We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice view”

Heceta Head Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 42 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful and remote lighthouse.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice view”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

was undergoing refurb when we were there, but we had a great chat with Jean, a volunteer there and learned lots about it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bracam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    239
    42
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Titusville
Level 6 Contributor
1,659 reviews
1,101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,320 helpful votes
“Light opens for tours June 10, 2013”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited the Heceta Lighthouse and the volunteers said the two year renovation is complete and will open for the public on June 10, 2013. Until then you can walk up a reasonable dirt road to the lighthouse and take in the views from the top. The volunteers had set up three scopes and you could actually see the sea lions at the base of the Sea Cave point. Another one focused on the rock which birds have inhabited...you could see the feathers! Finally, the lighthouse looks wonderful from the exterior with beautiful white versus the pink roof on the support buildings. The views from the path up to the light feature the B&B (former lighthouse keeper's home), great views of the 101 bridge and beach area. Let the kids check out the tide pools if you happen to visit at low tide. A very inviting area. $5.00 fee with rest rooms and plenty of parking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great whale watching!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The beach is clean. There are neat caves for the kids to explore. It is sheltered from the wind. Need I say more?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great short hike”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stopped to look at the beach and ended up taking the short hike up the cliffs to see the old light house. There is an old keeper's house halfway up that isn't open to the public, but it does have a small gift shop. The light house itself is in great condition, but is currently being restored so we weren't able to go in. I would have rated this as excellent had we been able to go in the light house. The volunteers working there told us that it should reopen in mid June.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“charm-history”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

most photgraphed lighthouse on the Oregon coast. Great little park and beach access below. Nice hike up to it with spectacular views. Love to nap on the beach after a busy afternoon building sandcastles.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KJB51862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heceta Head Lighthouse also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Heceta Head Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing