet, call it in 20 min. ahead) and take it to the nearby small parks on the river to enjoy. We did this once and it was a great way to have and enjoy our food quickly, when we were really hungry.
The full bar offers specials every day and some are hits and others misses. The desserts are mostly cakes, which seem pretty rich after the dinners served. I'd like to see some variety ie. puddings or creme brulees to finish with.
The atmosphere is definitely noisy. They could use some noise dampening in the high ceilings. The waitstaff is mixed...sometimes helpful and sometimes brusque. It seems like maybe the more unpleasant staff have been replaced since my prior visits or it was their day off.
During our most recent visit the bartender was extremely helpful in encouraging me to try a certain drink I hadn't before and I enjoyed it a lot.
The prices are very fair and I've even driven the" just over an hr." drive for the evening, the food is that good! A frequent visitor..
They open at 4pm. and are located in Old Town...Ph. 541-902-9100

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank colette g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galiano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our Favourite Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Since we discovered the Waterfront Depot it's justified an annual diversion from our road trip south on the I-5 and we've never been disappointed -- excellent food and attentive service. After calamari and cheese appetizers, the flat iron steak and crab encrusted halibut are so good we have the problem of never trying anything else, but enticing plates are delivered to the tables around us. This time we found space to enjoy a shared butter cream berry cake before the short walk back to our motel The view across the river and towards the bridge is lovely at twilight. Excellent service, fair prices, good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trincomali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waterfront Depot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This place looks like a bar from the outside and I was looking for pub food. I was presently surprised it is kind of like a bar but food is excellent. The service is very good. Try the halibut. The value is incredible. I would go here again and again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandwichhole6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fun spot, excellent food. Reservations a plus. Relax while you are here. Service is good, but not fast paced. Very reasonably priced for the quality of food. I'll be back!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 134Passingthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterfront Depot also viewed

 

Been to Waterfront Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing