We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, especially with low-lying fog.”

Heceta Head Lighthouse
Ranked #1 of 42 things to do in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Beautiful and remote lighthouse.
Tualatin
Level Contributor
276 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Beautiful, especially with low-lying fog.”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Probably my favorite lighthouse to photograph (and I've photographed every one in Oregon), there's also a pleasant walk from the parking lot to the lighthouse and even a beach and picnic area.

However -- at my last visit the park was closed for repairs. Still a great view of it at a couple of viewpoints on the highway to the south.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank almyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    230
    41
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

What a wonderful and beautiful place. The B&B was awesome with a view to match
Being able to walk up and seat at the lighthouse at night was magnificent. It was a wonderful experience for all ages.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank queenie123479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, AK
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque Perfection of the Oregon coast”
Reviewed May 25, 2011

The park service provides a thorough, knowledgeable tour on a regular schedule. The original rotational drive mechanism was a weighted work, like a clock only much larger, with very heavy weights. All working mechanism metal was brass to avoid rust. I heartily recommend a visit here, but check on the complete restoration schedule starting August 2011, as the site may be closed for a while.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cw2ret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“A suggestion for a VERY Special Experience”
Reviewed April 8, 2011

The Heceta Head Lighthouse is probably the most beautiful lighthouse on the Oregon Coast. It is available for tours (goggle the hours) and very definitely worth a stop.

If you are looking for something totally out of the ordinary, try staying at the Heceta Head Lighthouse Bed & Breakfast. The B&B is located in the former Lightkeeper’s Cottages not too far from the lighthouse itself.

We're not B&B'ers but staying here was a real treat. You have ready access to the lighthouse, and there is a trail down to a gorgeous beach. The nearby bridge spanning the river is an engineering marvel.

On checking in, I said to myself...."we're not leaving this place". So....instead of going back to Florence for dinner like most of the other guest did, we simply picked up a pizza and spent an evening out on the porch enjoying ourselves, the views and the atmosphere. That pizza was one of the best dinners I have ever had in my life.

The next morning we woke up to a seven course gourmet breakfast, which was very good.

Thumbs up.....try it. Hopefully you'll enjoy it as much as we did

Visited June 2010
Helpful?
2 Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best lighthouse on the Oregon Coast”
Reviewed October 15, 2010

This August I took a trip up the Oregon coast, stopping at the various lighthouses along the way. None was better than the Heceta Head lighthouse. Perched dramatically on the edge of a sea cliff hundreds of feet above the Pacific Ocean, it demands to be photographed. Heading north on highway 101, just past the Sea Lion Caves (ripoff), is a large turnout where quite a few cars will likely be stopped. Photographers should keep driving to a single car turnout a little farther north. It has a superior view of the lighthouse and coast line.

After grabbing a shot of the lighthouse, take the exit to drive down to the lighthouse. The exit is on the north side of historic Cape Creek bridge. After exiting on the opposite side of the road from what you might expect, you loop under the bridge and arrive at a parking lot (not the one before the bridge) where you can park and walk up to the lighthouse itself.

The walk to the lighthouse isn't bad. Some may find it a little steep but the experience is worth it. Along the way you will pass the old keeper's house. It is now a bed and breakfast. Show up early in the morning or late in the evening and, shortly before reaching the old keeper's house, you will pass a hillside that, in the summer, is thick with both flowers and hummingbirds. It is another great photo op or just a chance to stop and take a break while you enjoy the spectacle.

If you show up at the lighthouse while tours are being given, take one. They are free. Our third and final trip to the top, at around 11AM was just for this purpose. (The hummingbirds were gone by this time.) You get to go up to the top, take in a little history, and view the fresnel lens which, after dark, shoots 8 beams of light out into the darkness. If you drive by the lighthouse on a foggy night it is very easy to distinguish all eight of these beams as they rotate in the darkness.

Bottom line: If you stop at one lighthouse on the Oregon coast, this should be the one!

Helpful?
7 Thank tlinn-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heceta Head Lighthouse also viewed

Florence, Oregon Coast
Florence, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Heceta Head Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing