We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lighthouse collectors”

Heceta Head Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 42 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful and remote lighthouse.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
149 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice for lighthouse collectors”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good little hike to the lighthouse with nice views; a bit of beach. There is also tours (cannot comment, did none), I think 11 through 3. Whether it's worth paying USD 5, hm... (Well, it's worth that they get the money for maintenance, no doubt), very smelly toilets

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matilda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    230
    41
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Well worth the stop”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stopped on the way to Florence and paid the parking fee. We walked up the hill and immediately got a ticket to go on the tour. We had to wait about 15 minutes for the 20 minute tour but our tour guild was very informative and we enjoyed the view and the history. The lens in this working lighthouse are something to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Anytime we visit family in Florence the Heceta Head Lighthouse is a must for me and my family. Take the lighthouse tour if you can and the sunset here is beautiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A jewel at the end of the trail”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We hiked the 1.3 mile trail from Route 101 through the magnificent old-growth Sitka Spruce forest to reach Heceta Head Lighthouse. The trail meandered by giant Sitka Spruce, rhododendrons, salal and additional local flora. (I highly recommend this hike, but be prepared for some moderate climbing & switchbacks down - wear boots or well-tread hiking shoes) We were rewarded with a 180 degree view of the beaches and ocean. The lighthouse is beautiful and well kept up. Although we did not tour it, it sounds like it has many stories to tell.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“cool looking old lighthouse”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Heceta Head Lighthouse is a really cool looking old lighthouse, there is also a B&B there (I wish I had known before) great picture spot and hiking area, right near Sea Lion caves also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heceta Head Lighthouse also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Heceta Head Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing