We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent front desk service, great view, good location, but room and room service not so good”
Review of The Landmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Landmark Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The front desk clerk on duty in the late afternnon was helpful to the extreme, friendly and welcoming. The location is excellent for visiting Old Town Florence. However, the room was not spotless. The king size mattress was over used and saggy. The bathroom sink did not drain properly. Sounds carried from the rooms adjascent to ours. The house rules told us to expect a general fresh up from housekeeping when guests stayed more than one night. We asked for that service, but we did not get it. Waste baskets were not emptied, towels were not replaced, soap and shampoo was not replaced. Security concerned us since the exterior door had only a push lock on the door knob. The continental breakfast was weak and the office was to open at 7:30 am, but it didn't open one morning until 10 or 15 minutes later than that. In marking the service section, I would mark the front desk as excellent but room service as poor.

Room Tip: Look on the web page to see each room and the map
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jethro34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
review88602, Owner at The Landmark Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

Dear readers,
Please read all of the Landmark Inn reviews.
We are truly sorry that this guest did not find the Landmark Inn satisfactory when so many travelers find it an excellent place to stay.
As posted in our room information sheet, we do room service if guests are staying more than 1 day. We proceeded to this guest's room to do room service, but apparently the writer did not know that his wife said "No Thank you, we do not need any room service, just towels". That is exactly what we did.
Our beds are Englanders best motel mattresses. We even bought one for our home.
At the Landmark Inn, all of the walls, floors and the balcony's are sound proofed. Our room information sheet states that quiet hours begin at 10 pm. And we are a block off Hwy.101, which makes our Inn more quiet than most Florence motels.
We serve a hearty and healthy continental breakfast of sausage links, assorted cheeses, 7 flavors of excellent bagels with cream cheese & jams, whole wheat and white English muffins, organic granola, muesli and more. There is gourmet coffee, tea and orange juice all of the time.
The Landmark Inn is a newer, well-managed motel with thousands of satisfied customers from all over the world. The local Chamber of Commerce, Florence visitors information, highly recommends the Landmark Inn.
Thank you for your interest in the Landmark Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 186 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

We really enjoyed Florence! Charming town, beautiful views of the harbor and the ocean, without the elevated prices of a Carmel or a Cannon Beach (both of which are gorgeous, of course!). This place was perfect. Easy walking distance into town, rooms nicely kept and well-appointed, assigned parking spaces. Desk clerk was personable, helpful with recommendations for places to dine, shop, etc. We slept in a bit late, so didn't get to enjoy the continental breakfast, but I'm sure it would have been just fine. Not luxurious, but a very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I truly enjoyed my stay at the landmark inn and my time in Florence. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean and peaceful. It was accessible to the river and the ocean. A great find.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fratwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night and would definitely recommend to anyone in the area.

The host Ron was super-friendly and helpful and gave us some good advice on recommended restaurants etc. The rooms were clean and huge- one came with a seperate lounge and the other with a seperate kitchen area. The free wi-fi worked with no problems and the complimentary breakfast was tasty- a mix of cereals, juices and pastries.

The Inn is ideally located in walking distance to the center of the old town. We would have liked to stay here for longer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at the landmark inn in Florence for 1 night. Great place! Ronnie was very friendly as he checked us in, recommended restaurants and gave us a map of the town. The inn is beautiful to look at as it sits atop a hill. If you need complete darkness to sleep you may want to bring a night mask as the blinds in the window do not have curtains over them. Breakfast was ok. Tea available all day.Free Internet a plus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WK W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

This was our first stop on a 3 day trip on the oregon coast. The room is somewhat dated but had plenty of space with a separate living room. It is clean and worked for us. No ocean views. it sits up on a hill.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We splurged on room 11 (in-room spa tub, queen bed, small kitchenette, large TV) for a last-minute weekend getaway.

We certainly got our money's worth and plan to stay here again if we're in the area.

The manager on duty was helpful and friendly. He recommended restaurants, provided directions to nearby beach/dune access points, and even took extra time to show us another (unoccupied) room for future reference.

We loved the in-room spa (clean, spacious enough for two people). The bed was clean and comfortable, but we would have liked puffier (or simply more) pillows. The towels were clean, and there were plenty of them. There wasn't much noise from other guests or the nearby highway. There's plenty of natural daylight and an OK view. The window has mini-blinds, but we would have liked curtains as well to block out some light at night and the early daylight.

Breakfast was basic but good. There was a selection of bagels and cereals, coffee, juice, milk, and hot sausage links. Being able to take breakfast back to your room on a tray was a great option.

The location is great--walking distance to old town (restaurants/shopping) and a short drive to other attractions along the coast.

Overall, the Landmark is a pleasant place to stay and a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Where2NextAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#2 of 13 in Florence
2,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.2 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 13 in Florence
16 reviews
2.1 mi away
Economy Inn Florence
Economy Inn Florence
#13 of 13 in Florence
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#11 of 13 in Florence
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landmark Inn

Address: 1551 4th St, Florence, OR 97439-7606
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $87 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Landmark Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now rated #1 in Florence on one booking site, one of the "Top 3 in Florence Lodging" on another travel/review site, and top ratings on a second booking site. We have just 12 unique rooms that we built in 1998 and 2008. We sit up on a hilltop, a half-block off the main highway. We are a safe, clean and quiet inn with no bridge or highway noise. Many rooms have bay windows with views of Old Town, the sand dunes, and the river. Our rooms choices go from a cozy single queen to deluxe spa suites. The second floor has vaulted ceilings throughout. New 43" flatscreen TVs are in most rooms. Our hearty continental breakfast includes sausage links & cheeses, 6-7 flavors of bakery bagels, organic granola and organic muesli, all served on real dishes with real silverware. Free Wifi. Free private use of our guest spa building at the edge of the woods is included. We've been Green forever. You're always a winner at the Landmark Inn! We do not have an elevator. We take a deposit equal to the first night at the time of booking. It is fully refundable if cancelled prior to 48 hours before arrival, with no cancellation fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Landmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Landmark Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing