We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than expected”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Town Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stopped at the Old Town Inn as we were driving up the Oregon coast. Didn't need a pool, just looking for a clean room...and found much more. What a nice surprise. the hotel has just been remodeled ... brand new everything and just finished in April of 2013. Managers David and Prudence are very helpful, aimed us to a great restaurant just around the corner in Old Town. Stay with them, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We believe all units are renewed, but make sure yours is as good as we found ours to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurence j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,055)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,809 - 1,815 of 2,055 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The Old Town Inn was a pit stop for us on a road trip from Seattle to San Diego. I wasn't expecting much from this hotel, just a place to rest my head, and that's pretty much what I got.

The hotel is in a great spot off the 101 if you are just passing through. Our biggest complaint was that the room had this awful smell. We couldn't quite tell if it was the cleaning solution used or if there was something else causing the odor. We got in so late at night, though, that we just dealt with the smell and slept.

The room was big enough, and everything else was as expected. Not quite sure if I would stay here again...but other than the odor it was a decent place to rest my head for a night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickMA0512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosslady897, Owner at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We all feel miserable if we have a guest who has had a bad experience. All the rooms were recently renovated and so can only assume there may have been a faint paint smell. I hope the guest will give us a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband didn't get out of work late (in Brookings, OR) and we were trying to figure out where we would stop for the night as we have a toddler and didn't want to make the 6 hr journey back to Portland. We took our time driving up the coast and thought about staying in Coos Bay but after having dinner at Benetti's (I think that's the name) we decided to drive another hour up to Florence. The whole way there, I was on the phone trying to find a decent place. My husband's 1st choice was the Driftwood (this was on the beach) and mine was the Old town Inn (less expensive). We said we'll drive by both and decide after we saw both places. Thankfully the Old Town Inn was the 1st place we saw....my husband went in and spoke to the person at the front desk. She let him look at a room and he came back to the car and said we're staying here. I know he was surprised to see that the Inn had been renovated and the decor was nice. He also commented on how clean the room was. I knew that this would work out as I had already read all of the reviews. So glad we stayed here....we'd like to visit Florence again and spend more time here.

Room Tip: We were close to the office (cause my husband didn't want to lug up all of our stuff upstairs) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I recently had occasion to come back to stay several nights at the Old Town Inn. My dog, Zoey, and I were very comfortable in Room 104 (pet room). The decor has been updated since my last stay and the room looked very inviting. All that we needed was provided: very clean room with king size comfortable bed, fridge, microwave, flat screen tv and desk for laptop with free wi-fi. Zoey's walking area was just a few steps around the corner. The nice lady at the front desk was very helpful in directing me to Florence's Dog Park. They offered coffee, tea, muffins and fruit for a little something to get going in the morning :) Just a few steps from our room and Zoey and I were strolling along the pier-front in Old Town Florence. All in all it was a very pleasant stay in a perflect location. One final worthy note: The price is extremely competitive for the area and the amenities offered.

Room Tip: They are very pet friendly ... if you have a pet, this is a great place to stay :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our annual trip down Oregon Coast, stopped in Florence. We saw the coupon in the book and decided to try this place. The front desk person complained that they don't think the owner should put the coupon in the book anymore! That's how we found the place! We liked the room, had a refridgerator and a nice king size bed. I noticed that there was no soap on the counter so mentioned to the front desk clerk. She said the soap is there for sure so she wanted to come and see it for herself - could not believe it! She did not trust what I told her - a soap! After seeing for herself that the soap was not there, she got one from next door and said sorry. Next morning, I managed to get two muffins and coffee around 9:20 and then my husband went to get more muffins around 9:40 - told that they no longer have it as they do not have muffins set out after 9:30! Most places serve until 11:00. He said that we should have checked the receipt! How about putting up a sign?
We stayed in some wonderful places during our trip, including the Hotel Embarcardero, Newport, Oregon and received wonderful welcoming services but this one left a very sour feeling. We both agreed that these front desk clerks must not like their jobs... Too bad... We won't be back there next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Town_Inn_Manager, Manager at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

"Thank you for your 3 star review. We are sorry there was some confusion with the breakfast. We serve our limited continental breakfast from 7:30am to 9:30 am and we try to let everyone know this upon check in. In addition we have the times printed on the receipt that everyone receives when they check in. I hope this clears things up for the future.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to explain this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here two nights and will stay again some time. The staff was friendly and gave appropriate recommendations for local activities. The room very clean and well appointed. We always like it when there are sufficient outlets and good table or desk space. Our room was near the office but was not noisy. Hot beverages were available all day which was nice.

Room Tip: It did not bother us, but some people might prefer rooms a little farther from the office, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foodie2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at the Old Town Inn for the first time this weekend. During and prior to my stay, I interacted with both managers. David and Prudence made it clear that they wanted my stay to be as comfortable as possible. They were very friendly and helpful. I stayed in room 132, which was exceptionally nice. The property has recently been updated and everything was of good quality. I found the color scheme in the room to be very relaxing. The sheets were extra soft and the mattress felt great. The room was impeccably clean, too. The location was terrific. I was able to park the car and get around on foot to the shops in Old Town and restaurants on 101. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If you're looking for an exceptionally quiet room, try #132.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_Town_Inn_Manager, Manager at Old Town Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

We appreciate so much when guests notice all the things we do to make their stay enjoyable. Thank you for the gracious review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.5 mi away
Best Western Pier Point Inn
0.1 mi away
Lighthouse Inn
Lighthouse Inn
#10 of 13 in Florence
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#11 of 13 in Florence
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Chateau Motel
Le Chateau Motel
#12 of 13 in Florence
68 reviews
1.4 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
18.6 mi away
Best Western Salbasgeon Inn & Suites of Reedsport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 170 Highway 101, 170 Hwy 101, Florence, OR 97439-9647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#2 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $108 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Town Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling clean with a great location just steps from all the fun shops, galleries, and amazing restaurants of Historic Old Town Florence. Minutes from uncrowded ocean beaches, world-class golf courses, serene lakes and waterfalls, and the incredible Oregon Dunes. We're right in the middle of all the fun of "Oregon's Coastal Playground!" Free Wi-Fi, in-room coffee and microwave/refrigerator, "Breakfast on the Run" featuring coffee, fruit, and the most delicious, fresh, locally-made donuts every morning. Free Casino shuttle. No pets/smoking. 170 Highway 101 Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel Florence
Old Town Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing