We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast....probably best in town.”

Little Brown Hen Cafe
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good breakfast....probably best in town.”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have eaten breakfast here twice this week.
First impression is clean when you walk in .....always a plus.
Open until 2pm and breakfast is served all day (even through lunch) except for pancakes and French toast which stops at 11:30.
Basic omelette selection , eggs, and griddle items.
Not sure about everyone else but for breakfast I don't need pages of items.....what they have covers it.
One odd thing and maybe it is regional but they put cream cheese in with any other cheese on eggs/omelettes.
For me I don't want that so I ordered without and they gladly left it out.
Service was fine. Greeted and seated with minimal wait and were asked about drinks at same time.
Waitress soon took full order a few minutes later.
Food was good, and both wife and I loved hash browns.
Would definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaxxstraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    94
    34
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average food, awful service”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We recently ate breakfast there and it started out fine with the waitress being pleasant. The food was average though the omelets had quite a bit of cream cheese, making them extra heavy and the hash browns were not hot.

However, halfway through the meal she turned quite rude and never checked up to see if we needed anything. She never asked how the food was and when we asked for a box to take the food with us, she came back, put the bill on the table (no itemized bill, just the credit card receipt so we weren't even sure if the bill was correct), and walked away. Not wanting to be rude, I still gave a 15% tip but then learned later that the tip wasn't charged. In retrospect, I'm glad the tip wasn't charged because the waitress didn't earn it but we didn't do anything to warrant being treated with such rudeness. We'll definitely be looking elsewhere to eat on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BradN32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duvall, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Yummy Breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have visited here for some three-four years since we first tried it, and while we in Florence. The omelets there are excellent, also hash browns. I recommend getting the meat lovers omelet, yum-yum. We will return there every time we go back to town, and hopefully it will be there for some time. It seems like the good places either change menu's, ownership, or something to screw it up. Hope it doesn't happen here!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Keep the dogs out!”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Food is pretty good for breakfast, however, when a dog is free-roaming in the kitchen, we determined to never go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great lunch and very good service”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We got there just in time. They close at 2pm. I have to eat gluten free so I had my chili burger without the bun. It was totally delicious. The meat was the best tasting hamburger ever. Fred had a salad and he loved it. I have eaten breakfast there in the past and it was excellent too. I will definitely go back again!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josuccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Brown Hen Cafe also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Little Brown Hen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing