We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the Fried Chicken”

Little Brown Hen Cafe
Ranked #5 of 94 Restaurants in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Seattle,WA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Get the Fried Chicken”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stopped by for a late breakfast/lunch on our way from Coos bay to Lincoln City. It's cute inside. Service was a bit on the slow side, but it was no big deal. Clam Chowder was creamy with lots of clams. Biscuits and gravy were very good. Sausage had great spice. Best part however was the fried chicken. It's made fresh for each order, which takes a little longer, but it is definitely worth. Great crunch, juicy meat. and not greasy. They could lose the sliced potatoes that are fried and served with the meals. They were pretty bad. All in all a nice place for a breakfast or a quick lunch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wingnutcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    93
    34
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Avoid this place for Breakfast!”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We were recommended this for breakfast from the Old Town Inn across the street where we had stayed the night. We wanted to split an omelette and we're told an empty plate would cost a dollar. They wouldn't remake the omelette, only offering to "fix" it, then bringing the missing ingredients on the side. It came with creamcheese, though this wasn't in the description, but the waitress would only argue with us about the warnings on the menu. The owner could only offer to "check" with the waitress (though she called him her boss) and then they took a dollar of the bill. Terrible food, overpriced and horrendous service. DO NOT EAT HERE!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EliHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
97701
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“charming”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Enjoyed freshly made lentil soup and homemade pastries. I would definitly visit again.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bendeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delicious! Definitely would return”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Friendly staff, comfortable environment and delicious food at a fair price. We would definitely return for 2nds!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank someguysreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breakfast wow!”
Reviewed August 14, 2010

We chanced upon the Little Brown Hen and found a great breakfast place. They have house-made pastries waiting to entice you. I had the "stollen french toast", a candied fruit bread made into french toast. My wife had a very nice omelet that was stuffed with goodies. The service is OK, not at all like a previous reviewer's comments--friendly and always checking on you for more coffee, etc. Open for breakfast and lunch. A storefront location on the main highway, you have to look for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Brown Hen Cafe also viewed

 
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Little Brown Hen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing