We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is worth the stop”
Review of Sea Lion Caves

Sea Lion Caves
Ranked #5 of 42 things to do in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the largest sea cave in the United States, this site is where Steller sea lions and their cubs take shelter each year. Sea Lion Caves is a privately owned wildlife preserve and bird sanctuary. The Caves has been in operation since 1932 preserving and protecting the wildlife under our care. We are open 363 days a year only closed on Christmas and Thanksgiving day. Our normal hours of operation are 9 am until dusk year round. We are not a zoo and the animals are free to come and go as they please. The sea lions can usually be found at either of four locations on the property; in the Cave, in the water, at the Lookout/rockery, and on other nearby rock ledges. HOWEVER, THE SEA LIONS ARE NOT ALWAYS IN THE CAVE OR MAY BE MIGRATING OUT OF AREA - THEY ARE WILD ANIMALS AND COME AND GO AS THE PLEASE. CALL AHEAD FOR INFORMATION. Self-guided are the rule, but guided tours are available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
736 reviews
213 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 417 helpful votes
“This is worth the stop”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is a family owned business. We did pay to go down the elevator to the cave. The sea lions were away that day, but that didn't take away from the cave. You can even take a picture with a fake sea lion. All set up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    371
    270
    100
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
138 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice, but not worth the $”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This place was a neat experience, but not worth the $. We did get a military discount though so that was nice. You have to take an elevator to get down to the cave where all the sea lions are and it can be quite noisy from them making all their sounds. There is a walkway you can walk to for a lookout to view wildlife. I was able to see grey whales, eagles, and of course some sea lions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlgsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Lion Caves, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting Sea Lion Caves and taking the time to write a review. We are very honored that we have been chosen to protect this one-of-a-kind, world’s largest sea cave, and all of the sea lions that call our cave home. We most certainly want to be a great value to our guests and it is our goal to provide an experience unlike any other in the entire world. A visit to Sea Lion Caves offers a great value on a priceless experience that you virtually cannot find anywhere else -one that certainly (young or old) you will never forget. Adults are $14.00; Seniors are $13.00; Children ages 5 to 12 $8.00; and Children 4 and under are free. We also provide our guests with Free Parking. You can take as long as you want and enjoy every aspect of this magnificent treasure by the sea. The World’s Largest Sea Cave; sea lions; incredible ocean vistas; grey whales, eagles and more! We think this all ads up to a truly priceless experience. Sea Lion Caves, we’re nothing short of wild.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Kitschy, overpriced souvenir joint. Be careful crossing the highway on foot. The best thing is the view of the lighthouse to the north.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jkp99b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William C, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Lion Caves, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for visiting Sea Lion Caves. We appreciate your feedback and comments. Many of the items in our gift shop are handcrafted by local artisans. We are pleased that we can offer these items for sale and help contribute to the local economy. Overall we think you’ll find that the items in our gift shop are priced very competitively with similar attractions.

We agree that the views at Sea Lion Caves are spectacular. We are also proud to be stewards of the world’s largest sea cave and home to hundreds of sea lions that are free to come and go as they please. Sea Lion Caves is an all-natural experience. Sea Lion Caves. We’re nothing short of wild!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sea Cave is Cool...”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you like a big Sea Cave then this is a good spot. The Gift shop is nice and they have a Flat Screen TV to view what is in the cave before paying to go see it. However it can be rather smelly ( Sea Lions have been living in there for years)...and you can see them at the Harbors for free and just down the road at the overlook for Haceta Head Light House and usually at Strawberry Hill State Park also just down the road. The view from Sea Lion Caves is great and often there are whales to see also.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank senior_travelorBVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth seeing!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stopped here with the family. Though the cave was empty of sea lions at the time (wrong time of year), the cave was still worth the admission to see (they gave a discounted rate because the sea lions were all outside on the rocks). Very informative displays in the cavern viewing area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Little_Shoe_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Lion Caves also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sea Lion Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing