We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice retreat”
Review of The Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Landmark Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice retreat”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Small room that seemed bigger due to the high ceilings.Very friendly and helpful staff, recommended restaurants and offered to help with bags. Comfy beds. Hot tub and sauna a nice treat. Would have liked fruit and maybe yogurt at breakfast, but loved the china and cutlery-made it seem more like home. We will go back if we are that way again.

Room Tip: Upstairs room was very quiet, but motel's location at the top of a San Francisco style hill prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrel72vw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Hello Alberta Molly,
"Thank You" very much for your nice review. It is always nice to have a chance to accommodate and talk with our Canadian friends. We are happy that you found us and enjoyed your accommodations.
When we designed the Landmark Inn, we tried to design our rooms a little different than just your run of the mill motel room. The end result was larger rooms, with separate living rooms, kitchenettes, and vaulted ceilings. Most people refer to the Landmark Inn as "Homey". When we travel, we have found that a homey (like home) atmosphere is good. To many motel rooms are the same old design, to the point that you have to double check your room number, because the most motel room designs begin to all run together. That will not happen to you at the Landmark Inn...
It was nice to meet you. Please come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    57
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
102
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The room was very spacious, king bed, living room, coffee pot. The rooms are very clean and nice beds. Only wish there would have been a TV in the bedroom. The upstairs room has a nice view and is quiet.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the upstairs corner room, it was quiet and had a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sungirl22250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello There,
"Thank You " for your great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room here at the Landmark Inn. Room #10 is a very nice room. It was nice to meet you and to be of service to you. When you are staying with us here at the Landmark Inn, it is all about you. We know that you have taken many steps to be here on vacation, on business or to be with loved ones. Please come and stay with us again... From the staff at the Landmark Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy! Clean, updated!! Great people! Didn't get a chance to try the sauna and hot tub. They recommended a restaurant within walking distance, the Bridgewater??? And it had great food and very friendly staff. Missed fruit at the continental breakfast but other than that, good value for the money and we would go back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were lucky that night. We get the last room left. Friendly checkin. They had a map of town, and marked where all the restaurants were, and helped take our bag up to the 2nd floor. Room was nice size and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgmautiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello There,
We are very happy that you felt at home and that you got lucky at the Landmark Inn.

It was very nice talking with you. We feel very fortunate to live here in the Florence area. The Central Coast (Florence) has many points of interest to brag about. We enjoy passing out maps and giving folks a sense of direction when they are visiting. Besides the beautiful area and Old Town, there are many good restaurants and shops to browse around in.
Your kind words tell us that we are doing our job. "Thank You"... Eugene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

A very nice place to stay on top of a large hill in town! Close to shops and restaurants. Driveway to lodge is about 45degrees but our Prius made it up fine. Walking to and from is steep on a clean concrete driveway. A simple included breakfast with healthy cereal, toast, bagels, sausage and juice. The WiFi in the detached units was very weak and non-existent at times. Front desk indicated owner was aware of this and was working on a fix. So I am sitting in a comfortable chair in the lobby making this report. There are balconies but no chairs.

Rating would be a 5 if the WiFi worked.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DDLVKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello There!
We are very happy that you enjoyed Florence and the Landmark Inn... We enjoy meeting guests, hearing about their travels and being of service. Have a safe and enjoyable journey.
Please Come Again! Eugene, Beth and All of the Staff at the Landmark Inn : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smoky Mountain, Tennessee
Level Contributor
348 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a hidden gem! Stayed one night while passing through. Extra large rooms, very friendly staff, good breakfast. Would defiantly stay at again if ever in the area. Close to historic downtown with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Up on a hill with beautiful views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krr1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello There!
We are very happy that you enjoyed Florence and the Landmark Inn... We enjoy meeting guests, hearing about their travels and being of service. Have a safe and enjoyable journey.
Please Come Again! Eugene, Beth and All of the Staff at the Landmark Inn : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in the Landmark Inn for 6 days in July and August. A beautiful inn on the top of a dune with great views. This is THE PLACE TO STAY. The real treasure here is the staff. Ron, the on site manager, Dawn, Bobbie, and the co-owners, Eugene and Mary Beth were all great, very helpful, and very friendly. The rooms were well laid out, extremely clean, and very comfortable. We had room #9 and our son had room #2.
Room #2 is on the first floor and is one of the economy rooms. There was plenty of room for our son and he was very comfortable.
Our room was #9 on the second floor, with a bedroom and a sitting / tv room. It had a great view of the river and Old Town. We had no problems with noise, and all our neighbors were quiet. You leave your windows open as a/c is not needed. You are only a block off of 101 and 2 blocks from Old Town, but road noise was not a factor. I think it could be because you are on top of a dune with trees all around. Great view!
The breakfast was 3 types of cereal, bagels, english muffins, toast, orange juice, sausages, cheese,coffee, hot cocoa, and tea, laid out in a room just behind the desk with a view of the river and Old Town through the trees. There was always a staff member coming in every few minutes to clean up and make sure the was plenty of food and coffee, and they came in with each guest that had not had breakfast there before to show them where everything was. The coffee, tea, and cocoa are there as long as the office is open, 730 am to 10 pm.
The spa/ sauna is in a separate building, and, unless you have one of the 3 spa rooms, it is a must. You can reserve an hour up to 945 pm and there is no extra charge. It is very relaxing after doing a lot of walking during the day. It is large enough for 2 people to use.
We totally enjoyed our stay, the rooms, and the staff.
We will be staying here again!

Room Tip: trust the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
"THANK YOU" for your friendship and your glowing review. We enjoyed talking with you and your family. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us and that you were comfortable while away from home. BEST WISHES and happy trails to all of you, Eugene & Mary Beth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.2 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 13 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 13 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.2 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Inn

Property: The Landmark Inn
Address: 1551 4th St, Florence, OR 97439-7606
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Landmark Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now rated #1 in Florence on one booking site, one of the "Top 3 in Florence Lodging" on another travel/review site, and top ratings on a second booking site. We have just 12 unique rooms that we built in 1998 and 2008. We sit up on a hilltop, a half-block off the main highway. We are a safe, clean and quiet inn with no bridge or highway noise. Many rooms have bay windows with views of Old Town, the sand dunes, and the river. Our rooms choices go from a cozy single queen to deluxe spa suites. The second floor has vaulted ceilings throughout. New 43" flatscreen TVs are in most rooms. Our hearty continental breakfast includes sausage links & cheeses, 6-7 flavors of bakery bagels, organic granola and organic muesli, all served on real dishes with real silverware. Free Wifi. Free private use of our guest spa building at the edge of the woods is included. We've been Green forever. You're always a winner at the Landmark Inn! We do not have an elevator. We take a deposit equal to the first night at the time of booking. It is fully refundable if cancelled prior to 48 hours before arrival, with no cancellation fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your The Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing