We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect Hotel Choice for the town of Florence, Oregon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River House Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel Choice for the town of Florence, Oregon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The hotel is the perfect place to stay if you are visiting Florence. It is located in town where you can walk to the many restaurants and cute shops. The rooms are clean and have been recently updated. Th ownership is there and are sincere offering great customer service is very sweet. They serve a continental breakfast in the morning that is perfect for a coffee and something sweet to start of the morning. Good for couples and families.

Room Tip: We did not choose the river view which was fine because we enjoyed walking around the town and visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    338
    92
    27
    12
See reviews for
253
482
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We always stay at the River House Inn for a romantic get-away when we are in Florence, Oregon. Be sure to request a waterfront room. Great VIEWS of the water. Bring your binoculars. Wonderful wildlife and bird watching from your balcony (salmon leaping, seals swimming by, waterfowl of all kinds) sunsets and moon beams dancing on the water. In the heart of Old Town. Walking distance to shops, art galleries and good eats. Excellent service. Friendly family owned. Rooms are modest size unless you reserve the ones with indoor hot-tubs. But the view, service and location more than make up for the size of the rooms.

Room Tip: You want a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonleighSakalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

All I can say is GO here. It was wonderful. can walk to old town. some reconstruction on inn. and old town was also work crews fixing pipes. Still had a wonderful visit. Our room we could sit on the patio and watch the Siuslaw river. Friendly desk lady. I had a great laugh. There was a rubber duck sitting on the bath tub.

Room Tip: did not use pool. they had a real nice contintal breakfast. one of the best I have seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LostApache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Excellent room, great view from our balcony of the river, bridge and Florence. The room was very tastefully decorated, the bed was really comfortable and the folks on the check in desk were friendly and very helpful. Would stay her again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MJG77W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were here for 1 night in late Sept. Loved the location, but that was all there was to like about the motel. We had a room without a view as all we needed was one night's lodging. The room we had was extremely dark, and definitely needed updating. Carpet was worn and had that sticky feel. Walls were thin and we could hear our nieghbors talking, and hear people walking by the room. We did not eat the continental breakfast, as couldn't check out fast enough. Definitely will not recommend unless I see on their web site that all the rooms are updated and not just the river view rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reinsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bosslady897, Owner at River House Inn, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We’re puzzled by the comments in this review since we inspected all the rooms and none of the present carpets were worn or “sticky.” We are currently in a complete renovation of all the guest rooms that included new furniture, carpeting, draperies, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on Super Bowl Sunday - just walked in with no reservations (not a busy night for hotels) and we were delighted with it! The room was impeccably clean, the bed was great and the linens were very nice. Breakfast was a nice addition in the morning. The hotel is currently undergoing a renovation which should be completed by April 2013 according to the manager. I took a peek at the new furnishings and they look really great!

The Manager gave us some fantastic restaurant and entertainment suggestions - all within walking distance of the hotel. we had a great dinner at the Waterfront Depot and then went down to the Traveler's Cove and found an awesome 4 piece blues/rock band that was fantastic! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandergirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Looked a little old school from the outside, but while small, the rooms had been nicely updated, were super clean and had great river views. They had a better than average complementary breakfast buffet and free wi-fi. We'd stay again..

Room Tip: Second floor rooms on the river side have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Florence
0.1 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#1 of 12 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,781 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pier Point Inn
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#10 of 12 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Three Rivers Casino Resort
24.5 mi away
Adobe Resort
Adobe Resort
#5 of 11 in Yachats
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
5.0 mi away
Driftwood Shores Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House Inn

Property: River House Inn
Address: 1202 Bay St, Florence, OR 97439-9648
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Florence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — River House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming Old Town Location. Very nice, newly remodeled inn. Continental breakfast, meeting room, guest laundry, free wi-fi, microwave/refrigerator, green environmental measures throughout. On the Oregon Coast. One hour west of Eugene, Oregon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your River House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River House Hotel Florence
River Hotel Florence
River Motel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing