We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We saw over 400 sea lions”
Review of Sea Lion Caves

Sea Lion Caves
Ranked #5 of 42 things to do in Florence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered the largest sea cave in the United States, this site is where Steller sea lions and their cubs take shelter each year. Sea Lion Caves is a privately owned wildlife preserve and bird sanctuary. The Caves has been in operation since 1932 preserving and protecting the wildlife under our care. We are open 363 days a year only closed on Christmas and Thanksgiving day. Our normal hours of operation are 9 am until dusk year round. We are not a zoo and the animals are free to come and go as they please. The sea lions can usually be found at either of four locations on the property; in the Cave, in the water, at the Lookout/rockery, and on other nearby rock ledges. HOWEVER, THE SEA LIONS ARE NOT ALWAYS IN THE CAVE OR MAY BE MIGRATING OUT OF AREA - THEY ARE WILD ANIMALS AND COME AND GO AS THE PLEASE. CALL AHEAD FOR INFORMATION. Self-guided are the rule, but guided tours are available.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Suttons Bay, Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We saw over 400 sea lions”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Yes it is smelly and dark, but it is a sea lion cave. It was well worth it. It only takes a little time to go down and see them. Perhaps we got lucky, but there were literally hundreds, and moms teaching babies to swim and play as well.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Haystacks-Brand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    371
    270
    100
    40
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Love this attraction!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was my husband's and my 2nd visit to the Sea Lion Caves, but his nephew & wife's first trip thru Oregon. We are enthralled by these animals, and wouldn't miss an opportunity to see them in such an amazing large group. Hubby's nephew's wife was fixated! She said she could have spent the day watching them.

There are a few concerns, but they're minor. For most people, the walk to the elevators would be inconsequential. However, for us it was a slight issue as one of our party has a heart blockage. We just took it very slow - no problems.

The smell can be overwhelming when you're in the caves. For those with sensitive tummies (like hubby's nephew!), perhaps a tissue with some cologne or perfume?

If we're back on the Oregon coast, we'll definitely visit again. They are fascinating & incredible animals - love viewing them in their natural environment!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KellyBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sea lion caves”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

fun, stinky and loud.....did I say fun! And you can see sea lions on the rocks below all year round.

Helpful?
Thank Heide J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The sea lion caves are so interesting.”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

this is a great place to see sea lions in the wild. We watched the sea lions riding the waves into the caves & on the rocks. The cave is filled with sea lions, it was very interesting to see the sea lions interacting with each other over a little bit of rock & beach.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank FliteAttendntParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big Tourist Trap!”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a big tourist trap! You can see just as many if not more just going to the local docks in Florence, Charleston, etc. and it won't cost anything and alot less walking.

Helpful?
1 Thank plmeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Lion Caves also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
 
Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sea Lion Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing